Motherwell FC - A Thread For All Seasons

1 minute ago, ATLIS said:

We're playing him as a target man despite being about 5'6. He's decent in the air and tenacious in chasing down defenders. I'd definitely say he isn't a striker though, natural positions has always been CM/CAM. 

I really do think the record/form he hit with us this season will never be replicated again by him. On a scale of Gallagher to Lamie, he's somewhere in the middle but closer to Lamie. A 3 on the Lamie-Gallagher index.

So...a Crawford then?

1 minute ago, capt_oats said:

So...a Crawford then?

I feel like Crawford is possibly a better player. He was ahead of Robinson in the team for a good while, issues was that they're both behind Bartley, Holt, Sibbald and Pittman.

Possibly a middle point in the following Lamie-Crawford index at a 5 :D 

Edited by ATLIS

9 minutes ago, Archie McSquackle said:

It was LogieLivi that said he is signing for us. I'm not convinced Alexander will have made up his made up his mind sufficiently for us to be signing someone like him at this stage.

He will have asked big Dec.

Nancy was a fucking amazing trip. Felt like every Motherwell fan you'd ever met in your life was there with you. Thankfully we took a straightforward way there and flew to Paris before getting the train onto Nancy. 
The Thursday in the square will live me until the day I pop my clogs. What an amazing day! Up early doors, each one of us buying crates of lager from the supermarket before they ran out and just having a great time in the square all day before the big march to the ground. I remember being starving at one point in the afternoon so took a wee jaunt out of the square. Found a wee deli thing so popped in and asked, in French btw (standard grade French in full use like a pro!), for a ham & cheese baguette and the woman proceeded to hand me over a baguette which was about 6ft long. It was fucking magic after 2 days on the lager and was only about €2. 
Special mention to [mention=12196]Mitch[/mention] as well for being the daft c**t to launched himself off the big fountain and ended up walking to the game looking like Terry Butcher with his bandage on his heid and blood-soaked 'Well top. Some absolutely meltit guys in that ground. There must be a good chunk of folk who have no recollection of the game itself. 
Another food related tale the following day was a few of us heading into a wee cafe and ordering burgers and chips all round. Only for them to be served without rolls. Just a burger and some fries. Wee Marty (known to many on here, I'm sure) raises his hands in disgust and in his best French accent (it wasn't great) shouts out, "Where is ze bun!? Where is ze bun!?"
Ah, like was said above. You could write a book on that trip. Levante was an underrated trip as well. 

Amazed no one has mentioned the Athens trip, that was the only one I could make.

Fantastic trip in some unbelievable heat. A fantastic night out in the wee dram, the one and only Scottish bar in Athens. The game was alright but singing Stuart McCall’s Motherwell Army for 90 mins did leave you with a sore throat.

Particular highlight for me was booking in at 3 in the morning and the hotel saying they didn’t have a booking for us. Thanks Expedia.

22 minutes ago, steelmen said:

Amazed no one has mentioned the Athens trip, that was the only one I could make.

Fantastic trip in some unbelievable heat. A fantastic night out in the wee dram, the one and only Scottish bar in Athens. The game was alright but singing Stuart McCall’s Motherwell Army for 90 mins did leave you with a sore throat.

Particular highlight for me was booking in at 3 in the morning and the hotel saying they didn’t have a booking for us. Thanks Expedia.

I got off the tram to make my way to the hotel and got accosted by a local, my guard was up but he just wanted to tell me he had spent the previous evening in the pub singing songs with ‘Well fans.  I carried on and was accosted again, I was less guarded and the guy told me his brother owned a bar in Edinburgh and come into my bar and I will get you the address. I entered, they poured a €20 beer and he offered me his ‘daughter’ who expected a beer and some company.  I threw the beer down and left, meanwhile the daughter had been passed on to the next sucker.

31 minutes ago, crazylegsjoe_mfc said:

Not counting my chickens just yet, but if we manage to beat Killie next week, after today’s results, we will be in a very good position to avoid relegation.

I just hope to god we manage to beat Accies post split. Them taking 12 points off us would a massive riddy!

I am over the whole Accies thing, an opportunity for some fringe players to get a game.

1 hour ago, crazylegsjoe_mfc said:

Not counting my chickens just yet, but if we manage to beat Killie next week, after today’s results, we will be in a very good position to avoid relegation.

I just hope to god we manage to beat Accies post split. Them taking 12 points off us would a massive riddy!

Definitely not counting my chickens but the last time we were flirting with a relegation scrap this is what it looked like after 32 games (and how it finished).

The gap between 9th and 11th after 32 games was 1 pt and 3 pts between 8th and 11th. As it stands it's 9 pts between us and Accies. Killie are on the same points now as ICT were after the same number of games in 17/18 and Accies are 3 points worse off than we/they were.

It still feels like we need at least one more win though. Quicker that happens the better like.

