Motherwell FC - A Thread For All Seasons

21 minutes ago, wastecoatwilly said:

I couldn't give a feck about England,the more talent we have in Scotland the better the league we will have.
For me Turnbull needs another season of first team football and in a ideal world he would've stayed at motherwell to progress.
The biggest problem Scottish clubs have is the blight lights down south we need to keep all our talent as long as possible.

In Scottish football there is no "we" that includes the Bigot Cheeks.

3 minutes ago, Desp said:

Certainly now, you are correct in that the biggest problem (or market, depending on your viewpoint) is that of the bigger teams in England.

With regards to the part in bold, the problem in Scotland we used to have was that Celtic and Rangers took that too literally, and took all the best players from other teams in Scotland, and didn't always use them particularly wisely.  Even now, can you suggest the likes of GMS, Ciftci, Hendry, Allan got better by being at Celtic?  Did Celtic improve?  The previous clubs of these players certainly got weaker.

I think it helps that Celtic are bringing through our own talent eg,Tierney,McGregor,Forrest,Johnston,Henderson hopefully each club can do the same.
For each player there is a different story, GMS went south glad hes back,Ciftci wasn't good enough,Hendry the jury is still out.

Infantile stuff - fans going nuts cos Hastie, on a wage of £400 a week, decided to sign for Rangers, £4,000 a week. Ooooh, I wonder what happened there? Was that a repeat of the Ben Hall fiasco when we put a guy into the first team with four months of his contract left and started greeting when he refused a new contract?  To this day, we have players in our first team on taxi driver money, in fact I know taxi drivers that wouldn't get out of their bed for £400 a week.  Man, Robinson was raving about Hastie during the winter break, did it not occur to the club to offer him a years extension with a decent pay rise then? Hastie would have bitten our hand off. 

And here we go again, with the yippering stupidity of the jammy piece, 240 bus to work brigade. We will never see a serious transfer income for a player direct from Fir Park. The P&B member that mentioned earlier we should have at least beaten the Scott Brown transfer fee is correct.  

We have a board who's collective arse collapsed when Celtic flashed their £3 million knickers. Inflation adjusted, O'Donnell's transfer will still be our record transfer - and inflation adjusted, we'll be picking up half the money for Turnbull that Hibs picked up for Brown .

Well done Motherwell, well done. 

And aye, its a risky manouvere, but with Arsenal sniffing around Ryan Fraser at £30 million - I'd be happier seeing Turnbull going to Bournemouth on loan ( and with a decent loan fee ) for a year than doing this deal. If he's anything like the thing we think he is, his transfer value next summer will be astronomical compared to the £3 mill on offer today.  

Ya'll went nuts three years ago when I said we had a chickenshit attitude to contracts. Now were reduced to begging Rangers for £400 grand for Hastie, and getting raped by Celtic for Turnbull.  I've been a Well fan for 45 years and there's nothing new under the sun, the Ugly Sisters are still taking the piss out of us, and to make it even worse - our board has neither the bottle or the imagination to stand up to them.  

So let me give the board a couple of bits of advice. One - no academy player should be allowed to debut for first team with under six months left on his contract. And two - you are allowed to lend our best talents to bigger teams, its not a one way street. Try it - it can't be any worse than losing Turnbull. Hastie, McKinstrie, Cadden and McAleer for a combined £4 million.   

Edited by WellView

4 minutes ago, RandomGuy. said:

The final nail in my coffin, WellView agreeing with me :(

You should be pleased.  I was right in 2016, I was right with the taxi driver line ( and how our fans hate that ), I was right with the chickenshit attitude to contracts ( I understand it with players from outwith the club, I don't undertsand it with our youth who are on minimal money anyway ), and I was right that we'd be better loaning players out to bigger clubs. 

Edited by WellView

11 minutes ago, WellView said:

The P&B member that mentioned earlier we should have at least beaten the Scott Brown transfer fee is correct.  

Scott brown was 21 and played 100 games for Hibs when he joined Celtic.
£3 million if true is good dosh for a 19 year old with one outstanding season under his belt.

1 hour ago, wastecoatwilly said:

I would suggest that mighty well fans know their club better than a Dundee fan or a Celtic fan.
It doesn't matter what we think they should and shouldn't do with the dosh time will tell.
For me the good thing is the player is staying in Scotland and the dosh.
Hopefully the player will make the grade and fulfil his potential.

f**k off with this patter, ya complete and utter helmet

Just now, wastecoatwilly said:

Scott brown was 21 and played 100 games for Hibs when he joined Celtic.
£3 million if true is good dosh for a 19 year old with one outstanding season under his belt.

f**k me, there's one of the Ugly Sister brigade telling me to take wit ah git and be thankful. 

f**k off. 

Why do you keep mentioning FM as if it's a hilarious joke?
Scott Browns £4.4m fee should've been reached, or breached, by the end of the complete deal, and before a sell on clause that might never come. If the figures are true you'll come up more than a million short of that.
I'm just frustrated that smaller Scottish clubs are constantly poached by bigger clubs for fees below the players value, purely because they dont seem to think it's their place to be asking for huge figures, shite like "more than our turnover/double our record fee" is just so, so diddy, that shouldn't be the reason you set an amount unless you're absolutely saddled with debt. Players like Turnbull dont come along often, and it's a chance for clubs like Motherwell to raise the ceiling on what other clubs can demand, as it would be all relative to the Turnbull fee, now though any young talent who breaks through and rips apart the league will have a ceiling price of £3m as that's what Motherwell have accepted. You yourselves will now suffer from that too, as all your players will be held against Turnbull. We're havin this issue where Barnsley signed Liam Lindsay for £250k, and now they're seemingly badgering us with offers below that for Kerr, and running off laughing when we ask for more.
 I understand the reasons behind the fee, it's just frustration that a missed opportunity has been so easily thrown away.

