The Partick Thistle thread

1 hour ago, jagfox OG said:

Might be one of those Livi type deals if St Johnstone see him more as a future seasons player.

Give us a few quid, sign him, loan him back and they get a more experienced stopgap or loanee.

Then again I may just be havering...

If we sign him then it would be for this season I'd think, zero point in a team staring relegation in face and scoring no goals spending money on a striker then loaning him out.

It'll be Rudden plus one to compete with Kane. May isn't a striker anymore and Vertainen will be away as the manager hates him.

11 minutes ago, Radford said:

What type of striker is Rudden? Does he run in behind? Is he good with his back to goal and linking play? Good in the air? 

None of those things. He's pretty rubbish really...

32 minutes ago, Radford said:

What type of striker is Rudden? Does he run in behind? Is he good with his back to goal and linking play? Good in the air? 

I’d say he’s hit and miss with all of those things, and it really depends on what kind of form/mood he’s in. He has all these attributes in his locker but doesn’t show them all very regularly (which I suppose makes sense because he’d be nowhere near us if he did).

He’s a penalty box striker first and foremost. Gets in good positions and finishes the chances that he gets.

I’m really not sure he’s a great fit for St Johnstone at this time, as he’s totally unproven in the top flight and by most accounts you don’t create many chances. Would be a fairly big risk imo.

Edited by Nightmare

I’d say he’s hit and miss with all of those things, and it really depends on what kind of form/mood he’s in. He has all these attributes in his locker but doesn’t show them all very regularly (which I suppose makes sense because he’d be nowhere near us if he did).
He’s a penalty box striker first and foremost. Gets in good positions and finishes the chances that he gets.
I’m really not sure he’s a great fit for St Johnstone at this time, as he’s totally unproven in the top flight and by most accounts you don’t create many chances. Would be a fairly big risk imo.

A penalty box striker is actually just what I think we need. We do create chances just don’t have anyone willing to have a go quickly with them.

I've got Ruddens best role classed as a poacher. With him being ranked ~average in possession and defensive work but exceptional in front of goal. Gets involved in the build up to chances on occasion but wouldn't be a key player there.

No idea how fair that is.

Probably fair enough, most of his goals off the top of my head are first time finishes from inside the box whether with head or foot, one exception being a belter of a shot from outside the box vs Montrose at Firhill.

He does put himself about a lot off the ball but I wouldn't say he's creative, his first touch can be rancid. 

15 minutes ago, Fuctifano said:

Probably fair enough, most of his goals off the top of my head are first time finishes from inside the box whether with head or foot, one exception being a belter of a shot from outside the box vs Montrose at Firhill.

He does put himself about a lot off the ball but I wouldn't say he's creative, his first touch can be rancid. 

He ranks surprisingly high for passes that set up shots, having a deeper look at him, but that includes half of last season too as I like to look at the last 12 months for the best sample size. Dunno if he was better on that side of things in League One?

1 minute ago, RandomGuy. said:

He ranks surprisingly high for passes that set up shots, having a deeper look at him, but that includes half of last season too as I like to look at the last 12 months for the best sample size. Dunno if he was better on that side of things in League One?

He was fucking pish until the 13th of April last season when we played Clyde, so probably not. If you read back through the thread, you’ll find that almost all of us were looking to punt him to part time football until about then.

I’d say his best attributes are his movement in and around the box, alongside his finishing. He has some games when every aspect of his game is excellent (Kilmarnock away the best example). Other times he looks like he hasn’t played football before, but he’s always (at least since that Clyde game) a danger around the box. I also think that his movement and threat creates space for others, most notably Brian Graham, and makes them better players. 

3 minutes ago, oneteaminglasgow said:

He was fucking pish until the 13th of April last season when we played Clyde, so probably not. If you read back through the thread, you’ll find that almost all of us were looking to punt him to part time football until about then.

I’d say his best attributes are his movement in and around the box, alongside his finishing. He has some games when every aspect of his game is excellent (Kilmarnock away the best example). Other times he looks like he hasn’t played football before, but he’s always (at least since that Clyde game) a danger around the box. I also think that his movement and threat creates space for others, most notably Brian Graham, and makes them better players. 

Fair play, I'll have to figure out why it's telling me shite then 😂

I think with his age and the amount of games he's already played there's a decent chance he turns into at least a good top flight striker. I'd be happy to see us give him that chance in the next 5 months tbh.

1 hour ago, Bishop Briggs said:

Any news or rumours on possible signings/departures/new deals?

For example, has Hastie gone back to Sevco?

I would think he’ll be away back soon enough, but from what I recall we just announced him as being here “until January” so not sure what actual date his loan expires. He’s still listed on our team page so I assume he’s around for the weekend as an emergency back up option. 

I would hope we’re looking at that Euan Henderson boy who’s on loan at Alloa just now. Think he’s mostly a winger and has a very impressive record there. Plus we’re best pals with Hearts so shouldn’t be too hard to deal with. And we’re reportedly trying to get James Maxwell on a permanent deal from Rangers too, but so are a number of clubs.

In b4 the Partridge gif.

I guess this is fine. He had a couple of howlers early in the season but has been decent since then, although it feels like he really hasn’t had a lot to do in the past couple of months during our clean sheet run. Also worth considering that Sneddon is still young for a keeper so plenty of room for improvement.

20 minutes ago, Nightmare said:

In b4 the Partridge gif.

I guess this is fine. He had a couple of howlers early in the season but has been decent since then, although it feels like he really hasn’t had a lot to do in the past couple of months during our clean sheet run. Also worth considering that Sneddon is still young for a keeper so plenty of room for improvement.

Aye, out of the three McCall talked about signing extensions, he’s the one I was least arsed about. He has undoubtedly improved this season to be fair to him so keep that up and we’ll be fine.

Unrelated, but his name doesn’t really fit into the tune of paparazzi and it mildly irritates me every time I hear that chant.

2 hours ago, oneteaminglasgow said:

I would think he’ll be away back soon enough, but from what I recall we just announced him as being here “until January” so not sure what actual date his loan expires. He’s still listed on our team page so I assume he’s around for the weekend as an emergency back up option. 

I would hope we’re looking at that Euan Henderson boy who’s on loan at Alloa just now. Think he’s mostly a winger and has a very impressive record there. Plus we’re best pals with Hearts so shouldn’t be too hard to deal with. And we’re reportedly trying to get James Maxwell on a permanent deal from Rangers too, but so are a number of clubs.

Thanks for that. Transfermkt says that Hastie went back to Sevco when his loan finished on 2nd January.

Maxwell has been linked with Leeds United recently and Sevco will want a decent fee for him.  Do we need another left-back with Hendrie staying until the end of the season?

Sneddon deserves his new deal but we also need to get Akinola and Rudden signed up for next season. There was some speculation in the media a few weeks ago that Stone could return to Hearts.

Edited by Bishop Briggs