Podcasts

Ludo*1

On 4/13/2019 at 06:45, Shandon Par said:

The Last Days of August, the follow up to Jon Ronson’s Butterfly Effect is now out/free on iTunes. 

Robbie Collin is on this week’s Kermode and Mayo and describes the new Peppa Pig movie as the most searing indictment of the English middle classes since Mike Leigh’s early tv work.

If you like sports podcasts, Pound for Pound is a decent listen. Max from Eastenders (Jake Wood) and retired pro Spencer Oliver have good blokey chemist and have really decent interviews each week. It can be daft - they had a deep discussion on who would win between a prime Mike Tyson and a prime gorilla - but  also get interviewees to really open up.

Robbie and Edith are on again this week, and are excellent as usual. Robbie's reviews just seem more honest than Kermode, who often seems to have made his mind up before he sees the film and goes out of his way not to change his mind regardless of the quality of the film. The way he says "and" as an elongated version of "end" really gets on my tits as well.

On 19/04/2019 at 20:47, Mark Connolly said:

Robbie and Edith are on again this week, and are excellent as usual. Robbie's reviews just seem more honest than Kermode, who often seems to have made his mind up before he sees the film and goes out of his way not to change his mind regardless of the quality of the film. The way he says "and" as an elongated version of "end" really gets on my tits as well.

Robbie’s revelation that he adds aubergine to his mince was a bit troubling.

On 4/20/2019 at 02:12, MSU said:

David Mitchell on the Adam Buxton podcast this week. Belter. 

The Adam Buxton podcast, in general, is just lovely. I quite like going back and listening to the old ones - Bob Mortimer being a particular favourite.

On 19/04/2019 at 20:12, MSU said:

David Mitchell on the Adam Buxton podcast this week. Belter. 

Some really funny stuff between them. Loved all the speed awareness course stuff. You get a real insight into Buxton’s angry wee man syndrome despite the calm hipstery exterior. He can occasionally veer close to being a bit earnest and right on but the human moments of him telling tales of losing his cool and looking like a dick makes me really warm to him.

podcast_background.png&key=48becbbdd964a

Thats yer 'Neddy on episode 3 !

Time disnae' half fly when your havin fun!

On this week's show...

The Lost Levels
McCormick talks third tier platformers with SuperFrog, Andy Mac traverses the planes of Guardian Heroes, Mick breeds some Dragon Warrior Monsters and absolutely DOES NOT mention Golden Axe ever again.

Get in about it the noo !

Itunes: https://podcasts.apple.com/…/p…/dynamite-neddy/id1458286217…

Anchor: https://anchor.fm/dynamite-neddy

Podbean: http://dynneddy.podbean.com/

Spotify : https://open.spotify.com/show/1UQ9KCUjKffltmeizkO5FT

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DynamiteNeddy/

-Yer Auld Da'

Edited by greenockraver

2 hours ago, greenockraver said:

podcast_background.png&key=48becbbdd964a

Thats yer 'Neddy on episode 3 !

Time disnae' half fly when your havin fun!

On this week's show...

The Lost Levels
McCormick talks third tier platformers with SuperFrog, Andy Mac traverses the planes of Guardian Heroes, Mick breeds some Dragon Warrior Monsters and absolutely DOES NOT mention Golden Axe ever again.

Get in about it the noo !

Itunes: https://podcasts.apple.com/…/p…/dynamite-neddy/id1458286217…

Anchor: https://anchor.fm/dynamite-neddy

Podbean: http://dynneddy.podbean.com/

Spotify : https://open.spotify.com/show/1UQ9KCUjKffltmeizkO5FT

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DynamiteNeddy/

-Yer Auld Da'

As a fellow indie podcaster, I thought your content is pretty good and made me chuckle. Plus it’s nice to hear other Scottish accents on podcasts. What’s your setup? If you’re interested at all in my notes, if your run your audio through an equalizer and boost the bass and mids it’ll stop sounding like you’re in the bathroom, and if you compress it, it’ll level out the hosts volume levels. Good luck with it, sers!

