The Partick Thistle thread

Aye it’s a pretty decent deal all in, especially given that Fitzpatrick isn’t a completely integral part of our team in the way Lindsay was.

Hopefully we’ve known this was happening for a while and Caldwell has some options for a replacement in mind.

https://ptfc.co.uk/ptfc-news/aidan-fitzpatrick/

That statement is amateur hour. Just reads like the player's advisors have determined whether he stays or goes, not the club.

Ultimately though, if it's £350k plus add-ons then it's a decent deal for a player who hasn't even played one full season of regular first team football.

Edited by GrahamJags

Strangely worded statement, partly because saying "to be honest" implies you're lying the rest of the time, and partly because it suggests Fitzpatrick and his advisers decided the offer to the club was too good to turn down. 

A very depressing state of affairs re. Fitzpatrick and you can’t blame the club in this instance.

It would have been hard enough for him to break through at Norwich in the Championship, in the EPL it will be virtually impossible. It would probably have been better for his career development if he stayed for another full season or two, like McArthur and McCarthy did with Accies. But he’ll be on a relative fortune at Norwich, so you can’t really blame him.

English clubs picking our best young talent for buttons and leaving them in their academies is soul-destroying. It’s sucking the life out of our game.

1 minute ago, oneteaminglasgow said:

Aye it’s a pretty decent deal all in, especially given that Fitzpatrick isn’t a completely integral part of our team in the way Lindsay was.

Hopefully we’ve known this was happening for a while and Caldwell has some options for a replacement in mind.

Spot on AF had potential he didn’t set the Championship on fire last season in the games that he played so to get £300k (if that’s the figure) right now then we are right to take it.

Those criticising the statement would have preferred a huffy teenager on the books, aye?

The moaners are probably the same people saying the board shouldn't stand in the way of the rumoured takeover.

It's fine to stand aside for them if it's for the 'benefit' of the club, but the same principles shouldn't be applied in this situation?

Our fans are f*cking arseh*les.

1 hour ago, thisal said:

I've been told what normally happens is ex OF player is interviewed for an an hour about his current diddy team then at the end is asked a throwaway question about his time at the old firm. When the article is published it's comprises of his answer to the OF question 

Hi thisal, I appreciate that but it doesn't stop me getting pissed off at the situation. 😉

17 minutes ago, Nizzy said:

Those criticising the statement would have preferred a huffy teenager on the books, aye?

The moaners are probably the same people saying the board shouldn't stand in the way of the rumoured takeover.

It's fine to stand aside for them if it's for the 'benefit' of the club, but the same principles shouldn't be applied in this situation?

This 100%. Some fans need to get a grip it’s irrelevant in a situation like Fitzy’s how you announce it, he or his agent decide it’s too good an offer to turn down and he wants to go, there’s only one way to say that ffs.

19 minutes ago, Nizzy said:

I think the point is that the statement is written as though Fitzpatrick and his agent accepted Norwich’s offer to Thistle, rather than Thistle being the ones who accepted Norwich’s offer. It’s either poorly written or just, well, weird.

I have no issue with us selling him, but that statement is a bit pish given the above. 

Not sure why you’re so angry. 

I think it's pretty obvious from the statement that we were forced to accept the bid due to player/agent power and the fact that no other club had approached us, ergo no 'bidding war'.

1 minute ago, Vinnyjag said:

This 100%. Some fans need to get a grip it’s irrelevant in a situation like Fitzy’s how you announce it, he or his agent decide it’s too good an offer to turn down and he wants to go, there’s only one way to say that ffs.

It’s not Fitzpatrick and his agent that are selling Fitzpatrick. The way the statement is worded it’s as though they decided Norwich’s offer (to the club) was too good to turn down. I’m genuinely not sure why it’s difficult to grasp that that’s a weird state of affairs? 

1 minute ago, Nizzy said:

I think it's pretty obvious from the statement that we were forced to accept the bid due to player/agent power and the fact that no other club had approached us, ergo no 'bidding war'.

I wouldn’t say it’s that obvious at all, even if it is the case. It’s poorly written, and fans calling it so probably don’t deserve your abuse about it. 

Edited by VladimirMooc

2 minutes ago, professor challenger said:

Caldwell has previously stated he didn't spend much of his transfer budget in January, we've got £250k - £400k for Lindsay and now £350k for what is in effect a squad player.

He won't get it all but surely Caldwell must have (in Thistle terms) a reasonable budget to improve the squad

Just got to watch that we don't get stung by other clubs inflating the prices of our targets., knowing that we're flush! 

Dollah Dollah Dollah... 

32 minutes ago, Nizzy said:

No one is suggesting a "huffy teenager". The club didn't need to release a statement on this until the transfer had been completed, or if they felt obliged to in order to keep the fans in the loop, say something along the lines of "the club have accepted a bid from Norwich for Aidan Fitzpatrick which we feel matches the player's valuation. He is now heading down south for a medical and to agree personal terms thereafter". It's not difficult.

Edited by GrahamJags

If anyone reading that statement doesn’t grasp that Fitzpatrick has deemed Norwich’s offer to him (e.g. signing on fee and wages) “too good to turn down” and has therefore forced Thistle’s hand into selling him, then they’re either trying to find something else to have a go at the board about or they’re a moron.

Shame that we’ve not had multiple offers and been able to bid up the deal but if £350k then that’s at least a decent price for someone who is as yet unproven, and it’s happening early in the window which should give GC time to source an adequate replacement. Shame though, would have preferred to see AF continue to develop at Firhill, but fully understand why he would want to leave given the club and money that is likely on offer.