The Terrible Journalism & Tom English Thread

4 minutes ago, wastecoatwilly said:

The rivalry has changed since 2012 the war was won,sevco are just another city rival like the jags more like a noisy neighbour.
The club you're watching has no bragging rights it's done nothing, it's just a bigger version of Gretna.
There is no decades just one, the problem is you don't relies it yet, this club is the biggest diddy in Scotland.

Okay mate, you’ve convinced me. I now realise. 

48 minutes ago, AJF said:

Respectfully, I think you’re off the mark here. The 10IAR debate has certainly grown traction in recent times (post 2012), but to say it sums up a rivalry that has spanned decades doesn’t seem quite right.

It gives the fans bragging rights, but every rivalry has that (Hearts v Hibs 5-1 for a prime example).

Whether 10IAR happens or not, it won’t really change the way I see the rivalry. 

You're missing the point a bit.

It won't change the way I see the rivalry either, because as with the vast majority of OF 'debates' it is contrived nonsense from Glasgow red tops and the like. And yet our National broadcaster presents it as a 'Scottish football' issue. It is a complete irrelevance. 

3 hours ago, Dons_1988 said:

The 10 IAR debate basically sums up their entire rivalry and mentality of those supporting those clubs.

An entirely meaningless, entirely fabricated subject matter perpetuated by Kenny Macintyre asking the likes of John Hartson to tell us how important it all is.

Some people's first question when football stopped and the world went into lockdown was 'Whit aboot 10 in a row?'.

I sometimes wonder if OF fans are completely oblivious to how thick they appear to the diddies of this world or whether their arrogance genuinely has them believe that we 'just don't understand''.

10iar is just another historical record like the invincible season or winning in Italy for the first time nothing to do with rangers or sevco.
If Celtic get 10  every Celtic fans will want 11 to push the record as far as possible,history will move away from the Lisbon lions.

3 minutes ago, wastecoatwilly said:

10iar is just another historical record like the invincible season or winning in Italy for the first time nothing to do with rangers or sevco.
If Celtic get 10  every Celtic fans will want 11 to push the record as far as possible,history will move away from the Lisbon lions.

What do you think the likelihood is of Celtic winning the Champions League?

16 minutes ago, Golden Gordon said:

Celtic fans see that era as the Lisbon lions and quality street kids,being the first team from these shores to win the European cup will never change.
Beating Stein's 9iar teams will change how Celtic fans see that era.

Edited by wastecoatwilly

18 hours ago, Pull My Strings said:

Only if you're a jakey bawbag.

Nah, only subservient boot lickers pay the TV licence in Scotland.

With just a tiny bit of research you find out they can't actually enforce their illegal subscription in Scotland without your co-operation. 

4 hours ago, wastecoatwilly said:

The rivalry has changed since 2012 the war was won,sevco are just another city rival like the jags more like a noisy neighbour.
The club you're watching has no bragging rights it's done nothing, it's just a bigger version of Gretna.
There is no decades just one, the problem is you don't relies it yet, this club is the biggest diddy in Scotland.

I know you don't believe that. The OF rivalry is the only thing that gives your life meaning.

8 hours ago, Golden Gordon said:

A little more football knowledge and it's in the bag, imho.

7 hours ago, Crawford Bridge said:

With just a tiny bit of research you find out they can't actually enforce their illegal subscription in Scotland without your co-operation. 

Despite BBC Scotland's dismal football output, I'm very happy to pay the licence fee.  It's excellent value for money.

7 hours ago, Crawford Bridge said:

^^^ jakey bawbag.

On 24/05/2020 at 19:13, RandomGuy. said:

Screenshot_20200524-191028_Chrome.thumb.jpg.c424e33c47cea67626cebbc70153a728.jpg

Put on the BBC website 3 hours ago.

Last week it came out that Davidson, Wright and Kane were all in talks, while Craig and Booth were on the verge of agreeing 6 month deals. 

The rest were free to leave.

Callum Hendry? He signed a deal until 2022 4 months ago.

The staggering incompetence continues.

Despite Callum Hendry signing a new deal 6 months ago, the BBC have a new article out today claiming he's left us after his contract expired.

20200717_082616.thumb.jpg.762844dce1b5d9f6aa27066b65223b11.jpg

Its genuinely a bit bizarre how they cant seem to resolve this issue.

1 hour ago, RandomGuy. said:

Despite Callum Hendry signing a new deal 6 months ago, the BBC have a new article out today claiming he's left us after his contract expired.

20200717_082616.thumb.jpg.762844dce1b5d9f6aa27066b65223b11.jpg

Any news on Struthers at all?

Sloppiness, laziness, couldn't give a f*ckness......... and it's not only in their written output, this attitude extends into the studio with their roster of gluepot nag pundits such as Preston, Dodds, Young, English, Cowan, etc...........

Robert Thomson, one of the few journalists at The Sun that is usually trustworthy has had an absolute nightmare with his most recent article on the ongoings at Dens:

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/5822763/dundee-kane-hemmings-reduce-wages-cut/

He states, 'Hemmings has a year left on his deal with the Dark Blues' - Incorrect, he has 2 year left.

He goes on, 'And the shortened 27-game campaign will slash their revenue in half for the campaign ahead.' - A quarter of our league season being removed does not equate to half of our revenue.

Finally, he says, 'But they face an anxious wait to see the outcome of a High Court trial next month before discovering the extent of their payout.' - The FCA has the trial ending on the 30th June.

1 hour ago, Ludo*1 said:

He goes on, 'And the shortened 27-game campaign will slash their revenue in half for the campaign ahead.' - A quarter of our league season being removed does not equate to half of our revenue.

Maybe, but the shortened season, plus the reportedly low ST uptake for Dundee plus the prospect of playing behind closed doors for part of the season does make a forecast of halved revenue plausible. There's also the possibility of Hearts' fantasy island figure of £10 million being removed from next year's SPFL prize pool.

It's even possible that he has been speaking to people ITK in Dundee FC who are thinking that revenue will be halved, but didn't bother to write down the source for an offhand aside in a story about a tangentially related matter.