Edinburgh City

Black - 9. Not sure I’ll ever understand Stirling letting him go, the Scottish N’Golo Kante.

Yeah, not sure of that one myself and it was a decision I questioned at the time.

I’ve kind of resigned myself to the fact that it was either a big blunder by Dave Mackay and he thought he could of brought in a better player to replace him, but obviously didn’t.......or that is was indeed Black that wanted to be released because he felt he could of gotten a better deal elsewhere or had already lined up a move to Edinburgh having worked with the manager previously.

Who knows, but 1 thing is for sure, our loss was your gain, sadly for us.

Have we hit a nerve? 

A couple of comments from the big nasty supporters ought not to. You're meant to be professionals now. 

Meh, people are touchy professional or not. Personally, as long as we don’t do a Gretna (or screw anyone over) I’m not overly bothered.

IMG_0039.thumb.jpg.286f1870447cd3d5736572281d53122d.jpg

The manager having a wee dig at the ‘in the knows’ on Pie and Bov in the Evening News this week.
Wonder if James McDonaugh is trying to sign players during the window only to find they are believing the horseshit rumours about what we are supposed to be paying.

IMG_0039.thumb.jpg.286f1870447cd3d5736572281d53122d.jpg

The manager having a wee dig at the ‘in the knows’ on Pie and Bov in the Evening News this week.
Great to hear Pierre de Frédy, Baron de Coubertin is alive and well in Edinburgh [emoji23]

Amazing what two late goals from Berwick can do , rattled?

1 hour ago, AllyMonc said:

Meh, people are touchy professional or not. Personally, as long as we don’t do a Gretna (or screw anyone over) I’m not overly bothered.

I'm sorry, but i simply do not believe (with the greatest of respect) that for a club of your numbers, and recent history, so many Edinburgh City supporters are as unsure and/or ignorant of the financial sitiuation surrounding the present circumstances. And before i get tore in, i couldn't give a shit if you were another Livingston, Gretna or even Queen's Park (who the original club was formed to emulate), as your clubs' dealings are your own. But you're fooling no-one.

You have neither the numbers for a logical, docile distance between the unknowing proletariat and the perceived ruling class, nor do i believe the numbers you do have (or have attained since promotion) don't possess any knowledge of even the most basic level of communication. 

The Lowland League, and its recruiting of members was largely pursued via the summarisation that many lower-league (and even more Premier League- see your pals in the West of the city) established senior clubs had ran themselves into the ground (and the wall) chasing impossible dreams of success. The LL invitees were effectively lined up to be the organic, wholesome replacements for the 'failed' clubs protected by a glass ceiling. Weren't the clubs recruited for this venture not enlisted because of their commitment to abolishing the wreckless and ultimately doomed approach of so many Senior teams, by virtue of their own selfless, extensive community schemes and projects? I'd say they definitely were. 

So, upon Edinburgh, and the other 12 founding members of the LL commencing (proper) competition in 2014, i'd assume the sparse but hardy souls who populated their matches would know full well the majority of ins and outs throughout the football club. You were a club who did things differently, did them the correct way, as the narrative goes; not like the greedy, success-driven bluffers who'd collectively left Scottish football, a complete and utter disaster zone. You, and the other clubs, were part of the solution. You now had the route opened, to demonstrate how this was going to be executed. And you were very proud to be part of this, i'd expect. 

So, do you expect fans of other clubs, when talking about your circumstances (which is an enormous compliment to what you've acheived, HOWEVER it has been done), to really believe that chasing down success, while making some reprehensible signing decisions on their own, never mind the fucking wages, and forging a very good team in a short space of time - do you REALLY expect us to believe you genuinely don't know what is now occurring behind the scenes of what is the same club which 45 of you were watching, right beside the suits and decision-makers at the club not five years ago, when you'd most likely know EVERYTHING? 

I smell shit. 

Edited by Officer Barbrady

I'm sorry, but i simply do not believe (with the greatest of respect) that for a club of your numbers, and recent history, so many Edinburgh City supporters are as unsure and/or ignorant of the financial sitiuation surrounding the present circumstances. And before i get tore in, i couldn't give a shit if you were another Livingston, Gretna or even Queen's Park (who the original club was formed to emulate), as your clubs' dealings are your own. But you're fooling no-one.

You have neither the numbers for a logical, docile distance between the unknowing proletariat and the perceived ruling class, nor do i believe the numbers you do have (or have attained since promotion) don't possess any knowledge of even the most basic level of communication. 

The Lowland League, and its recruiting of members was largely pursued via the summarisation that many lower-league (and even more Premier League- see your pals in the West of the city) established senior clubs had ran themselves into the ground (and the wall) chasing impossible dreams of success. The LL invitees were effectively lined up to be the organic, wholesome replacements for the 'failed' clubs protected by a glass ceiling. Weren't the clubs recruited for this venture not enlisted because of their commitment to abolishing the wreckless and ultimately doomed approach of so many Senior teams, by virtue of their own selfless, extensive community schemes and projects? I'd say they definitely were. 

So, upon Edinburgh, and the other 12 founding members of the LL commencing (proper) competition in 2014, i'd assume the sparse but hardy souls who populated their matches would know full well the majority of ins and outs throughout the football club. You were a club who did things differently, did them the correct way, as the narrative goes; not like the greedy, success-driven bluffers who'd collectively left Scottish football, a complete and utter disaster zone. You, and the other clubs, were part of the solution. You now had the route opened, to demonstrate how this was going to be executed. And you were very proud to be part of this, i'd expect. 

