The Terrible Journalism & Tom English Thread

2 hours ago, Dee Man said:

£29.50 wages per week. More than enough. 

I remember getting slagged rotten by mates that went into better paying, dead end jobs about earning £29.50/week...... foresight guys, foresight.

https://www.andymuirhead.co.uk/blog/keep-fighting-amp-stay-strong-leigh

Pie and Bovril’s favourite blogger has a new site and it doesn’t disappoint. This article on Leigh Griffths is up there with his finest work. Standard of writing barely at Standard Grade level and he rapidly goes off on a tangent, slipping into a Sevco induced headsgone.

Magnificent.

23 minutes ago, Hammer Jag said:

https://www.andymuirhead.co.uk/blog/keep-fighting-amp-stay-strong-leigh

Pie and Bovril’s favourite blogger has a new site and it doesn’t disappoint. This article on Leigh Griffths is up there with his finest work. Standard of writing barely at Standard Grade level and he rapidly goes off on a tangent, slipping into a Sevco induced headsgone.

Magnificent.

The failure's failure.

3 minutes ago, Ranaldo Bairn said:

https://www.andymuirhead.co.uk/blog/7-in-a-row-for-rodgers-as-aberdeen-deflect-from-bottling-another-final

Quite sensational assassination of Aberdeen and their players here. I watched the game and am struggling to recognise his interpretation of it in the slightest.

A full paragraph having digs at Shay Logan as well :rolleyes:

18 minutes ago, Ranaldo Bairn said:

https://www.andymuirhead.co.uk/blog/7-in-a-row-for-rodgers-as-aberdeen-deflect-from-bottling-another-final

Quite sensational assassination of Aberdeen and their players here. I watched the game and am struggling to recognise his interpretation of it in the slightest.

Yep, that’s just how I remember things from that day.

I think this trash def deserves to be put in here, way to big up our game. https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/fans-may-suffer-as-much-as-the-ball-journalists-predictions-for-livingston-v-hearts-1-4843811

but it won’t be pretty on Livi’s pellet-ridden surface.

Is that right aye?

5 hours ago, LIVIFOREVER said:

I am constantly amazed that people think predictions on a game of football are something that it is worth having in the universe.

There are a million things that can happen and a million variables. I find it utterly bizarre that anybody ever makes 'predictions' (they mean guesses) and that anybody reads them.

19 minutes ago, JTS98 said:

I am constantly amazed that people think predictions on a game of football are something that it is worth having in the universe.

There are a million things that can happen and a million variables. I find it utterly bizarre that anybody ever makes 'predictions' (they mean guesses) and that anybody reads them.

The scoreline predictions are actually fine, no probs with them predicting Hearts winning narrowly, it's the constant pish about the plastic pitch and the pellets, moaning faced c***s should be bringing a bit of enthusiasm to our game, not constantly bringing it down with the crap written in there.

Just now, LIVIFOREVER said:

The scoreline predictions are actually fine, no probs with them predicting Hearts winning narrowly, it's the constant pish about the plastic pitch and the pellets, moaning faced c***s should be bringing a bit of enthusiasm to our game, not constantly bringing it down with the crap written in there.

I understand that.

I just think 'predictions' are cheap journalism. I don't care who some diddy thinks will win or what they think the score will be. They're often completely wrong and when they're right it's more through luck than judgement.

One example is Michael Cox, whose work I really enjoy. His tactics work is great and he speaks well about the game. But his predictions are almost always miles off. I don't understand why people make them.