The Partick Thistle thread

Congratulations Thistle. Our thrashing last week was a hard one to take but you were pretty relentless on the night. If we do happen do beat Falkirk on Saturday a wee favour on Tuesday wouldn't go amiss [emoji6]
Don't think any thistle fans will be too upset to see a really weak team out on Tuesday

43 minutes ago, Gordon EF said:

Well done Thistle. Did not see this coming when we were strolling it 2-0 at half time against you a few weeks ago.

Neither did we. We were in genuine "McCall has 45 minutes to save his job" territory.

Just for emphasis, this transformation has happened entirely in the month of April. Mere minutes before the final whistle on 6 April, we were 8 points behind Falkirk, sitting in 6th on the live table with there being genuine doubts that we'd secure a top half berth in time for the split.

We're now 8 points clear of Falkirk.

Astonishing three and a bit weeks of football.

4 minutes ago, Ad Lib said:

Neither did we. We were in genuine "McCall has 45 minutes to save his job" territory.

Just for emphasis, this transformation has happened entirely in the month of April. Mere minutes before the final whistle on 6 April, we were 8 points behind Falkirk, sitting in 6th on the live table with there being genuine doubts that we'd secure a top half berth in time for the split.

We're now 8 points clear of Falkirk.

Astonishing three and a bit weeks of football.

It'll no doubt be over-looked a bit due the general fucking weirdness of 2020-21 but it has to be one of the most unlikely late surges to a title in Scottish football.

50 minutes ago, jaggyness said:
53 minutes ago, PortyMo said:
Congratulations Thistle. Our thrashing last week was a hard one to take but you were pretty relentless on the night. If we do happen do beat Falkirk on Saturday a wee favour on Tuesday wouldn't go amiss emoji6.png

Don't think any thistle fans will be too upset to see a really weak team out on Tuesday

I wouldn't be too upset if we found out players couldnt get to the game cause they were still over the limit to drive after hammering the long weekend. 

Throw the weans in. Blair Lyons run out. See if Charlie Reilly is real or just a tax scam. Done and done.

Never saw this coming only a matter of weeks ago. This club deserves some good fortune and the run of form we have gone on recently has got us over the line and back into the Championship at first time of asking.

Enjoying it a title win for the first time in years. 

McCall said in the post match interview there's about 5 players that won't play, mentioned Tiffoney, Docherty, Brownlie, and Graham as "shouldn't really have played tonight"

Blair Lyons can play a half for each side on Tuesday. Charlie Reilly can captain the team. Sena in nets.

1 hour ago, Nightmare said:

The turnaround since that half of football has been incredible.

No idea if it's possible or what his contract situation is, but I'd love to get Scott Tiffoney back again next season. If Declan McDaid hadn't been recalled by Dundee, I doubt we would have signed him and who knows where the f**k we'd be right now.

Fair fucks to McCall and everyone else at the club for getting it right eventually.

Just delighted to be out of this division, and going to thoroughly enjoy everyone else fight it out for that last spot in the Championship.

Scott Tiffoney was signing in January mate so he wasn’t a replacement for McDaid. It was Chris erskine who we signed to replace McDaid 

can only echo what’s been said already- great to win the league and fantastic from players and manager

4 minutes ago, Passionate said:

Congratulations Thistle on getting out of the seaside league at the first attempt, 

Best side we have played this season  ....

See you sometime ya luvvy c***s

Be gentle to Falkirk in the playoffs.

They know you'll win, but a pumping might tip them over the edge.

At half time v East Fife I was all for tying a ball and chain round every member of staff associated with our football performance, dumping them in the canal and starting from scratch next season. 

It's been some salvage job from that point on and McCall deserves credit for tidying the team up and managing certain players' fitness issues well for the decisive part of the season (namely Rudden, who hadn't kicked a ball before his goal against Clyde and whose emergence has allowed us to churn out results with a sturdy 4-4-2).

I've no doubt we'd still be mid-table without the loan signings of Tiffoney and Bell, but a good portion of the squad have staked their claims for next season provided we can either retain or replace that same standard of player. 

The focus of the next few weeks should now be finally hounding Jacqui Low out of the club and paving the way for a transfer window fit for another title challenge. 

Watching the highlights and I don’t think I appreciated just how good the third goal was at the time. Obviously a thumping finish from Graham but it starts with Brownlie absolutely smashing Morrison to win a headed, then some nice touches and decent passing before the turn and shot. Delightful 

8 hours ago, velo army said:

Nah, it was a deserved relegation. We were utter, utter shite and fully deserved the punting down to the diddy league. Delighted with today like, and I'm actually looking forward to next season. Rudden coming good is an extra bonus.

Our performancesIn the last 4 weeks blow this argument oit the water. However, it may turn out tohave  been a good thing for us.

1 minute ago, jagsfan57 said:

Our performancesIn the last 4 weeks blow this argument oit the water. However, it may turn out tohave  been a good thing for us.

What argument? But aye, as has been said before, this has been an extraordinary four weeks. From 8 points behind to 8 points clear is stunning form (and quite the arse collapse from Falkirk).