Motherwell FC - A Thread For All Seasons

I took my oldest a few times between the ages of 5 and 6 with him not showing too much interest. Typically he started asking about going back again in the middle of lockdown. Got a season ticket for us this year, he's 8 now and he loved it on Sunday. I'm pretty sure after a few games he'll be right into it . His wee brother on the other hand is 6 and can't sit on his bum through a 15 minute cartoon so will maybe wait a bit longer before bringing him along . 

Thinking back to last week and getting frustrated about the randomness of the defeat, a ball played into the box and colliding with a stray arm is not the same as being cut open with a smart piece of play.

I am not suggesting it wasn’t a penalty, just that it wasn’t ‘earned’ and the point was gone.

On to Sunday.

In our circumstances (credit still a problem after admin and no millionaire backer) - an interest free loan of this type must have been manna from heaven for us - we would have been crazy not to take it.

15 minutes ago, Swello said:

In our circumstances (credit still a problem after admin and no millionaire backer) - an interest free loan of this type must have been manna from heaven for us - we would have been crazy not to take it.

From memory, that was the general gist of how it was discussed at the AGM earlier this year.  

Was there not something along the lines that not all clubs had drawn down the full amount of credit?

I mean, I'd imagine we have because as @Swello says we'd have been mental not to take it.

Even the conditions don't seem that restrictive especially given we'd taken in a club record transfer and the Business Interruption Insurance claim was accepted. The money's the money - if we decide to bank a chunk of cash then it doesn't really matter if it's Turnbull money or SG money - it's just cash that's in our account.

The borrowing rules state the loans can not be used to pay off existing commercial or director loans and bans most dividend payments.

The Scottish government also expects the 11 clubs to provide it with quarterly financial reports including a balance sheet and actual cash flow against budget.

Link

As of 10th February 2020 we had cleared all external debt and the only additional debt we'd taken on since then was the £50k bounce-back loan from the UK Government.

Given the margins we work to as a fan-owned club I'd like to think we're doing short, medium and long term projections anyway so firing off a quarterly report to the SG shouldn't be too much of an imposition given the upside is an interest free injection of £3m.

20 minutes ago, capt_oats said:

Was there not something along the lines that not all clubs had drawn down the full amount of credit?

I mean, I'd imagine we have because as @Swello says we'd have been mental not to take it.

Even the conditions don't seem that restrictive especially given we'd taken in a club record transfer and the Business Interruption Insurance claim was accepted. The money's the money - if we decide to bank a chunk of cash then it doesn't really matter if it's Turnbull money or SG money - it's just cash that's in our account.

As of 10th February 2020 we had cleared all external debt and the only additional debt we'd taken on since then was the £50k bounce-back loan from the UK Government.

Given the margins we work to as a fan-owned club I'd like to think we're doing short, medium and long term projections anyway so firing off a quarterly report to the SG shouldn't be too much of an imposition given the upside is an interest free injection of £3m.

The biggest challenge that all fan-owned clubs are going to face is raising capital for "non-football" infrastructure stuff (ground improvements/facilities/academy, etc) and this loan is massively helpful for that in our case but it doesn't solve the long term issue. Some clubs will be able to borrow commercially at an acceptable cost but not all (and not us) - so how we and others fund big projects in future will be interesting...

29 minutes ago, Pettigrew said:

From memory, that was the general gist of how it was discussed at the AGM earlier this year.  

It was but any business would jump at the terms on offer - to get a 20 year interest free loan is the softest loan we'll ever have other than the "rich supporter pay us back when you can" type that we've had in the past.

13 hours ago, KirkySuperSub said:

Random question, a wee query...

See when you first took yer weans to Fir Park, what age were they?

In all honesty, I've not been to the fitba with any regularity since the 2011/ 2012 season...just circumstances and life, I guess, the odd game aside...but I'm desperate to get back just now, especially to take the wee boy, but he's only 4 this coming Tuesday and I'm not sure if he's too young just now.

Last few seasons, never felt I was missing anything, but the buzz for this season is grabbing me and I'm keen to get back...get me a KVV shirt...😆

Took both of mine from the age of 3. All part of the indoctrination process that started at birth. 😁

49 minutes ago, Swello said:

The biggest challenge that all fan-owned clubs are going to face is raising capital for "non-football" infrastructure stuff (ground improvements/facilities/academy, etc) and this loan is massively helpful for that in our case but it doesn't solve the long term issue. Some clubs will be able to borrow commercially at an acceptable cost but not all (and not us) - so how we and others fund big projects in future will be interesting...

We now have an official handset sponsor so that's us making an inroads. We are massive...

To the point of "big projects" was it the AGM where there was discussion about us getting involved with Dalziel Park as some sort of co-pro in a medium term plan or was it on one of the interviews with Burrows.

2 minutes ago, Gianfranco said:

I mean what on Earth is a handset sponsor?

On second thoughts, who cares? Just give us your money TLC.

We don't want no scrubs.

TCL, one of the world’s largest consumer electronics companies with over 70,000 employees worldwide, is the new official handset sponsor of Motherwell Football Club.

TCL is a fast-growing consumer electronics company that specialises in the development and manufacturing of products, ranging from mobile phones, televisions, audio products and tablets.

Their brand logo will feature on the shorts of the first team’s home and away kits in the 2021/22 season.

In early 2021, TCL showcased the brand’s tagline of Display Greatness through an ambassador partnership with iconic players across the globe including Harry Kane, Neymar and Paul Pogba.

Suzanne Reid, head of commercial and marketing at Motherwell FC, added: “We are very pleased to be partnering with TCL.

“This is a fantastic commercial deal for the club and represents further great news for the club and our supporters ensuring another positive, high value and high calibre partnership for the future.

“We thank TCL for their support.”

Link

We've patched the SPFL Trust Trophy.

Motherwell informed the SPFL that, due to the number of players in their B team either injured or self-isolating, they do not have sufficient players available to fulfil the fixture. 

Link

Edited by capt_oats

31 minutes ago, capt_oats said:

To the point of "big projects" was it the AGM where there was discussion about us getting involved with Dalziel Park as some sort of co-pro in a medium term plan or was it on one of the interviews with Burrows.

It was definitely referenced at the AGM - said they were in advanced talks re taking a greater role in the day to day management of the facility as part of a future partnership model.

I was 6, just shy of my 7th birthday when my Dad took me. Was a 1-1 draw with Accies in the cup in February 1997.

I liked it from day one but I got properly hooked at the end of that season with the excitement of Van Der Gaag’s equaliser against Dunfermline (hence the avatar).

I think it’s easier to take kids these days as there are phones, tablets etc you can take to keep them occupied.

The point from when your kids start noticing that the referee is against us every week is the point you've got them.

If they start shouting for the keeper taking too many seconds or someone moving the ball 2 yards at a free kick, it's gone too far.