1962978295_ScreenShot2021-03-13at19_49_19.png.61f652db6459a5d76e2ca602cab5f958.png

1977474245_ScreenShot2021-03-13at19_50_08.png.f5633e4ea91549c1d35e013082c6d0f9.png

1856150651_ScreenShot2021-03-13at19_52_57.png.309ef89d1fa78fc023ddb503ec4d8611.png

Edited by capt_oats

1 hour ago, YassinMoutaouakil said:

I'm sure someone on Steelmen mentioned Guthrie from Livi too.

There's zero chance of that happening as he isn't out of contract and unless you're paying stupid money we won't sell

3 hours ago, ropy said:

I got off the tram to make my way to the hotel and got accosted by a local, my guard was up but he just wanted to tell me he had spent the previous evening in the pub singing songs with ‘Well fans.  I carried on and was accosted again, I was less guarded and the guy told me his brother owned a bar in Edinburgh and come into my bar and I will get you the address. I entered, they poured a €20 beer and he offered me his ‘daughter’ who expected a beer and some company.  I threw the beer down and left, meanwhile the daughter had been passed on to the next sucker.

Went to Athens on a last minute Johnny No Mates trip.........drove  down south  on the Sunday afternoon, stayed with friends in London then got a late Monday evening flight from Heathrow  to Athens........bumped into a couple of Dossers from Wishaw at Athens airport who managed to get a carry out for the night bus into Athens .......ended up at 4am in Syntagma  Square kiosk buying my round as I had drunk their beer (offered voluntarily)........the next couple of days ended up more alcohol fuelled including the Wee Dram the night before the match...escorted by police away from the bar to trendy bars nearby ......day of the match was superb in the square until local polis became a bit heavy handed and cleared the square and made us go up to the Olympic Stadium well before kick off.........thirty odd degrees heat in a built up city  made the whole experience rather sweaty.....day , noon or night 

Edited by Pettywulliegrew-2

6 hours ago, steelmen said:

Athens was literally the hottest place I've ever been and so far over my heat threshold (which isn't very high) - but it was still brilliant. When it was in the mid-30's at 2am when the flight arrived from Heathrow, I knew it was going to be mental. I've still got no idea how the players coped with that.

3 hours ago, YassinMoutaouakil said:

:lol:  I know we made a big deal of it at the time but I still don't think it's appreciated enough quite how fucking wild it is that there was a Champions League fixture at Fir Park.

Maybe not as big a deal as the fact that Adam Cummins and Omar Daley got starting places in a CL Qualifier in Athens..

The whole prematch in Athens was a farce. Don't get the metro, its not safe. Club laying on busses but they never turned up so then it's either chance the metro or pile into taxis.

Taxis it was.

We just ignored that and got the metro, no issues at all until we got to the Olympic park. About 40 guys on mopeds came charging towards the 2 of us, we were bricking it until the head guy told us ‘your entrance is over there’ [emoji23]

Then we found the guy outside the ground selling frozen water bottles, wish I had them climbing up the hill to the acropolis the day before!!

It was surreal to see Well fan’s queuing at HT for water.  

I usually need a trip to the loo within an hour of drinking a pint. I am sure I drank a dozen beers leading up to the game and never went to the 🚾

Given the location it was quite a civilised away Euro trip with sightseeing thrown in. The game was a bit meh but it was a good experience all the same. 

At this rate we would have an entire ex Livi midfield next season. To be fair the Livi players that have come to us have done a decent job inc Crawford and more recently the much maligned Lamie. 

10 hours ago, MP_MFC said:

The whole prematch in Athens was a farce. Don't get the metro, its not safe. Club laying on busses but they never turned up so then it's either chance the metro or pile into taxis.

Taxis it was.

Nearly fell out of mine trying to climb onto the window to bang the roof on a fucking motorway.

Boys passing cans between moving taxis at 60 mph.

The entire Law family drinking in the square before hand and then we fucking signed one of them.

Crossing a dual carriageway canned.

Our taxi driver dragging a half deid moped rider oot the road on the way back to a bar. 

I had to get my flatmates to aftersun when I got home because I'd burnt myself so badly I couldn't move without agony.

Would do it again tbh.

Also; Robinson himself says he's a striker. I think he's magic, tbh. Wins far more aerially than he ever should, and has a great first touch.

We just ignored that and got the metro, no issues at all until we got to the Olympic park. About 40 guys on mopeds came charging towards the 2 of us, we were bricking it until the head guy told us ‘your entrance is over there’ [emoji23]

Then we found the guy outside the ground selling frozen water bottles, wish I had them climbing up the hill to the acropolis the day before!!
Aye, on reflection the Acropolis about 1pm wisnae our greatest idea after a night on the Mythos.

Seem to recall there was some stand at the bottom again selling slushy lemonade, cannae mind how much it was but it was worth at least double.

1 hour ago, MP_MFC said:

Aye, on reflection the Acropolis about 1pm wisnae our greatest idea after a night on the Mythos.

Seem to recall there was some stand at the bottom again selling slushy lemonade, cannae mind how much it was but it was worth at least double.

I went up early in the morning, had a wee wander round, came back down and spoke to a boy on his holidays wearing a Celtic top.  Celtic weren’t playing in Greece.  This was his holiday gear.