Podcasts

Ludo*1

thats yer neddy episode 4 oot! 

In this episode we talk about the links between japanese pornography and zero wing also we dissect the enigma himself - lara croft's butler 

available now at Anchor and on every other good podcast platform

13 minutes ago, Dee Man said:

Slightly disappointed Jim McIntyre didn't get a mention on the latest Athletico Mince podcast for his perfectly executed destroy and exit. 

That section was an utter delight this week. As was the Homes Under The Hammer thing.

In other news, James Acaster is on Adam Buxton's podcast this week. Acaster isn't someone I thought I particularly liked, although I loved his Classic Scrapes book. Maybe I just don't like his face, because he was good the couple of times I'd heard him on RHLSTP and he's good again here.

That section was an utter delight this week. As was the Homes Under The Hammer thing.

"It's different.... but I like it!". I loved Sean Dyche's collection of antique machinery and motivational slogans like "If you haven't spewed up, you haven't turned up". Destroy and Exit was ace as well. Class.

Full Disclosure with James O'Brien is worth a listen. Guests this season have included Tony Blair, Ian Hislop, Steve Coogan and Pru Leith. He seems to be able to get through a fair amount in an hour - serious interviews but always in good humour. He's basically the hammer of the gammony, Brexity London cabbie types on his LBC show. 

Flew through “Caliphate”, by a New York times journalist. About isis and interviews someone who joined them and returned to Canada plus more general points on the group. Really enjoyed it and learnt a lot about just how organised ISIS appeared to be and how barbaric

On 5/2/2019 at 05:08, MSU said:

I got a Zoom H6 coz I had $400 burning a hole in my overdraft and I don’t regret that expense at all. It’s an amazing bit of kit. I would’ve liked to have bought Shure SM58 mics but we ended up going with something more cheap and cheerful and to be honest, I’m pretty happy with the results. We have a Behringer 12 track board that cost $80 and allows me to do mix minus for guests on Skype, and a cheap headphone preamp. I think the step up in quality is noticeable as my co-host tends to be louder than me and I now have two places where I can control that. In the mix and on the Zoom. I fucking love this. It doesn’t matter if anyone listens to it, I just love making podcasts. 

Fun fact, I do a Spongebob podcast with my step-daughter and last week it was the #1 downloaded TV & Film podcast in the Cayman Islands. It’s an odd wee life. 

What's it called?

We went to see the Broadway show last summer and it was absolutely brilliant - the soundtrack is probably my most listened to album on Spotify (it gets both kids in the bath and singing along)!!

On 14/05/2019 at 09:18, Ylf said:

cass pennant podcasts are good.

Can't agree at all, mate. Just seems like the old p***k in the pub who wants to constantly go on about his "glory days". 

He's a black George Kerr, essentially. 

Charlotte Gainsbourg on the latest Adam Buxton. She has the foxiest voice I've ever heard. You could tell he was desperate to get to his question about her with the two big lads with erections in Nymphomaniac and tried so hard to play it cool until then. 

6 minutes ago, Shandon Par said:

Charlotte Gainsbourg on the latest Adam Buxton. She has the foxiest voice I've ever heard. You could tell he was desperate to get to his question about her with the two big lads with erections in Nymphomaniac and tried so hard to play it cool until then. 

Lol — I thought he did a great job. When he mentioned all the saucy stuff in the preamble, I wondered if he’d bring it up in the interview. 

Most of the podcasts I listen to have already been mentioned.

Just looking through mine just now, one of the individual episodes that sticks out is the Chen Guangcheng episode in the now defunct 'In Their Own Words' Amnesty podcast. I haven't listened to it since but thought it was mental when I first listened. Basically, he's a blind lawyer and activist who escaped house arrest in China.

https://m.soundcloud.com/amnestyfactual/in-their-own-words-chen-guangcheng-and-christian-bale

I love RadioLab. I've mainly been listening to their back catalogue. Hoping their newer stuff is as good. Not sure of all the episode names but the episodes about morals, Vietnam, Adoptive Couple v. Baby Girl, 23 Weeks 6 Days (abortion/child illness), Eye in the Sky (privacy/surveillance), Hurricane Katrina, and the political one where the old guy they were interviewing said he was going to murder someone are the best I can think of just now. Most are really good tbh.

Beyond the Grid for F1 interviews. This Football Life for football interviews.

I'm keeping an eye on the new Training Ground Guru podcast. They interview coaches/others involved in football management.

For comedy, The Bugle's back catalogue with Andy & Jon is still my go to.

I'm looking for a podcast on climate change/the environment if anyone has any recommendations.

For comedy, The Bugle's back catalogue with Andy & Jon is still my go to.

Same with me. There’s an old Bugle episode from a few years back where Andy started impersonating a vicar singing football-style chants at a funeral which is absolutely superb.

The new Bugle is unfortunately a bit hit and miss. The Tiff Stevenson ‘Scottish boyfriend’ bit when she’s a guest is always a particular low point.

Same with me. There’s an old Bugle episode from a few years back where Andy started impersonating a vicar singing football-style chants at a funeral which is absolutely superb.

The new Bugle is unfortunately a bit hit and miss. The Tiff Stevenson ‘Scottish boyfriend’ bit when she’s a guest is always a particular low point.

I don't even listen any more. It's just not the same.

I had hopes they would start doing it as a pair again but it seems John's success in the US isn't going to end any time soon.

Dynamite Neddy Episode 5: Oot Noo!

Mick Lives-a-Live, McCormick becomes King of the Monsters and Andy goes on a Rocket Knight Adventure. We also discuss translating Final Fantasy VI to Scots, young team RPGs and outlandish Brexit scenarios.

Itunes: https://podcasts.apple.com/…/p…/dynamite-neddy/id1458286217…

Anchor: https://anchor.fm/dynamite-neddy

Podbean: http://dynneddy.podbean.com/

Spotify : https://open.spotify.com/show/1UQ9KCUjKffltmeizkO5FT

Want to hing aboot ? Get us on :  http://www.facebook.com/DynamiteNeddy 

PREVIEW: 

neddyep5.mp4

Edited by greenockraver

I really enjoy Mike Duncan's history podcasts - A History of Rome and Revolutions (https://www.revolutionspodcast.com/). I like the way he takes a historical topic and takes you from its start to end. Is there a podcast about Scottish history that does a similar thing? I've looked couldn't find one.

I always enjoy when he picks one specific figure in each revolution to gush over. Stopped listening for a while but I’ll probably pick it up to hear his take on the big one (1917).