Scotrail

ScottR96

2 minutes ago, The Moonster said:

Well it was the government who ended it, was it not? 

It was.  They exercised a break clause in the contract.

Dominic Booth, managing director of Abellio UK, said the decision would create "unnecessary uncertainty" for its passengers and staff.

He said: "We are hugely disappointed by this decision and believe it's the wrong choice for Scotland's railway and its customers.

"Abellio has invested more than £475m in new and upgraded trains, added 23% more seats for customers and created more than 500 extra jobs in Scotland since the start of the franchise in 2015 - the biggest investment in trains and stations in over 150 years.

"Our offer to Transport Scotland would have delivered an improved service for our customers at a reduced cost to the taxpayer.

"We will remain fully committed to running a safe and reliable service until the end of the contract in 2022."

Of course he could be waffling pish and they were delighted to get shot.

42 minutes ago, The Moonster said:

Well it was the government who ended it, was it not? 

They used a break clause to end it but really it was over in 2020 when the EMA contracts came in during Covid. Can't imagine why the dutch wanted this to continue. 

https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/dutch-taxpayers-subsidise-scotrail-as-losses-continue-27wxwp5ql

The levels of general ignorance amongst people is staggering.
Truly staggering.

It's how business works.
They buy a franchise and it takes years to turn it profitable.
Like any other business, they take a longer-term view.

The irony between these two posts btw.

For a minute I honesty thought that for once you were going to show some intelligence and argue a coherent point.
It's pointless. I'll never match the intellect of a master businessman who retired at 50 like yourself.

Yeah I know f**k all about business and specifically how franchises work eh? [emoji1787]
Makes me wonder how on earth I managed to retire at 50.
Plenty public sector workers would be horrified to have to work beyond 50.
My old man retired at 49 with cooncil upping his service from 27 years to full 40 (wanted rid after regions disappeared)
Canny old fucker has now been creaming half wages for 27 years since 1995, with no prospect of my inheritance any time soon.
No wonder pension funds are fuckked.

1 hour ago, superbigal said:

My old man retired at 49 with cooncil upping his service from 27 years to full 40 (wanted rid after regions disappeared)
Canny old fucker has now been creaming half wages for 27 years since 1995, with no prospect of my inheritance any time soon.

There’s your tax money at work.

3 hours ago, superbigal said:

What century are you on about?

Coppers, maybe,  but the vast majority will have our noses to the grindstone until 60 odd.

4 hours ago, oaksoft said:

For a minute I honesty thought that for once you were going to show some intelligence and argue a coherent point.

With the greatest of respect, all you have done on this forum is to chirp on about how important it is to look after number one in life. 

Just recently this has changed to criticising those in Trade Unions seeking to get a better deal for themselves. 

That and posting fantasy sexist stuff strongly related to the objectification of women. I think you need to have a wee break from this forum pal. 

Edited by Cosmic Joe

23 minutes ago, oaksoft said:

It's my own fault for trying to help you out. 😆

Twice.

Once when you couldn't fathom out how 0.8% of £50k equated to £33 per month.

And the second when you couldn't get your head around why a company would want to continue running because it had reported a loss for a few years on a rail franchise.

In both cases I should just have left you to your ignorance you ungrateful b*****d,. 🤣

To have made this mistake of helping you out twice is entirely on me. Bad oaky, bad oaky. I'm going to punish myself by having no sugar in my coffee for 3 days. Hopefully that'll teach me a lesson. 😃

Shut up, he doesn't  need to count. He just sits in the cab when the train is already facing the right way. Then every time he presses the big button £100.00 goes in to his bank.

It's my own fault for trying to help you out. [emoji38]
Twice.
And the second when you couldn't get your head around why a company would want to continue running because it had reported a loss for a few years on a rail franchise.
In both cases I should just have left you to your ignorance you ungrateful b*****d,. [emoji1787]
To have made this mistake of helping you out twice is entirely on me. Bad oaky, bad oaky. I'm going to punish myself by having no sugar in my coffee for 3 days. Hopefully that'll teach me a lesson. [emoji2]

U ok hunn? X

1 hour ago, oaksoft said:

It's my own fault for trying to help you out. 😆

Twice.

In both cases I should just have left you to your ignorance you ungrateful b*****d,. 🤣

To have made this mistake of helping you out twice is entirely on me. Bad oaky, bad oaky. I'm going to punish myself by having no sugar in my coffee for 3 days. Hopefully that'll teach me a lesson. 😃

And no wonder the public sector costs so much to run each year. 😲
This sort of thing will be part of the reason why taxes are so high I suppose.

Good luck to him though. It's hardly his fault if they're going to throw money at him. Hope he continues to enjoy his retirement.

My problem is with well-paid people holding the country to ransom to get money at the expense of the poorest in society who will now have to pay for their largesse through increased fares and reduced public services.

I'd ask myself how it is humanly possible for you to misunderstand where I'm coming from after dozens of pages of posts on the subject but I already know the answer - you're as daft as QOS-thingy.

The women who pay me for this stuff would beg to strongly disagree.

Take it up with them if you have a problem with it. 🤣

Slow day today on the porn scripts auld yin?

18 hours ago, superbigal said:

Sounds similar to my faither. He's been drawing a full pension for longer than he worked. And if he goes before my mum she'll continue to be paid it.

To be fair he was gutted when the cooncil laid him off, but it's worked out well for them in the long run.

Edited by Lurkst

1 hour ago, Lurkst said:

Sounds similar to my faither. He's been drawing a full pension for longer than he worked. And if he goes before my mum she'll continue to be paid it.

To be fair he was gutted when the cooncil laid him off, but it's worked out well for them in the long run.

I think by now all the people on final salary schemes who could retire at 50 - 55 will already have done so. There can't be many left still working who have that to look forward to as pretty much all employers have either scrapped them for new starts and / or upped the minimum age for entitlement. 

You're right about some of the golden generation who will get wage like pensions for longer than they were working.  jammy b*****ds! 

I think by now all the people on final salary schemes who could retire at 50 - 55 will already have done so. There can't be many left still working who have that to look forward to as pretty much all employers have either scrapped them for new starts and / or upped the minimum age for entitlement. 
You're right about some of the golden generation who will get wage like pensions for longer than they were working.  jammy b*****ds! 
The final salary scheme for Scottish local govt workers ended in April 14. No one can retire before 55 and even then there is a huge hit to your pension. Rule of 85 will still apply to some old timers still working but that doesn't give protection from actuarial reduction until 60 assuming you meet the criteria. There have been very few enhanced early packages in the last 10 years or so, virtually a thing of the past.

The shared cost AVC scheme is the biggie nowadays. Most 55-60 retirees have pumped large lumps of their salaries into that scheme which is an excellent way to save for retirement given it's free from tax and NI plus as a salary "sacrifice " it doesn't affect your final pension calculation which is currently based on average career salary since the final salary scheme ended.