The long slow deterioration of Celtic PLC

• Replies 152

Every non bigot on this message board could look down that squad list and after several 'f**k me.. How much???' exclamations at the Brown, Johansson, Forrest etc disasters immediately get a red pen out and point out where things are going wrong.

Maybe we should run a wee competition in the Record for diddy fans to coach the Celtic first team?

Ranieri is winning the Premiership

Is he, aye? :lol:

Noticed Gokhan Inler there.  Is he injured or just not getting in the team?  He's only played 5 league games this season it seems.

I don't see what the big panic is with Celtic fans, Lawwell has done and continues to do a great job for us. Its the fans lack of perspective that is the problem just now.

The strategy is very clear, buy or develop young players and cheap foreigners in the hope that we can sell on at large profits to the English Premiership gravy boat. He brought in a guy who had proven over 5 years in Norway (a league very much on par with our own) that he could develop young players and win trophies. The guy won that league with a team the equivalent to a Hamilton. It was a gamble worth taking and it failed unfortunately. Id much rather we tried things like that over appointing the usual "Celtic minded" guy.

In the early 2000s Celtic could compete with most teams in England and Europe in the transfer market and in terms of wages. We were miles ahead of the likes of Aberdeen in terms of revenue and attraction to players and expectedly ran over the top of everyone domestically with a team of very good players while performing at a good level in Europe.

Nowadays we cant even compete with top/middle teams in the English championship both financially and in terms of attraction for players. At the same time Aberdeen have been improving their own financial situation and have closed the gap and are now more able to compete with us.

The board cannot take the gamble and spend £30m for the possibility of making the champions league as we have never been or will be a club that will make it every year. It would be mental to go down that road and could very well result in us ending up like our rivals.

Celtic are like a guy (lets call him Tim) who 15 years ago was on £100k a year in a top job while his wee mate Aberdeen (we'll call him Don) earned £15k in a call centre job. While Tim was shopping in Waitrose, living in his 4 bedroom villa, going on 4 holidays a year, Don was shopping in Lidl living in his 2 bedroom council house, getting his two yearly trip to Benidorm. 

Poor Tim lost his job and is now on a paltry £50k a year and has had to downgrade to a 3 bed semi, two holidays a year and shopping in Sainsbury's while Don has been promoted a few times and is now on £25k a year living in a mid terraced 2 bed, going on holiday once a year to somewhere decent and shopping in Asda. Poor Tim cant seem to accept that he is not as big as he used to be and is a bit embarrassed that his mate is catching up.

Celtic still have far more resources than Aberdeen but we are pretty much shopping in the same market nowadays which makes the budget even less powerful than it once was.

I don't see what the big panic is with Celtic fans, Lawwell has done and continues to do a great job for us. Its the fans lack of perspective that is the problem just now.

The strategy is very clear, buy or develop young players and cheap foreigners in the hope that we can sell on at large profits to the English Premiership gravy boat. He brought in a guy who had proven over 5 years in Norway (a league very much on par with our own) that he could develop young players and win trophies. The guy won that league with a team the equivalent to a Hamilton. It was a gamble worth taking and it failed unfortunately. Id much rather we tried things like that over appointing the usual "Celtic minded" guy.

In the early 2000s Celtic could compete with most teams in England and Europe in the transfer market and in terms of wages. We were miles ahead of the likes of Aberdeen in terms of revenue and attraction to players and expectedly ran over the top of everyone domestically with a team of very good players while performing at a good level in Europe.

Nowadays we cant even compete with top/middle teams in the English championship both financially and in terms of attraction for players. At the same time Aberdeen have been improving their own financial situation and have closed the gap and are now more able to compete with us.

The board cannot take the gamble and spend £30m for the possibility of making the champions league as we have never been or will be a club that will make it every year. It would be mental to go down that road and could very well result in us ending up like our rivals.

Celtic are like a guy (lets call him Tim) who 15 years ago was on £100k a year in a top job while his wee mate Aberdeen (we'll call him Don) earned £15k in a call centre job. While Tim was shopping in Waitrose, living in his 4 bedroom villa, going on 4 holidays a year, Don was shopping in Lidl living in his 2 bedroom council house, getting his two yearly trip to Benidorm. 

Poor Tim lost his job and is now on a paltry £50k a year and has had to downgrade to a 3 bed semi, two holidays a year and shopping in Sainsbury's while Don has been promoted a few times and is now on £25k a year living in a mid terraced 2 bed, going on holiday once a year to somewhere decent and shopping in Asda. Poor Tim cant seem to accept that he is not as big as he used to be and is a bit embarrassed that his mate is catching up.

Celtic still have far more resources than Aberdeen but we are pretty much shopping in the same market nowadays which makes the budget even less powerful than it once was.

That's actually a fair assessment.

Where has Carlton Cole disappeard to?

Was consistently late for training then was allowed time off for personal reasons. Hes on a pay as you play deal but was still a total waste of time and money.

I saw him playing in Mark nobles testimonial last month and amongst players who had retired years ago he still looked off the pace.

Was consistently late for training then was allowed time off for personal reasons. Hes on a pay as you play deal but was still a total waste of time and money.

I saw him playing in Mark nobles testimonial last month and amongst players who had retired years ago he still looked off the pace.

You think he'll be gone in the summer?