Motherwell FC - A Thread For All Seasons

29 minutes ago, one m in Motherwell said:

This is daft - how did we manage to get nearly half a million out of the Sligo fiasco? 

IMG_9459.png

Royalties for re-runs on the comedy channel obvs pay far more than I thought, I'd have expected a half mill fine for those performances rather than a reward.

Maybe GA knew what he was doing and bargained that £500k at the expense of a Euro humbling would earn enough to get his payoff and the hell out of dodge as his increasingly toxic reign was clearly up. So with him binned the embarrassment was worth, except we picked Hammell next.... but we got there in the end. 

33 minutes ago, one m in Motherwell said:

This is daft - how did we manage to get nearly half a million out of the Sligo fiasco? 

IMG_9459.png

From memory it’s about €350k Euros per tie plus you get money from UEFA for travelling expenses.

I get the table shows prize money but that £478k would probably be total awarded by UEFA.

Just annoying as that winnable two legged tie and Raith in the Scottish Cup would have been an extra +£1m (cumulative with gate revenue) in the hippy.

10 minutes ago, Kapowzer said:

From memory it’s about €350k Euros per tie plus you get money from UEFA for travelling expenses.

I get the table shows prize money but that £478k would probably be total awarded by UEFA.

Just annoying as that winnable two legged tie and Raith in the Scottish Cup would have been an extra +£1m (cumulative with gate revenue) in the hippy.

Two big sliding doors moments in our season for sure. Yes, we could have won either/ both of those games and banked considerably more money, but that would have led to either of our previous incumbents remaining in post longer than they did which could quite literally have been catastrophic. It's a sore yin which we will feel financially for a while yet due to missing out and their subsequent pay offs, but in terms of where we are now as Ketts' free scoring fitba gods instead of the early season relegation certainties we surely were, I'll take it.

1 hour ago, one m in Motherwell said:

IMG_9459.png

I know some folk aren't arsed about getting into Europe given that we can't really compete at that level - but half a million quid for a total trainwreck will still be multiples of what you get doing group stage LC - and even a small, realistic run and getting murdered in a playoff round would set us up for the season regardless of what else we do.

6 minutes ago, Swello said:

I know some folk aren't arsed about getting into Europe given that we can't really compete at that level - but half a million quid for a total trainwreck will still be multiples of what you get doing group stage LC - and even a small, realistic run and getting murdered in a playoff round would set us up for the season regardless of what else we do.

To that point, the accounts to May 31st 2021 showed the payment of £775k for the Pandemic season when we were put out by Hapoel in the third Qualifying Round of the Europa:

Screenshot2023-06-04at11_50_34.thumb.png.df7b5ca7c6e8187b696b9d968983a3bb.png

34 minutes ago, 'WellDel said:

Two big sliding doors moments in our season for sure. Yes, we could have won either/ both of those games and banked considerably more money, but that would have led to either of our previous incumbents remaining in post longer than they did which could quite literally have been catastrophic. It's a sore yin which we will feel financially for a while yet due to missing out and their subsequent pay offs, but in terms of where we are now as Ketts' free scoring fitba gods instead of the early season relegation certainties we surely were, I'll take it.

I said before, if we didn't have that cold snap in December the St Mirren game postponed due to burst pipes would have, on form, probably been a loss. As it turned out it was Ketts first and was the start of the revolution. A home defeat against a fellow diddy would have potentially not given Hammy the grace he then got till Raith as you'd have had an extra week of clamouring for his P45.

The prize money should have asterisks and footnotes to show how much of it was used as Golden Handshakes to pay off the failure for the 2 respective gaffers.

Edited by Kapowzer

1 hour ago, Busta Nut said:

I'll miss that big sexy b*****d next season.

My only hope now is that it's just a swift exit. Last thing we need is a three month long saga about it.

Get us paid.

2 hours ago, thisGRAEME said:

My only hope now is that it's just a swift exit. Last thing we need is a three month long saga about it.

Get us paid.

Four league games in August gets him up to 15 in a row. Then off he pops.

3 hours ago, thisGRAEME said:

Get us paid.

I definitely see him turning up for pre season two weeks tomorrow and reckon there's a chance that he'll play the first league cup games. I guess a lot of interested teams won't have the onus to have him there by the start of July.

18 minutes ago, YassinMoutaouakil said:

Always weird when you get that slight overlap with players leaving between the season starting and the end of the window. Kipre signing for Wigan then rocking up at Easter Road the next day anyway comes to mind.

It's definitely weirder with players hanging about a bit and returning for pre-season when you know for a fact they'll be gone, with the 'close season' now just akin to us mere mortals having our summer hols for a fortnight rather than the longer break they used to have.

In years gone by, KVV would definitely have been a fat cigar in a Vegas casino, waiting on offers kinda guy. Nowadays he'll just be on an Insta post, car-sharing with Bevis to get a Costa on his way back to runs at Dalziel Park hoping his Mr 10% is actually out there earning his corn. I doubt he'll ever kick a ball in earnest for us again though regardless, for fear of some freak injury derailing his departure.