The Partick Thistle thread

7 minutes ago, shawfielder said:

Got to get your laughs somewhere , I get mine checking the Championship results on a Saturday, and it's great having a good laugh on a Friday night too.

I couldn't tell you any of the League 1 results. I don't know a single Clyde score outside of Thistle games. Because Clyde mean next to nothing to me and most Jags fans.

For posters named Shawfielder and Shawfield shed boy it must be particularly distressing to see only the aforementioned greyhounds running around their spiritual home. You do fear for them trying to foster a new generation of fans in a council owned stadium in Cumbernauld. 

I don't think they need to contribute anything more to this thread.

15 minutes ago, Bishop Briggs said:

Even with a shite manager like Caldwell, we beat you in the League Cup.

You play in a soulless shithole and still have the brass neck to troll us! 😂

We had a slow start to the season, gifted teams a 3 goal start each game! Still managed to score twice against you with a experimental line up and formation. Safe to say we'd take care of you now! 

Lastly, soulless? It can be but not of late, we've had plenty to sing about of late, not sure the same can be said about you boys. 

Go enjoy your vegan lunch and see if McCall decides to join your lot this afternoon, to think the opportunity of joining such a big club requires 24h of thinking eh? 

4 minutes ago, Bishop Briggs said:

Ian McCall is, and always was, the board's number 1 choice. Danny Lennon is, literally, not his league. 

Why did you approach Lennon first? Then approach McCall after Clyde said no? You lot really are not taking this well, I'm concerned... 

11 hours ago, BullyWeeStonehouse said:

This is primary school patter. You approached us for him then got told naw. So now you've wanted McCall all along. Your reaction to it all is hilarious 😂😂😂😂😂

That PT version unfortunately is true.

Danny Lennon phones Firhill and said he would only come for an interview if there was a shortlist of one.

The Thistle Board admitted that they really only wanted McCall but had to be seen to be including others, at which point Danny Lennon surprisingly called the Clyde Board and asked for a contract extension as Thistle were about offer him a 5 year deal on £250k a year.

We bottled it and offered another year and £20k a year. Danny weighed it up & decided money wasn't everything.

Sounds plausible.

If only we were a big club 🤑- maybe one day...….

Meanwhile the two clubs can continue to play out games at roughly 20th and 25th best in Scotland.

2 hours ago, Dollar Jag said:

There's one, and he seems to be no older than a teenager, and he's getting quite a lot of bites for his attempts at winding you all up.

Or is this the Clyde thread, because there's a hell of a lot of you here. The priorities of Clyde fans, always bigging us up.

Winding us up......comedy genius.

How do you measure big?

Not in the top league.

Not won the main cup competition as often

List being third in the league at the top of the list of honours on your website - that's stretching the meaning of attainment.

All the bigness, more fans & lottery money and still a jakey rabble.

Sorry to disappoint the whole Clyde support that have posted on this thread but doesnt look like wee Dan was the main man according to this. Short list of three approached. Given the last named, lets hope McCall is up for the challenge!

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.eveningtimes.co.uk/sport/17918752.amp/

Edited by Sting777

5 minutes ago, Sting777 said:

Sorry to disappoint the whole Clyde support that have posted on this thread but doesnt look like wee Dan was the main man according to this. Short list of three approached. Given the last named, lets hope McCall is up for the challenge!

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.eveningtimes.co.uk/sport/17918752.amp/

That article tells us nothing. Simple facts are, yesterday afternoon you approached Clyde and were told no, then later that afternoon you approached McCall. Just put your heads in the sands and all this will blow over, you didn't get your main target, deal with it. 

14 minutes ago, Ingo ohne Flamingo said:

That article tells us nothing. Simple facts are, yesterday afternoon you approached Clyde and were told no, then later that afternoon you approached McCall. Just put your heads in the sands and all this will blow over, you didn't get your main target, deal with it. 

Yesterday afternoon? Not true. We approached McCall on Thursday( No.1 choice) , as a back up in case of a refusal we then approached Clyde for Lennon(2nd choice) but were refused permission. 

24 minutes ago, Ingo ohne Flamingo said:

McCall met with Gerry Britton on Thursday.

Can’t tell you about when we approached Lennon, but if it was yesterday afternoon as you have suggested, then it definitely wasn’t before McCall.

The desperation of Clyde fans for their manager to have been our first choice rather than second, third, or even just one name on a shortlist, is something else. It really, really doesn’t matter that much, lads.

Edited by Nightmare