The Partick Thistle thread

2 hours ago, JACKERptfc said:

Archie is the most over rated manager ever in the Scottish's first flight. What job would he get if he left Thistle ? Clyde or Airdrie max. There's a huge gap between what football thinks of him and what our fans think of him. Archiebald took over in unbelievable circumstances. A great young team 2nd in the league with decent books and off the field stability in Scottish football that was becoming a much more even playing field.

The way Lambie has been airbrushed by Archie's cheerleaders is disgraceful. We were on our knees in the 2nd division. Shot in every way(money,morale,players) and Lambie turned it around.  Lambie getting us to 10th in the 2002/2003 was 3 or 4 times the achievement considering Old firm Had  De Boer/Arteta/ Hartson/Larrson/Sutton/Ferguson.Dundee playing 20k a week to Ravenelli and other stars like Speroni/Khizanishvilli/Rae/Nemsadze/Cabellero/Novo.

Livingston doped up to there eye balls full of talents including Guillermo Amor who had 37 Spain caps and 300 games for barca. Javier broto (Celtic keeper) with Rubio n Andrews in front of him.Zarata up front

You had Dunfermline with Crawford,Brewster and Nicholson,Skerla . Hearts finished 3rd with Pressley/Webster, Mark de Veries,Stamp and Valois even Motherwell had Mcfadden and Pearson. We were the diddy relations by a million times in size and wage budget in those days when everyone was paying mega bucks. There was no St johnstone or Accies. We had to finish ahead of Motherwell and United to stay up.

Archie's top six team was pish (Ryan edwards,Devine,Barton) and the best two players Lindsay and Doolan who guided us through where not even his and we beat off a really pish Killie and Accies sides to do it. We had seasons without hearts/hibs/Rangers in the league. Thistle finished 10th under Archie before. In Murdo Mcleod's erathat would of seen us relegated (Murdo went down in 9th) in a league of 10. Collins never had the 7th biggest budget in the league. Saying Archie did better without any context is unfair on everyone else.

Archie's style of hoof football, his poor tactics ,his cup record,his big game record, his signings were all terrible.He lived a charm life in the SPL before it came crashing down. He made 76 signings for Thistle and Ryan Edwards only one who went onto a bigger club from us. Big money on Keown,Storey,Barton just wasted. He blew the cup final versus QOTS because he struggles to set out to win. 

Archie wasting and releasing Prime Lawless with no contract was a far bigger crime than Caldwell dumping a past it Erskine or Doolan. Lawless is class in the current SPL. He also didn't want O'donnell back cause we had dumbaya and turned down Jack Hendry. He messed around Doolan aswell by benching him for every jobber striker he could find for years.

Walking out on us for Dundee united despite us being the SPL and finishing above the previous season. Not resigning and having to be sacked costing the club a pay off. Headbutting a youth player and getting sent off while manager in a reserve team match

The amazing first division team ?. He nearly got it relegated in the 1st SPL season with 2 home wins all season. Stayed up by 3 points. Signed duds like Mark Kerr and John baird/Gabby. The relegation and his final season should take away legendary status.

How much shite can a person spew out in one day as much as you have? Dear oh dear!

7 hours ago, JACKERptfc said:

Archie is the most over rated manager ever in the Scottish's first flight. What job would he get if he left Thistle ? Clyde or Airdrie max. There's a huge gap between what football thinks of him and what our fans think of him. Archiebald took over in unbelievable circumstances. A great young team 2nd in the league with decent books and off the field stability in Scottish football that was becoming a much more even playing field.

The way Lambie has been airbrushed by Archie's cheerleaders is disgraceful. We were on our knees in the 2nd division. Shot in every way(money,morale,players) and Lambie turned it around.  Lambie getting us to 10th in the 2002/2003 was 3 or 4 times the achievement considering Old firm Had  De Boer/Arteta/ Hartson/Larrson/Sutton/Ferguson.Dundee playing 20k a week to Ravenelli and other stars like Speroni/Khizanishvilli/Rae/Nemsadze/Cabellero/Novo.

Livingston doped up to there eye balls full of talents including Guillermo Amor who had 37 Spain caps and 300 games for barca. Javier broto (Celtic keeper) with Rubio n Andrews in front of him.Zarata up front

You had Dunfermline with Crawford,Brewster and Nicholson,Skerla . Hearts finished 3rd with Pressley/Webster, Mark de Veries,Stamp and Valois even Motherwell had Mcfadden and Pearson. We were the diddy relations by a million times in size and wage budget in those days when everyone was paying mega bucks. There was no St johnstone or Accies. We had to finish ahead of Motherwell and United to stay up.

Archie's top six team was pish (Ryan edwards,Devine,Barton) and the best two players Lindsay and Doolan who guided us through where not even his and we beat off a really pish Killie and Accies sides to do it. We had seasons without hearts/hibs/Rangers in the league. Thistle finished 10th under Archie before. In Murdo Mcleod's erathat would of seen us relegated (Murdo went down in 9th) in a league of 10. Collins never had the 7th biggest budget in the league. Saying Archie did better without any context is unfair on everyone else.

