gay footballers

Haha mibbes aye mibbes naw. Just being honest mate. My sons are teenagers now, they could be gay, wouldn't put me up nor down.

Say one of your sons is gay, and they're struggling with it. Do you not think it would make things harder for them to hear their father shout homophobic slurs at a gay footballer on a Saturday?

• Replies 765

I wouldn't expect a huge rush of footballers to come out as whilst I agree there must be a good couple of players who are deep in the closet, I don't think there will be that much.

Maybe it's a sweeping generalisation, but I know quite a lot of gay people and only 1 of them is into Sports never mind just football. They're more into their amateur dramatics, music and pretty much socialising ie getting pished every weekend :lol:

Maybe this might have something to do with sport being seen as a Hetero sport whereas the likes of acting etc are seen more as feminine.

Certainly won't be a bad thing for footballers especially to come out and get rid of that stigma.

^^^And therein lies the problem.

Say one of your sons is gay, and they're struggling with it. Do you not think it would make things harder for them to hear their father shout homophobic slurs at a gay footballer on a Saturday?

I was more thinking about me playing against opposition to be honest. I'm a bit of a c**t and use any means possible, i've had a few elbows for nipping like a wee girlie, it works when given at the right time though.

If i'm at the football with my sons, i'm not going to go over the top and get lifted am i ? Which is more than likely to happen , remember at St Johnstone games it's two men and his dug, not exactly hard to spot the c**t shouting abuse next to his embarrassed children is it ?

It's a sad indication that, as we are having this debate, there may still be a few homophobes out there and an increased proportion within the football watching public.

I've watched competitive ice dance & pairs figure skating for a number of years and not once heard a homophobic slur.

I actually think the footballing world be pretty supportive of any player to come out. I think we are doing the sport and the supporters a disservice to assume that any openly gay player would take much abuse, if this thread is anything to go by most fans wouldn't have any issues.

I'd agree with this. In society as a whole, attitudes have greatly shifted within the last decade. Despite what some will have you believe, football isn't some sort of horrible backwater that is immune to this.

There are many reasons a gay footballer may not want to come out as gay in public, but surely the media attention it would gather is one of the reasons for it. No footballer really wants his private life plastered all over the front pages, and they probably worry about the press hounding them if they came out as gay. It would inevitably be big news as well, and I doubt they want to be "the gay football player" from the front pages.

It would be very sad if a player felt he couldn't come out as gay for fear of the reaction. I think the reaction would be very much supportive, but i can understand why a player may fear he wouldn't be accepted. Plenty of journalists have accused football of having backwards attitudes towards gays on the basis there aren't many/any gay footballer players, and I think they have painted the sport unfairly.

I'll be absolutely amazed if Joe Hart isn't one of them.

Whoever it is, hopefully it'll be a massive boost to other folk afraid to just be who they are.

My money is on Patrick Bamford.

Hopefully it helps football knock down this "barrier". It'll be pretty naive to think there won't be a few shouts or chants aimed at them, even by fellow pros. Its a shame it is such an issue that there are no openly gay footballers and that this announcement has to happen but I think it can only be a good thing in the long run.