The Terrible Journalism & Tom English Thread

1 hour ago, Swello said:

If anyone has some imaginative ideas, we should probably collect them and send them into the SPFL...

There's no point really. 2012 onwards has shown us the clubs don't want change and are obviously very happy living from bigot pound handouts while playing for an occasional cup semi final or final.

On 09/12/2018 at 18:03, JTS98 said:

To be fair, I actually see runs like that as one of the real strengths of cup football. It's not supposed to be fair and equal and about beating all the best teams. That's what league football is. Cup football just chucks everyone in a hat and every now and then you get a wee team plodding through for their day in the sun.

Better than just having the same teams in the final stages all the time like the Champions League with its seeding.

I'm sure Hearts had a fairly "easy" route to the final that year too.

1 hour ago, Swello said:

this piece entitled "Celtic and Rangers dominance is down to attendances"  - where the writer makes the fairly pedestrian point that (shockingly enough), the OF having support that dwarfs everyone else means that they are pretty much untouchable, is fairly typical but after laying out the normal case that we are all familiar with, he ends with:

I can accept that the level of dominance is down to the massive increase in the financial disparity between the OF and the rest in the last couple of decades - but it does my head in that someone actually thinks that simply by being "creative", that now unassailable advantage can be magiked away. That is as far away from being credible as it's possible to get - and inferring that the blame for this situation somehow lies with a lack of imagination from the other clubs is the icing on the cake...

As a test, let's imagine the reaction in the same press that bemoans the lack of competition if the non-OF clubs proposed a wage cap so that Rangers and Celtic were restricted to spending the same amount as Dundee or Kilmarnock could afford.  Or imagine that it was proposed that the Top 4 at the end of the season had a post-season knockout for the title. Those would probably come under "creative" and would certainly be a partial solution to Rangers and Celtic winning the league every year - but they would be pilloried as pie-in-the-sky nonsense and there would be deluge of outraged headlines and spittle-flecked hot-takes at the very idea (and obviously there would be Statements of the quality that we could only dream of). 

If anyone has some imaginative ideas, we should probably collect them and send them into the SPFL...

They should print money and clone the supporters. Problem solved.

42 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

It would be good to sit down with him, or even just put him on Sportsound and let someone like Tom English do it, and say to him, right break this down for me. In regards to what should the other clubs be "inventive or creative"?

Are we talking players, are we talking boardroom? Are we talking supporter numbers? Gies an example of what it is you are suggesting.... The flanneling would be on the "Scottish fitbaw needs a strong Rainjurz" type of level.

Indeed.

It is very boring that periodically some journalist in Glasgow decides to fart out an article saying "Why don't the diddies at least try and catch up?", particularly after outlining some (but not all) the reasons why that is virtually impossible.

Just now, Dons_1988 said:

Indeed.

It is very boring that periodically some journalist in Glasgow decides to fart out an article saying "Why don't the diddies at least try and catch up?", particularly after outlining some (but not all) the reasons why that is virtually impossible.

The massive irony being that almost every single one of them will be a scummy little Sevco or Celtic fan who never even considered supporting their local team.

47 minutes ago, DA Baracus said:

Kilmarnock

Aberdeen

Partick

Hibs

Cheers. Memory going in my old age! I was sure Hearts had a run to winning the cup in either 98, 06 or 12 where they never met a top tier side.

6 minutes ago, sjc said:

Cheers. Memory going in my old age! I was sure Hearts had a run to winning the cup in either 98, 06 or 12 where they never met a top tier side.

A quick Google yielded the answer. Would have had no idea off the top of my head, save for the semi, which I recall.

1 hour ago, sjc said:

I'm sure Hearts had a fairly "easy" route to the final that year too.

In 2006 we beat three top 6 SPL sides to get to the final. Killie then Aberdeen and Hibs by a combined 7-0.

Could certainly have been easier. 98 was an easy draw. That's fitba. 2012 was a tough run.

1 hour ago, Jacksgranda said:

They should print money and clone the supporters. Problem solved.

Hearts is already on the case, what with finding £2 million under the sofa every year, and with their fanbase apparently having been the result of a live action remake of 'The Boys from Brazil'...