What would you say his value is? He looks a great prospect but is £3m undervaluing him?

For me, its about how sick and tired, frustrated even, that I support a Club, that literally cannae wait to get our best players out the door. I understand that we set a ballpark figure of £3m for our best player in f**k only knows how long, however that should have been the basement figure, the figure we'd accept weeks down the line from now. There should also have been a caveat in that ballpark figure that £3m was the basement price for clubs down by, while clubs in Scotland would be asked to pay a premium. Why? Well, not just because its Celtic and I fucking detest that club, and fucking idiot supporters like wastecoatwilly, but because we would be looking at better sell-ons and add-ons had he gone down south.

It also seems very, very rushed to me and I'm not quite sure why.

The overall feeling I have at the moment is one of complete disillusionment, not just with the Club but of the league set-up as a whole. 

Maybe I'd have been better off supporting Rangers or Celtic

5 minutes ago, Aufc said:

What would you say his value is? He looks a great prospect but is £3m undervaluing him?

Realistically, Turnbull will be a more valuable player than our previous old boy Ross McCormack. I can't remember how much we got for him, it was either a free from Motherwell or something stupid like a hundred grand - which just goes to show we have a long history of losing top player for ten bob. 

If we haven't managed to negotiate a decent sell-on clause I will be seething and on the verge of tears, etc.

They're the last club in the world (Rangers are dead) I'd want to sell him to, and sadly it shows that football clubs have to operate with the head and not the heart.

2 minutes ago, JohnnyReggae said:

You'll never beat the £4.64m Accies got for McCarthy anyhow.

With a decent sell-on clause and if Celtic manage to shift him down south for lots of money as per their own business model, I'm pretty sure we will.

51 minutes ago, WellView said:

So let me give the board a couple of bits of advice. One - no academy player should be allowed to debut for first team with under six months left on his contract. 

This is a ludicrous suggestion really. The amount of players who have looked decent in reserve and youth football then fallen away to the seaside leagues and further afar after failing to make any impact at professional senior football is huge. Giving players a first run out at  is the best way of gauging where they  are at in their career and whether they are worth a contract or not. Each player should be judged on a case by case basis rather one frankly ridiculous policy.

Edited by gannonball

50 minutes ago, WellView said:

Infantile stuff - fans going nuts cos Hastie, on a wage of £400 a week, decided to sign for Rangers, £4,000 a week. Ooooh, I wonder what happened there? Was that a repeat of the Ben Hall fiasco when we put a guy into the first team with four months of his contract left and started greeting when he refused a new contract?  To this day, we have players in our first team on taxi driver money, in fact I know taxi drivers that wouldn't get out of their bed for £400 a week.  Man, Robinson was raving about Hastie during the winter break, did it not occur to the club to offer him a years extension with a decent pay rise then? Hastie would have bitten our hand off. 

And here we go again, with the yippering stupidity of the jammy piece, 240 bus to work brigade. We will never see a serious transfer income for a player direct from Fir Park. The P&B member that mentioned earlier we should have at least beaten the Scott Brown transfer fee is correct.  

We have a board who's collective arse collapsed when Celtic flashed their £3 million knickers. Inflation adjusted, O'Donnell's transfer will still be our record transfer - and inflation adjusted, we'll be picking up half the money for Turnbull that Hibs picked up for Brown .

Well done Motherwell, well done. 

And aye, its a risky manouvere, but with Arsenal sniffing around Ryan Fraser at £30 million - I'd be happier seeing Turnbull going to Bournemouth on loan ( and with a decent loan fee ) for a year than doing this deal. If he's anything like the thing we think he is, his transfer value next summer will be astronomical compared to the £3 mill on offer today.  

Ya'll went nuts three years ago when I said we had a chickenshit attitude to contracts. Now were reduced to begging Rangers for £400 grand for Hastie, and getting raped by Celtic for Turnbull.  I've been a Well fan for 45 years and there's nothing new under the sun, the Ugly Sisters are still taking the piss out of us, and to make it even worse - our board has neither the bottle or the imagination to stand up to them.  

So let me give the board a couple of bits of advice. One - no academy player should be allowed to debut for first team with under six months left on his contract. And two - you are allowed to lend our best talents to bigger teams, its not a one way street. Try it - it can't be any worse than losing Turnbull. Hastie, McKinstrie, Cadden and McAleer for a combined £4 million.   

Sincere apologies to @Well Well, clearly Well View is the deranged taxi driving Newcastle loan specialist.

I am truly sorry for any offence caused. 

53 minutes ago, WellView said:

Can I just clarify I'm understanding this correctly, you want Motherwell to loan him to Bournemouth, in the hope Arsenal (or presumably another elite club in England) will offer Motherwell £30m for his services a year or two down the line?