Cowdenbeath v Stranraer

• Replies 149

Don't think we deserved to lose that at all - we were the team that looked likeliest to win and then there is such a soft penalty award. Some encouraging signs second half but we will need a bit of patience as so many new players come in. Good to see Toorie on the bench and a bit of passion about the team

Once we went levelled we had Stranraer on the ropes for a good spell and looked the more likely side to score. I would agree that the penalty looked a soft one.

We were really dissapointing in the first today

The second half we were much improved and deserved to take something if not snatch all three points.

Felt the penalty was soft and didn't really see the sending off incident but some are saying it was a definite red card.

We really have to watch our discipline as that's two players sent of in two weeks.

Not the start we would have liked under Colin Nish but he has been handed a tough start against the likes of Raith and Dunfermline.Today's match against stranraer is never easy when it's an opening league game with both clubs having new managers.

Couldn't believe my ears when there were shouts of abuse to Colin in his first league game at full time very unfair to him.What's worse it is done at a time when the club and fans are making real efforts to collectively rally round for the good of the club and then you get people calling for the managers head in his first league game.

The players have the ability and just have to ensure they cut out sloppy play like we witnessed in the first half.

Bit silly for folk to call for the managers head after 1 league defeat. Colin is in the unfortunate position to have the lowest budget of any Cowden manager for a good few years.

We were unlucky with the cup draws getting a good mid table Championship side who we ran close and a Dunfermline side who look like they are going to give everyone in this league a good doing.

Stranraer seemed to be a team of giants and were hard to breakthrough. As I said in my previous post we looked the more likely side to grab a winner until a very soft penalty.

That was a tough one to take. Felt we were poor in the first half but much improved in the second. The pen was extremely harsh as the ball hit the players hand rather than it being deliberate.

A tough start to the season and we will likely take a pumping next week. Think we have a squad which can compete against most of the teams in the league but Dunfermline will romp to the title.

Like our new strip and bought one for my son today. The shop seemed to be busy which is good to see.

First 20 we were dreadful. Second half we dominated. Poor final ball though or we could have scored a few.

Don't understand why the ref didn't play advantage when Spence was taken out and the ball broke to Buchanan. Could also make a case for a red card there as well. Spence is through on goal if he isn't wiped out. We also had a very goid shout for handball in the box not guven first half.

Scullion at centre-half? No. Would rather him and Kane swapped if neither chopper or Kenny are fit.

Pish result but these things happen. We'll probably win games we don't deserve to at some point this season. We might even pick up a penalty of our own as well.

That was a tough one to take. Felt we were poor in the first half but much improved in the second. The pen was extremely harsh as the ball hit the players hand rather than it being deliberate.

A tough start to the season and we will likely take a pumping next week. Think we have a squad which can compete against most of the teams in the league but Dunfermline will romp to the title.

Like our new strip and bought one for my son today. The shop seemed to be busy which is good to see.

Aye the penalty looked hand to ball rather than hand to ball very soft.

The new strip is smart best one we have had for a good few seasons imo, also like the away one.

First 20 we were dreadful. Second half we dominated. Poor final ball though or we could have scored a few.

Don't understand why the ref didn't play advantage when Spence was taken out and the ball broke to Buchanan. Could also make a case for a red card there as well. Spence is through on goal if he isn't wiped out. We also had a very goid shout for handball in the box not guven first half.

Scullion at centre-half? No. Would rather him and Kane swapped if neither chopper or Kenny are fit.

Pish result but these things happen. We'll probably win games we don't deserve to at some point this season. We might even pick up a penalty of our own as well.

Think there were enough defenders back to rule out a red card. The Stranraer defender probably done the right thing taking one for the team as Spence looked like he would have got well away from him. As you say ref could have played advantage to let Buchanan get a shot in then book the defender after.

Once we went ahead we had Stranraer on the ropes for a good spell and looked the more likely side to score. I would agree that the penalty looked a soft one.

You never were ahead.

Good start in the league for our new manager and revamped team.

Looking forward to home game next weekend.

Soft, soft penalty. Bit of a smash and grab win for Stranraer.

Disappointed with Nish's subs. Taking of Milne for Johnstone? At least Milne has the potential to hit a thunderbolt. Why oh why is he so unathletic though. If Milne had desire and workrate he would be with a bigger club.

Taking probably our best player Buchanan off though was strange. I don't care if he's tired, he was still the most likely.

Some things never change, shit refs !

He just panicked the whole game. Blew too quick for foul on Spence when ball ran thru to buchanan. Penalty a joke, headed against Cowden player hand from two yards, but blew as Stranraer players all appealed also red card given on reaction of opposition rather than what actually happened.

However, we do need to create more clear cut chances when we are ahead. Poor first half then dominated the second.

Nish should stay on the bench and let Buchanan and Spence go up front.

Thought Cowden were a bit unlucky today. Had lots of possession in and around the box but just never got a wee break. Can see players improving with every game. Could really do with another option or two in central defence. MOM for me was Mo at left back. Looks a decent find.

Thought 2nd half we were really good today didn't understand nishs subs he looked absolute blown around 55 minutes. Central midfielde needs new recruits declan Lewis n Chris are not good enough to play with each other. Stranraers best players were the centre half wi long hair and Stirling

MOM was rightly Brett for me cracking free kick.. Like said above abit strange with nishys subs have to keep Buchanan on looked the biggest threat thot nish should have subbed himself early for Armstrong had a no bad game tho.. How the ref gives a penalty for tht is an utter disgraced pathetic refereeing sick of coming on here talking about thm hate talking about refs decision but tht one was just a joke. How he can give tht is laughable standard of refereeing in Scotland is horrible tbh. Never saw tht ref before was horrible sounds like sour grapes but we get f**k all of the salmond last week an this muppet this week.. Can see why Hughes get sent of silly thing to do but frustrated after tht decision never deserved to get beat. Next week will tough if wee looser 4 on the trott a few more faces in needed. P.s scullion is not a centre half far to slow if we are playing him an Kane should be changed round scullion can hit a pass much better in midfield if we have to play him.. Onto next week FTP!!!

Some things never change, shit refs !

He just panicked the whole game. Blew too quick for foul on Spence when ball ran thru to buchanan. Penalty a joke, headed against Cowden player hand from two yards, but blew as Stranraer players all appealed also red card given on reaction of opposition rather than what actually happened.

Red card was because Hughes went over a player's foot with his boot - was a clear red.

Couldn't believe my ears when there were shouts of abuse to Colin in his first league game at full time very unfair to him.What's worse it is done at a time when the club and fans are making real efforts to collectively rally round for the good of the club and then you get people calling for the managers head in his first league game.

The players have the ability and just have to ensure they cut out sloppy play like we witnessed in the first half.

Some people need to get a grip. The best shout of all was "take him off" directed at Lewis Milne after 5mins following a heavy touch. Lewis still seems to be lacking confidence and certainly won't improve if that nonsense starts.

We deserved more from today and at least there seems a bit of fight in the squad.