Motherwell FC - A Thread For All Seasons

8 minutes ago, crazylegsjoe said:

It's quite mental to comprehend that only picking up one point in our final three games against Dundee United, Raith Rovers and St. Johnstone was what ended up losing us the league title.

To be fair, Rangers only picked up two points from their final five games.  They were phoning it in from mid April, knowing they would get over the line eventually.  It went on to cost them the 'double-treble' as their half-arsed form led to them losing 1-0 to Dundee Utd in a pretty shite Scottish Cup final. 

Aberdeen, who ended up finishing above us, also drew six of their last nine games (winning the other three).  It wasn't a particularly tense end to the season. 

I do recall the last game of the season, which I believe was the only time I ever stood behind the goals where the Cooper Stand now sits.  We lost to St. Johnstone and I'm pretty certain (I was 8) there was a guy dressed as Mr Blobby on the terracing.   

Having lived through all three of those nominated eras, and I think (taking each one playing on top-form, otherwise there's too many parameters),McCall's team blows everything else away.

When we were coming out of the McGhee era I never thought we'd see anything like that again, and I remember thinking I was lucky to have been a week-in-week-outer when it happened, but that McCall side with Higdon, Humphrey, Ojamaa, Law, Murphy, Hateley etc etc....you watch back their "best of" videos now and literally laugh they are that good.

20 minutes ago, Archie McSquackle said:

We were already on the slide that season as McLeish had started to make changes to the team. We actually had more of a title challenge the previous year in Tommy's last year.

Aye. That was the last season of 2 points for a win I think? If your auntie had baws and that but had it been 3 points for a win (as it's been since) it'd have ended up with us in 2nd:

1. Rangers - 80
2. Motherwell - 74
3. Aberdeen - 72

5c65a19717597_ScreenShot2019-02-14at17_11_42.png.e3b42245e0c73eefae0436340fc607d4.png

Edited by capt_oats

3 minutes ago, capt_oats said:

Aye. That was the last year of 2 points for a win I think? If your auntie had baws and that but had it been 3 points for a win (as it's been since) it'd have ended up with us in 2nd:

1. Rangers - 80
2. Motherwell - 74
3. Aberdeen - 72

5c65a19717597_ScreenShot2019-02-14at17_11_42.png.e3b42245e0c73eefae0436340fc607d4.png

Jesus look at that number of draws. 104 draws out of 264 games.

Last season for reference was 56 draws out of 228 games.

I’m just getting in on the goalie chat tbh.

I’ll put it out there but Gordon Marshall was an utter bomb scare. I detested him when he was in our goals. Was prone to a mistake in almost every big game he pulled the jersey on for us.

No surprise to me that he was also the coach during one of the worst period of times for keepers at the club.

He should have stuck to hairdressing.

I’m just getting in on the goalie chat tbh.

I’ll put it out there but Gordon Marshall was an utter bomb scare. I detested him when he was in our goals. Was prone to a mistake in almost every big game he pulled the jersey on for us.

No surprise to me that he was also the coach during one of the worst period of times for keepers at the club.

He should have stuck to hairdressing.
I always saw Marshall as a bit of a comedy signing and was never at any point 100% comfortable with him dealing with any ball that entered his box.

7 hours ago, Desp said:

They should have won something though. 

That still irks me to this day and I don't know if we'll ever get a better chance to repeat '91 as we had in that period from 2011-2013. To think that in that time we lost in the League Cup to a Rangers side full of kids and Saint fucking Mirren went on to win it that year! And two seasons in a row with that side we lost out at home to an Aberdeen side who couldn't buy a win against us in the League.

That was a very good side we had and in the second half of the 2012/13 season we played some utterly sublime football but the fact that we failed to win silverware taints that time for me, particularly as Celtic were on autopilot and prone to slipping up in Cups allowing the likes of Killie, Hearts, Aberdeen and both Saints sides to win Cups. I hate to go on like a broken record but I lay the blame for that at Stuart McCall's door.

3 hours ago, Archie McSquackle said:

We were already on the slide that season as McLeish had started to make changes to the team. We actually had more of a title challenge the previous year in Tommy's last year.

Yeah that’s right - bizarre excuse but I was mis remembering the end of the season before due to us starting to wear the following year’s Pony kit in the midweek home game vs Rangers. 

Was that the lilac kit? I remember us beating Rangers (2-1?) in maybe February or March to claw them back a bit and show we were properly challenging them. Marvellous midweek game under the lights with tremendous link-up play for a goal between Coyne and Arnott. I don't think Basile Boli knew what to do with Dougie!

I love folk trying to argue that Higdon and Sutton were poor players. There is a few folk oot there who did argue that tae
I seem to remember it went something like "Higdon is just a poor man's Sutton", and then when he left and Sutton came back it was all "Sutton is just a poor man's Higdon". Muppets.

That list of forward players makes phenomenal reading.

I often wonder what McCall's 2012/13 team might have accomplished had we been that bit more solid defensively and not had to rely on the likes of Adam Cummins and the inimitable wing maestro Fraser Kerr.

11 minutes ago, Pettigrew said:

Yeah that’s right - bizarre excuse but I was mis remembering the end of the season before due to us starting to wear the following year’s Pony kit in the midweek home game vs Rangers. 

This one.

1 minute ago, Archie McSquackle said:

Was that the lilac kit? I remember us beating Rangers (2-1?) in maybe February or March to claw them back a bit and show we were properly challenging them. Marvellous midweek game under the lights with tremendous link-up play for a goal between Coyne and Arnott. I don't think Basile Boli knew what to do with Dougie!

That was this one.

1 hour ago, YassinMoutaouakil said:

Does anyone else remember Steelmen Online outing Casagolda's agent as a beast? Sounds like something I've conjured up in a fever dream but I swear it happened.

Pretty sure you're right. 

Did his representative not turn out to be some Scottish Walter Mitty type unlicensed agent, who was also the poster Hammerfist or something, that spammed the site with the constant 'goal machine' posts that heralded his imminent arrival ? 

Not sure my recollection is 100% right, but it was something along those lines, back in the halcyon days of Steelmen before it tailed off to its current state. 

Edit : here's the link 

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/child-porn-shame-football-agent-4397541#rlabs=1

Edited by DosserDel