Archie's style of hoof football, his poor tactics ,his cup record,his big game record, his signings were all terrible.He lived a charm life in the SPL before it came crashing down. He made 76 signings for Thistle and Ryan Edwards only one who went onto a bigger club from us. Big money on Keown,Storey,Barton just wasted. He blew the cup final versus QOTS because he struggles to set out to win. 

Archie wasting and releasing Prime Lawless with no contract was a far bigger crime than Caldwell dumping a past it Erskine or Doolan. Lawless is class in the current SPL. He also didn't want O'donnell back cause we had dumbaya and turned down Jack Hendry. He messed around Doolan aswell by benching him for every jobber striker he could find for years.

Walking out on us for Dundee united despite us being the SPL and finishing above the previous season. Not resigning and having to be sacked costing the club a pay off. Headbutting a youth player and getting sent off while manager in a reserve team match

The amazing first division team ?. He nearly got it relegated in the 1st SPL season with 2 home wins all season. Stayed up by 3 points. Signed duds like Mark Kerr and John baird/Gabby. The relegation and his final season should take away legendary status.

Defo agree about his signings..absolute pish....the squad he left us with was the worst since the 80s....that opening day at ayr was an embarrassment...good servant as a player through a lot of lows....lets be honest he didnt rate dools...signed umpteen duds to replace him....hopefully he's no where near the recruitment in January 

8 hours ago, JACKERptfc said:

For your 1st post on here, that’s incredible, but not in a good way.

Archie as a player was a fans favorite and only left due to Collins coming in.

Regardless of the league strength top 6 was fantastic.

He signed some great players, he also signed some dross, as did Lambie.

His relegation season was a shambles, but the players that were marquee signings that season just never performed, that and a bunch of long injuries set him up to fail.

The return to Championship was poor, but I’d question whether he got the same financial backing Caldwell did, in fact I won’t question it I know he never. 

Archie done a hell of a lot of good for this club in all the roles he had, he never always got it right, but he got it right way more than he got it wrong.

30 minutes ago, IR1970 said:

Defo agree about his signings..absolute pish....the squad he left us with was the worst since the 80s....that opening day at ayr was an embarrassment...good servant as a player through a lot of lows....lets be honest he didnt rate dools...signed umpteen duds to replace him....hopefully he's no where near the recruitment in January 

Excuse Me Reaction GIF by Mashable

Most Thistle fans have a realistic assessment of Alan Archibald's time as Manager - he did well but lost the plot latterly. To compare him adversely with Lambie is bizarre:-

Loyalty - Lambie left Thistle twice, once for Hamilton then Falkirk.

League Position - the two lowest League finishes in the Club's History were in 1998/99 & 1999/2000 - 8th then 5th in the Second Division - Lambie was the manager, albeit in the first of those seasons he took over late on. 

Cup Record - Thistle have been awful in all Cups since Bertie Auld was in charge - apart from one Cup Semi-Final, Lambie record was very poor with a home defeat against a Cowdenbeath side  which hardly won a game that season a particular low point.

Signings - Higgy, Cerny, Erskine, Taylor,Osman & Barton(first season) were very good signings....Lambie's strength was getting great performances from journeymen professionals...none of them had transfer re-sale values....Henry, Lindsay & Fitzpatrick were sold for decent transfer fees whereas Lambie barely had a  young player who was a first time regular  

Archie was sent off for head-butting Dougie Imrie ( a gentleman footballer but not a youth player) and I understand that Lawless indicated that he would not re-sign for the Club .

But apart from that Mr Jacker is spot on.

Right, I'm sorry but can we stop with the wild exaggerations here. There's no way there was anyone in that squad as shite as Darren Brady or Sean Kilgannon. They weren't good enough for the level they were at but worst since the 80s, I doubt that very much.

3 hours ago, jaggyness said:
4 hours ago, IR1970 said:

Right, I'm sorry but can we stop with the wild exaggerations here. There's no way there was anyone in that squad as shite as Darren Brady or Sean Kilgannon. They weren't good enough for the level they were at but worst since the 80s, I doubt that very much.

Mutumbo. Ntambwe..bell...melbourne..

Storer...jefferies...lennox....oware...all pish...tho imo benny rooneys was worse...

Scally on JZ saying Cole and Kakay going back to their clubs after game tomorrow. Both want to stay but ultimately Brentford and QPR will make the decision. No mention of Austin featuring tomorrow. Was asked if club have their January business lined up early. He had a laugh and said “you will need to ask the gaffer that question”

Heard he’s been in a bad way for a while now, so not surprising news.

I wonder how much he really knew about what was going on with this whole takeover & transfer of ownership to fans. Wouldn’t be surprising if it was his representatives (POAs?) pulling all the strings. Will also be interesting to see what the future holds with all of that now; if enough has been signed off for things to go ahead as planned, or if it’s back to the drawing board.