So, do you expect fans of other clubs, when talking about your circumstances (which is an enormous compliment to what you've acheived, HOWEVER it has been done), to really believe that chasing down success, while making some reprehensible signing decisions on their own, never mind the fucking wages, and forging a very good team in a short space of time - do you REALLY expect us to believe you genuinely don't know what is now occurring behind the scenes of what is the same club which 45 of you were watching, right beside the suits and decision-makers at the club not five years ago, when you'd most likely know EVERYTHING? 

I smell shit. 

That is a very long and articulate post for this time on a Friday evening. What I will say in response is that since our time in the Lowland League (and East of Scotland before that) there has been wholesale changes to our board and the way they run the club. And I think that renders some of your points moot.

Yes previously everyone who went along to Meadowbank would have a fair idea of what was going on, who was being paid what etc. but it’s a new era now, a more professional one and one where the board appear to keep their cards relatively close to their chest. Unless I’m being deliberately kept in the dark (and I’m not sure I’m quite that unpopular) I honestly don’t think most fans have much idea what’s going on behind closed doors.

City are a very different club now, some don’t like it and have drifted away, some are okay with it and have stayed, some are stuck somewhere in between.

My own guess is that we’re amongst the highest payers in the league but not way out on our own. But like I said, that’s a guess.

Just now, AllyMonc said:

That is a very long and articulate post for this time on a Friday evening. What I will say in response is that since our time in the Lowland League (and East of Scotland before that) there has been wholesale changes to our board and the way they run the club. And I think that renders some of your points moot.

Yes previously everyone who went along to Meadowbank would have a fair idea of what was going on, who was being paid what etc. but it’s a new era now, a more professional one and one where the board appear to keep their cards relatively close to their chest. Unless I’m being deliberately kept in the dark (and I’m not sure I’m quite that unpopular) I honestly don’t think most fans have much idea what’s going on behind closed doors.

City are a very different club now, some don’t like it and have drifted away, some are okay with it and have stayed, some are stuck somewhere in between.

My own guess is that we’re amongst the highest payers in the league but not way out on our own. But like I said, that’s a guess.

oh yes you are! :P

Why are sonr of you guys so bothered about what you pay players if you are ( as suggested) paying them well good luck that's maybe why you are top of the league why the manager is throwing a hissy fit goodness knows anyway enjoy your team being at the top [emoji106]

Edinburgh City outbid Dumbarton for players, it’s clear that’s true. I don’t understand why fans get so upset when other fans claim (accurately) that they have some players on decent wages. Like it’s some sort of insult. Very strange lower league fan behaviour.

You won’t care what you’re spending when you win the league but don’t pretend it’s a fairytale story. Montrose last year massively increased spending but still did very well, it’s allowed!

Why are sonr of you guys so bothered about what you pay players if you are ( as suggested) paying them well good luck that's maybe why you are top of the league why the manager is throwing a hissy fit goodness knows anyway enjoy your team being at the top [emoji106]

I wouldn’t say bothered, it does looks looks like we’re paying more than we have done in the last couple of seasons. It’s just the being told how much players are on from posters apparently ‘in the know’. Someone might actually be right but the amounts change from person to person, so just calling it out as probably hearsay.

A lot of  assumptions going on here regarding the clubs finances (doing a Gretna, players wages etc) but there once was a fine wee social club in the heart of Edinburgh city centre which may or may not have made a small fortune with its sale.  Just saying likes for aw you bitter haters oot there :whistle

Edited by newcastle broon

1 hour ago, newcastle broon said:

A lot of  assumptions going on here regarding the clubs finances (doing a Gretna, players wages etc) but there once was a fine wee social club in the heart of Edinburgh city centre which may or may not have made a small fortune with its sale.  Just saying likes for aw you bitter haters oot there :whistle

47 minutes ago, scrooge1928 said:

Not a penny of the money from the sale of Baxters Place went to the football club, Newky. All on buying and fitting out the new premises.

In the know, Newcy?

Pished by 7am. What an example to lead by. 

28 minutes ago, Officer Barbrady said:

In the know, Newcy?

Pished by 7am. What an example to lead by. 

?

Feck knows what you on aboot now but what I do know is the new social  club they have is very handy for Easter Road Stadium and is busy on a match day  :guinness ;)

?
Feck knows what you on aboot now but what I do know is the new social  club they have is very handy for Easter Road Stadium and is busy on a match day  :guinness [emoji6]
Wow running a football club on fortnightly takings from a social club

What next they serving pea and ham soup made fae chicken 🤣

10 hours ago, AllyMonc said:

Reasonable response Ally. 

But it would be remiss of me not to ask further about one or two answers. 

You mention being "a different club now" resulting in some having "drifted away", during a period of remarkable success in firstly gaining promition, then consolidating and now challenging. Something, instigated by someone, would surely have been a cause of people either choosing not to be a part of whatever it was, embracing it, or being "stuck in between", before success was forthcoming. And obviously this 'something' will have resulted in the excellent position the club finds itself now. That 'something' must have been discussed at some point, and then readily accepted, to elicit the reaction you have witnessed among your support. That is what i find difficult to believe in this, that such a thing has occurred and you don't know about it.