Double Winning St Johnstone FC Thread

1 hour ago, The Real Saints said:

Ross Cunningham has left his post once again and will definitely be missed. I wonder if this means that Mark Guidi will be taking more of a control over things for the moment.

FUCKING HELL. PLEASE NO. 24 hour a day shirt sponsor posts on social media give me the fear. Surely he won't though as is he not a ft journalist? Saints social media gig just about reaches the living wage... 😬

Always presumed Ross was going to leave as he's an SNP list candidate for the election. 

Edited by Mr Positive, sometimes.

2 hours ago, RandomGuy. said:

Plus Melamed says he's "leaving contracts talks" to his agent, and will discuss things with him at the end of the season. So I'd guess that's a hefty hint he'll be off to the highest bidder.

If anyone has the right to f**k off to the highest bidder it's him.  Took a punt coming over here during a pandemic not knowing anyone and stuck in a hotel by himself. A year of practically no socialising and limited opportunities to even get out and about and see your new country.  Can't have been easy.

Then there's the football side. Stuck on the sidelines watching a faltering team slide down to the bottom of the league, struggling for goals and you get hardly any starts, despite doing well on your limited opportunities and the manager saying how great you looked in training. And all because of an obsessive desire to stick with a failing system up until that Hibs tie.

Our biggest goal threat and didn't even get a minute in the final.  

Not criticising Davidson, as he proved to be justified in his decisions, but I think any hopes Saints fans might have about Guy wanting to stay out of some attachment or loyalty to us will be disappointed.

If he's here next season it'll be because we were his best offer financially.  

Could see him at Hibs as a replacement for Nisbet.

I personally can't wait for Saturday. Specifically the two occasions where I can hear Mark Guidi say "Scotland's largest independent and leading provider of integrated recycling and Waste Management Services" 

10 hours ago, subtleapple said:

I personally can't wait for Saturday. Specifically the two occasions where I can hear Mark Guidi say "Scotland's largest independent and leading provider of integrated recycling and Waste Management Services" 

😀

Regardless of what’s going on he will also be dedicated in telling us every single shirt sponsor for a 5 minute period...

of each half.

People get caught up in trying to be overly respectful and it ends up as patronising. If Davidson wants to get minutes into players, it should be in the Clyde match. 

The Bully Wee will have played 9 games in 20 days (they still have 4 games to play before they face us) before they arrive at McDiarmid and will be playing again the following Tuesday. They are still in the mix to avoid the bottom spots in League One. 

Even if you believe this would have been a tricky tie, it's made considerably less so by their schedule. There will be a Clyde players waking up this morning dreading having to play another game tonight and they've got to do that again on Saturday, Tuesday and Thursday before pitching up at Perth against a fit full-time team. 

I'm not saying throwing Gilmour etc... in but equally, if players (e.g. Wotherspoon, McCann) need a rest, it should be in that match. 

Strongest team this weekend, rest against Clyde and midweek to Rangers, then back to strongest eleven for the quarter-final.

11 minutes ago, Mr Positive, sometimes. said:

So predictable.

Agent leaks story/makes up rumour of rival club and current club falls hook, line and sinker. 

I hadn't really commented on it other than how he'd fit in, but there was never really a part of me that thought it would be truthful. I wait to be proved wrong on this one of course. 

8 hours ago, Radford said:

People get caught up in trying to be overly respectful and it ends up as patronising. If Davidson wants to get minutes into players, it should be in the Clyde match. 

The Bully Wee will have played 9 games in 20 days (they still have 4 games to play before they face us) before they arrive at McDiarmid and will be playing again the following Tuesday. They are still in the mix to avoid the bottom spots in League One. 

Even if you believe this would have been a tricky tie, it's made considerably less so by their schedule. There will be a Clyde players waking up this morning dreading having to play another game tonight and they've got to do that again on Saturday, Tuesday and Thursday before pitching up at Perth against a fit full-time team. 

I'm not saying throwing Gilmour etc... in but equally, if players (e.g. Wotherspoon, McCann) need a rest, it should be in that match. 

Strongest team this weekend, rest against Clyde and midweek to Rangers, then back to strongest eleven for the quarter-final.

Especially so given we know who the QF opponents are. Even if we fucked it against Clyde I don’t think I anybody would be that bothered given the opposition in the next round - especially if we end up finishing fifth in the league.

Clive must wonder what the hell he is doing wrong. Leaking stories right, left and centre to try and get the offer he wants for his man but SB and KR won't budge.

Yet other agents quite happy to use Saints to further their client's needs.

Perth gadgies 

Looks like I’ll be in your fine city on the 14th June so hopefully things are back to normal by then so the Scotland game can be watched in the boozer

Anywhere you’d recommend?

When I’m in Perth I usually drink in the twa tams but it doesn’t strike me as a fitba pub 

Just now, Frank Grimes said:

Perth gadgies 

Looks like I’ll be in your fine city on the 14th June so hopefully things are back to normal by then so the Scotland game can be watched in the boozer

When I’m in Perth I usually drink in the twa tams but it doesn’t strike me as a fitba pub 

Think it's maybe closed down now anyway tbh.

Zero idea what pubs have survived this except the Cherrybank Inn.

Cherrybank inn is talking of getting a large television for the car park for the game.

If that’s not your thing I’d suggest the Auld House, Sandeman, Foundry, King James for the football.

3 hours ago, Mr Positive, sometimes. said:

So predictable.

The moment I spent more than 5 minutes looking into the signing etc., was the moment it was confirmed to not happen.

13 minutes ago, Frank Grimes said:

Perth gadgies 

Caledonian is a great football pub