5 minutes ago, MSU said:

As a fellow indie podcaster, I thought your content is pretty good and made me chuckle. Plus it’s nice to hear other Scottish accents on podcasts. What’s your setup? If you’re interested at all in my notes, if your run your audio through an equalizer and boost the bass and mids it’ll stop sounding like you’re in the bathroom, and if you compress it, it’ll level out the hosts volume levels. Good luck with it, sers!

Cheers mate! I will send that on to McCormick, who is the producer/tech guy. 

Our setup is literally go oot for dinner somewhere in Glasgow, pint then go either one of our houses and record using a laptop and some sort of microphone.I would have to consult re: model etc.

Thanks for the lovely feedback.

Edited by greenockraver

12 minutes ago, greenockraver said:

Our setup is literally go oot for dinner somewhere in Glasgow, pint then go either one of our houses and record using a laptop and some sort of microphone.I would have to consult re: model etc.

Thanks for the lovely feedback.

Nice one. It’s worth investing in a decent mic. I started with a Blue Yeti which would probably work quite well with your three host set up. We recently upgraded to individual mics and a mix board and a digital recorder. It’s the sort of thing you can really go to town on. 

I’m totally in my early 20s now listening to you guys talk about Team 17 and Chuppa Chups. 

40 minutes ago, MSU said:

Nice one. It’s worth investing in a decent mic. I started with a Blue Yeti which would probably work quite well with your three host set up. We recently upgraded to individual mics and a mix board and a digital recorder. It’s the sort of thing you can really go to town on. 

I’m totally in my early 20s now listening to you guys talk about Team 17 and Chuppa Chups. 

Apparently from ep 5 (we record weeks in advance) - we have a proper mic. 

Team 17 and chuppa chups.... that has to be superfrog for the amiga haha

edit: on further thinking... its zool for the mega drive! 

Edited by greenockraver

Casefile podcast is really good. Anyone who is interested in True crime stuff should listen. 

Katherine Knight and Snowtown are good starting points.... 

On 30/04/2019 at 12:07, greenockraver said:

Thanks for the lovely feedback

On 30/04/2019 at 12:23, MSU said:

On 30/04/2019 at 13:04, greenockraver said:

Apparently from ep 5 (we record weeks in advance) - we have a proper mic. 

Team 17 and chuppa chups.... that has to be superfrog for the amiga haha

edit: on further thinking... its zool for the mega drive! 

We've been using a blue snowball since starting. I went and bought a zoom h1n audio recorder to do stuff out and about but we've been so impressed by the quality on it that we've gone to that as default.

The next aim is to get individual mics and a mixer to name interview episodes better quality.

36 minutes ago, die hard doonhamer said:

We've been using a blue snowball since starting. I went and bought a zoom h1n audio recorder to do stuff out and about but we've been so impressed by the quality on it that we've gone to that as default.

The next aim is to get individual mics and a mixer to name interview episodes better quality.

I got a Zoom H6 coz I had $400 burning a hole in my overdraft and I don’t regret that expense at all. It’s an amazing bit of kit. I would’ve liked to have bought Shure SM58 mics but we ended up going with something more cheap and cheerful and to be honest, I’m pretty happy with the results. We have a Behringer 12 track board that cost $80 and allows me to do mix minus for guests on Skype, and a cheap headphone preamp. I think the step up in quality is noticeable as my co-host tends to be louder than me and I now have two places where I can control that. In the mix and on the Zoom. I fucking love this. It doesn’t matter if anyone listens to it, I just love making podcasts. 

Fun fact, I do a Spongebob podcast with my step-daughter and last week it was the #1 downloaded TV & Film podcast in the Cayman Islands. It’s an odd wee life. 

Edited by MSU

12 hours ago, NorthernLights said:

I really enjoy Mike Duncan's history podcasts - A History of Rome and Revolutions (https://www.revolutionspodcast.com/). I like the way he takes a historical topic and takes you from its start to end. Is there a podcast about Scottish history that does a similar thing? I've looked couldn't find one.

There aren't actually many books that do that, never mind podcasts.  Mackie or Oliver for the overview, Devine for the post-Union stuff and that's about it.  I haven't found anything that treats, say, Medieval Scotland, in the same way as the plethora of 'popular history' books on Medieval Engerland.