General Politics Thread

Granny Danger

6 hours ago, williemillersmoustache said:

Is this where you do a good job of refuting an argument I haven't made then slap yourself on the back for refuting it. How familiar. 

Nobody claimed that you made an argument, just that you posted shite - 

stayed silent until Labour were finally turfed out of the GCC then suddenly decided to take action

4 minutes ago, Day of the Lords said:

The poundshop Ad Lib strikes again emoji23.png

Here comes the calvary.  

3 hours ago, DeeTillEhDeh said:

It's naivety to think there aren't political motivations behind some union action.

Funnily enough the GMB also rejected the nurses pay offer in the run up to the Scottish elections.

The GMB's National Officer Public Services Section is Karen Leonard, wife of the ex-SLab leader. Maybe just a coincidence but I was involved in Labour politics long enough to know that is unlikely to be the case.

The workers voted to reject it and voted to strike ffs. It's not legally easy to go on strike or done lightly. 

I'm a GMB member and they are shite politically but that has nothing to do with this dispute. If anyone sees low paid workers voting for strike action and their first reaction is to moan about something that happened during the referendum 7 fucking years ago then they are a prize twat.

It's naivety to think there aren't political motivations behind some union action.

Funnily enough the GMB also rejected the nurses pay offer in the run up to the Scottish elections.

The GMB's National Officer Public Services Section is Karen Leonard, wife of the ex-SLab leader. Maybe just a coincidence but I was involved in Labour politics long enough to know that is unlikely to be the case.

The workers voted to reject it and voted to strike ffs. It's not legally easy to go on strike or done lightly. 
I'm a GMB member and they are shite politically but that has nothing to do with this dispute. If anyone sees low paid workers voting for strike action and their first reaction is to moan about something that happened during the referendum 7 fucking years ago then they are a prize twat.

Karen Leonard clearly a Bene Gesserit using the Voice on the dumb proles

Just as the usually vocal COSLA who demanded more funding for local authorities preceding 1997 were then fairly quiet during the time Labour were in power in Scotland despite not getting the funding they had previously demanded.

I've noticed a new approach being adopted by politicians when they're asked about colleagues' behaviour. Now instead of expressing disapproval, the new mantra appears to be along the lines of 'I haven't seen all the details of the case, but in any event it' s not for me to say and it's up to the constituents... '

18 minutes ago, williemillersmoustache said:

There are no socialists in the house of lords but the GMB does have a working group of actual ermine-clad Barons in there. 

The fucking scabs. Boo, something something Thatcher. 

That’s the weakest defence of scabbing that I’ve ever seen.

Low paid public service workers should be paid more.

The fact that a hypocritical Scottish Labour Party with close to zero credibility supports them is neither here nor there really.

The unionist in Trade Unionist doesn't necessarily mean what you think it means.

17 hours ago, G51 said:

It's incredible the number of SNP members/voters who, as soon as striking shows up any kind of SNP administration, reveal themselves to be complete and utter scabs.

It's quite incredible to me the number of people - of all persuasions - who, when people like fast food workers or care staff (minimum-wage, piss-poor t&cs) (1), or nurses, teachers or other public servants (vocational employees definitely not in it to become rich)(2) take IA, fail to ask the obvious questions:

1. How bad do things have to be that these people are willing to drop below their already subsistence income in order to protest? and

2. If these people are willing to withdraw their labour from providing a service they obviously care about, should we not at least listen to their reasons why?

The number of times the vox pops at the closed school gates consist of "Ah've hud tae take a day off work to look after him 'cos this lot wullnae dae their job" is more than petty, and anyone expressing such shite deserves nothing more than a long spell of unemployment followed by a debilitating condition resulting in their relying on the rump of the NHS, which would have been far healthier had they voted for a Party which would protect it, rather than banging a load of fucking pans on a fucking Thursday.

Oh, and by the way, I've lost friends who are Labour, Green and FibDem voters, because they've crossed picket lines. An absolutely disgraceful act for which there is no justification.(I've no friends who are tories.)

1 hour ago, NotThePars said:

Love the guys who give it the big yin about being anti-Tory/ hating Thatcher then take a big breath and start calling striking workers political pawns of shadowy union barons.

Not seeing that sentiment on here, tbh. Or anywhere outside the RW press, in all fairness. A TU's NEC exists to serve it's members' interests and to obey motions agreed at Conference. If they're not doing so, the membership can remove them - as my Union has done regularly. Any members content to sit and whine about their representatives' actions being against the membership's interests have only themselves to blame - the majority of internal elections have embarrassingly low turnouts.

Union membership is more than a wee D/D and a pin badge.

1 hour ago, WhiteRoseKillie said:

Not seeing that sentiment on here, tbh. Or anywhere outside the RW press, in all fairness. A TU's NEC exists to serve it's members' interests and to obey motions agreed at Conference. If they're not doing so, the membership can remove them - as my Union has done regularly. Any members content to sit and whine about their representatives' actions being against the membership's interests have only themselves to blame - the majority of internal elections have embarrassingly low turnouts.

Union membership is more than a wee D/D and a pin badge.

How can an average punter in the GMB organise for elections of 600,000 workers in many different industries and wage brackets spread across the UK? Even if they try and are good at it they are up against people who are doing it as a full time job and have shitloads of data. 

Union mergers have been a disaster. 

It's quite incredible to me the number of people - of all persuasions - who, when people like fast food workers or care staff (minimum-wage, piss-poor t&cs) (1), or nurses, teachers or other public servants (vocational employees definitely not in it to become rich)(2) take IA, fail to ask the obvious questions:
1. How bad do things have to be that these people are willing to drop below their already subsistence income in order to protest?

I realise I'm nit picking what was otherwise a worthy post, but the starting salary for teachers and nurses is well above subsistence income.

On 10/11/2021 at 20:35, DiegoDiego said:

I realise I'm nit picking what was otherwise a worthy post, but the starting salary for teachers and nurses is well above subsistence income.

Not nit-picking, but the duties and reponsibilities involved in these professions should be reflected in a pay-packet which doesn't raise the possibility of food-bank use for the employee.

During the pandemic, we had a chance to acknowledge that, while we could actually do without quite a few high-profile (and high-income) professions, those in "low-skilled" jobs were actually vital for society. You only have to look at that bin-fire of a Covid thread to see that this chance has been missed. The horrible descent of this country into "I'm all right Jack" continues apace. Personally, if I'm ever in hospital, I'd like to think the nurse caring for me is concentrating on the job in hand, rather than worrying whether she can afford new school kit for her kids. Would that mean she's paid more than me? Quite possibly, but that's fair enough - no need (or reason) for me to be jealous.

I'm too young to know if it was ever any different, but the general attitude towards strike action is definitely, "it's completely unacceptable if it affects me in any way".

Just like the general consensus appears to be that, if someone discovers that workers in a unionised business have better pay/shorter working hours/longer tea breaks/more annual leave, the answer is, "I don't get any of that, they should have it taken off them".