Minimum Unit Alcohol Price Illegal, says European Court of Justice

ICTChris

5 hours ago, Scary Bear said:

Education is only ever part of the answer. You only have to look around you to see that education isn't embraced by some people.

'Education' is the lazy retort from people opposing some other action, such as this legislation. Why can't it be both?

Eh, no. "Increase the price", "outlaw it", "make it more difficult to get a hold of" are the typical lazy retorts from certain parts of society whenever faced with a problem. They propose this because it requires very little effort - completely overlooking the fact that it's punishing those who do no wrong when targeting the source of the issue would actually be a far more worthwhile policy.

• Replies 230
Eh, no. "Increase the price", "outlaw it", "make it more difficult to get a hold of" are the typical lazy retorts from certain parts of society whenever faced with a problem. They propose this because it requires very little effort - completely overlooking the fact that it's punishing those who do no wrong when targeting the source of the issue would actually be a far more worthwhile policy.

What do you mean by "targeting the source"?
Genuinely interested.

Mon then, let's hear your plan for 'targeting the source of the issue.'

1 hour ago, DI Bruce Robertson said:

What do you mean by "targeting the source"?
Genuinely interested.

22 minutes ago, Scary Bear said:

Mon then, let's hear your plan for 'targeting the source of the issue.'

Take a look at what actually causes people to turn to binge drinking, why some people end up sat at home drinking their lives away, why some people think that drink is the solution to all of lives problems, why some start drinking so excessively at such a young age. The main cause behind all this sure as hell isn't the price - it's a combination of mental health issues, people growing up in such bleak surroundings that drinking is the only pass time, people not caring about doing themselves harm, peer pressure, the list goes on. Making it a bit more expensive to get a hold of isn't going to fix all that.

One of the bigger groups of people identified as being at risk from binge or overdrinking is actually those who'll settle down with a bottle of wine after work at night, unwinding and not really noticing when they have drunk a whole bottle or two.

3 hours ago, Jambomo said:

One of the bigger groups of people identified as being at risk from binge or overdrinking is actually those who'll settle down with a bottle of wine after work at night, unwinding and not really noticing when they have drunk a whole bottle or two.

That's me that is.

Except it's beer then wine with the meal and possibly a wee dram (house measures) as a nightcap. 14 units in one night.

But don't tell my doctor. Even when I lie about the units I consume she still gives me a lecture about it.

Therein lies the problem as well because minimum pricing would not affect my drinking habits. It is so ingrained in my life.

Even watching my mother die of alcohol induced liver disease didn't stop me drinking. If the sight of your mother puking up blood and dying in front of you because she was an alcoholic isn't enough to stop you drinking, then minimum pricing certainly wont.

3 to 4 nights a week we have a bottle of wine with our meal and then I hit the beer and spirits.  Minimum pricing will not stop this - it is my choice to consume alcohol and I will not be dictated to by the state. I know the risks and what the booze is doing to me but that is my choice.  I would argue that I am drinking decentquality alcohol for enjoyment and not cheap crap for maximum effect. 

3 hours ago, Hard Graft said:

3 to 4 nights a week we have a bottle of wine with our meal and then I hit the beer and spirits.  Minimum pricing will not stop this - it is my choice to consume alcohol and I will not be dictated to by the state. I know the risks and what the booze is doing to me but that is my choice.  I would argue that I am drinking decentquality alcohol for enjoyment and not cheap crap for maximum effect. 

You know that minimum pricing was never designed to affect that, right?

44 minutes ago, Gordon EF said:

You know that minimum pricing was never designed to affect that, right?

Yes but I doubt it will have a great deal of effect on the targetted ones  - as stated by others they will forego other things to maintain their drinking habit.

4 hours ago, Hard Graft said:

stugeon and the snp and the socialists mindset is jist dae wit yer telt. They think the money spent in the NHS is their money to be spent on bribing the electorate, but I think this one will backfire on them. Who knows they might order people who drink in their own homes to go outside to have a drink :) so as not to encourage the NP brain washed weans from having a swally hic...

7 minutes ago, hehawhehaw said:

stugeon and the snp and the socialists mindset is jist dae wit yer telt. They think the money spent in the NHS is their money to be spent on bribing the electorate, but I think this one will backfire on them. Who knows they might order people who drink in their own homes to go outside to have a drink :) so as not to encourage the NP brain washed weans from having a swally hic...

^^^Word cocktail.

18 minutes ago, hehawhehaw said:

Would that be the Scottish NHS that performs best in the UK? :whistle

Aye, that'll be the NHS that was founded in the UK. Make;s you proud to be British:thumsup2

That'll be the NHS in Scotland that's always been separate from the NHS in England?

Remember this isn't just an SNP policy, this has backing from various royal colleges, professional bodies and experts. Will it work? Studies elsewhere suggest it should, but we won't know until we try it. If it's unsuccessful, then something else can be tried.

1 hour ago, Cyclizine said:

That'll be the NHS in Scotland that's always been separate from the NHS in England?

Remember this isn't just an SNP policy, this has backing from various royal colleges, professional bodies and experts. Will it work? Studies elsewhere suggest it should, but we won't know until we try it. If it's unsuccessful, then something else can be tried.

Aye is that right zzzzz.....