9 hours ago, Swello said:

this piece entitled "Celtic and Rangers dominance is down to attendances"  - where the writer makes the fairly pedestrian point that (shockingly enough), the OF having support that dwarfs everyone else means that they are pretty much untouchable, is fairly typical but after laying out the normal case that we are all familiar with, he ends with:

I can accept that the level of dominance is down to the massive increase in the financial disparity between the OF and the rest in the last couple of decades - but it does my head in that someone actually thinks that simply by being "creative", that now unassailable advantage can be magiked away. That is as far away from being credible as it's possible to get - and inferring that the blame for this situation somehow lies with a lack of imagination from the other clubs is the icing on the cake...

As a test, let's imagine the reaction in the same press that bemoans the lack of competition if the non-OF clubs proposed a wage cap so that Rangers and Celtic were restricted to spending the same amount as Dundee or Kilmarnock could afford.  Or imagine that it was proposed that the Top 4 at the end of the season had a post-season knockout for the title. Those would probably come under "creative" and would certainly be a partial solution to Rangers and Celtic winning the league every year - but they would be pilloried as pie-in-the-sky nonsense and there would be deluge of outraged headlines and spittle-flecked hot-takes at the very idea (and obviously there would be Statements of the quality that we could only dream of). 

Spot on.

Excellent post.

From the D&G News, owned by the Daily Wreckord so that probably explains things

"... Thistle, from Ayrshire, who joined the South League last season and won their first silverware last month, will play Camelon Juniors from the East of Scotland who won the Alex Jack Cup, also in November.

Cameron, managed by former Dumbarton striker Gordon Herd won their way to the play-off after a red-tape mixup between Bo’ness United and Haddington Athletic.

Both sides fell foul of player eligibility rules and were eliminated from the competition leaving Camelon victorious without kicking a ball.

Bonnyton beat Mids in Kilmarnock by 3-1 in the Alba Cup Final to earn their place in the play off.

A big crowd is expected at the match and George said: “We have been busy organising this as we are the hosts and we’ve been informed that 150 supporters are coming down from Fife to support Camelon.

“With the visiting Bonnyton Supporters and the many locals there could be a crowd of between 250 and 300 people at the match which kicks off at 3pm.”

16 hours ago, Eednud said:

From the D&G News, owned by the Daily Wreckord so that probably explains things

"... Thistle, from Ayrshire, who joined the South League last season and won their first silverware last month, will play Camelon Juniors from the East of Scotland who won the Alex Jack Cup, also in November.

Cameron, managed by former Dumbarton striker Gordon Herd won their way to the play-off after a red-tape mixup between Bo’ness United and Haddington Athletic.

Both sides fell foul of player eligibility rules and were eliminated from the competition leaving Camelon victorious without kicking a ball.

Bonnyton beat Mids in Kilmarnock by 3-1 in the Alba Cup Final to earn their place in the play off.

A big crowd is expected at the match and George said: “We have been busy organising this as we are the hosts and we’ve been informed that 150 supporters are coming down from Fife to support Camelon.

“With the visiting Bonnyton Supporters and the many locals there could be a crowd of between 250 and 300 people at the match which kicks off at 3pm.”

There is no such paper as "D&G News". There is the Dumfries & Galloway Standard, which I believe did not run this piece (I am on holiday this week so cannot be 100% certain) , and some papers in another group, at least one of which ran this story. Also, despite using the same website, the Record does not own any papers - they are part of the same group.

This may seem petty but it seemed appropriate given the errors that were being highlighted (and there's no denying the errors). Plus, I'll be honest and admit that when the Standard finally made it into this thread I was disappointed it wasn't one of my stories :lol:

Edited by Stu

7 hours ago, Stu said:

There is no such paper as "D&G News". There is the Dumfries & Galloway Standard, which I believe did not run this piece (I am on holiday this week so cannot be 100% certain) , and some papers in another group, at least one of which ran this story. Also, despite using the same website, the Record does not own any papers - they are part of the same group.

This may seem petty but it seemed appropriate given the errors that were being highlighted (and there's no denying the errors). Plus, I'll be honest and admit that when the Standard finally made it into this thread I was disappointed it wasn't one of my stories :lol:

That's me telt. It was on the www.dgnews-sport.co.uk site so I'll use that as my excuse.