It's just a New Season Hoose Party

Kinky Afro

Make it Snow !

Twas the night before the season, when all through the Hoose

Not a creature was stirring, not even a moose.

The Scarves were hung round the necks with care,

In hopes that the first game soon would be there.

The lads were nestled all snug in their beds,

While visions of SuperLeague danced in their heads.

And Tracy in her ‘kerchief, and Gonk in his cap,

Had just settled their brains for a long summer's nap.

When on Fallas pitch there arose such a clatter,

they sprang from the bed to see what was the matter.

Away to the window they flew like a flash,

Tore open the shutters as Hannah sang the sash.

The moon on the breast of the new-fallen snow

Gave the lustre of mid-summer, (Hoose folk would know!)

When, what to the wondering eyes should appear,

But a dozen dancing buckie bottles and 6 cans of beer.

With swift Jamie Rob, so lively and quick,

We knew in a moment he’d do the trick.

More rapid than eagles his coursers they came,

And he whistled, and shouted, and said “Ah’m gon hame”!

"Now Alan! now, Fallon! And now, Jordan Love,

On, Andy McQuillan! On, Big Andy Murph!

To the top of the League playing silky football,

Now dash away! Dash away! Dash away all!"

As dry leaves that before the wild hurricane fly,

When they hear "mon the Hoose"

as the Buckie Boys cry,

So up to the Hoose-top the coursers they flew,

With Kinky and Duffy, and you Tooty too.

And then, in a twinkling, I heard on the roof

The prancing and pawing of each little hoof.

As I drew in my head, and was turning around,

Oot o the tunnel came FauldHoose abound.

They were dressed all in black, from their heeds tae thur feet,

And waved to the lads like they often would greet,

A bundle of Joy now the season is back,

Saturday fun time for this crazy pack.

Our eyes-how they twinkled! Our dimples how merry!

Our cheeks were like roses, our noses like cherries.

Our droll little mouths were drawn up like a bow,

And we waited with angst to find out how we'd go.

The noise was increasing and I gritted my teeth,

And the smoke it encircled my head like a wreath.

The Ref had a broad face and a little round belly,

That shook when he laughed, like a bowlful of jelly!

He was chubby and plump, a right jolly old elf,

And I laughed when I saw him, in spite of myself!

He got some abuse then a twist of his head,

Soon gave him the feeling he should have stayed home instead .

He spoke not a word, but went straight to his pocket,

And pulled out a red card, the stupid auld rockit,

And laying his finger across of his mooth,

And showing his card to all of the Hoose.

He ran aff the park, to his team gave a whistle,

And away they all flew like the down of a thistle.

But I heard him exclaim, ‘ere he drove out of sight,

"Gid luck to the FauldHoose, they lads are aw right!"

I have too much time on my hands!

See you all there tomorrow at Hilly Beef...new season, one team, one Dream.

Mon the Hoose!

Sent from my iPhone using Pie & Bovril

• Replies 501

Make it Snow !

as the Buckie Boys cry,

Mon the Hoose!

Hilly beef! brilliant Kinky A...If ever there was a best p & b poster award you'd skoosh it my man. Keep them match reports coming sir, enjoy yer season.

Just want to wish Fauldhouse all the best for the new season , really looking forward to it. Always had the feeling a good side was in the making so hears to a good year and maybe some cup runs. Pre season good so hopefully carry it on to the league. See you all tomorrow.

After a heavy night on Friday, spreading the Hoose love, missionary style, in Fife... The Afro pitched up, deshrevelled and unshaved, dragged through a hedge backwards and alone in Jim Baxter's club at Hilly Beef, courtesy of the Fkn Bridge and the seemingly impossible traffic jam for invisible road works... I needed the security of my Hoose... Shaking like a shitting dug listening to what I assume was English as the locals Fiffer Faffered Fifeness in the shadows of Jim Baxter's Scotland strip.. "Neebur" was the only word I could understand and even that wasn't being used in the proper vernacular.. It was good to be back... Strange voices, new places, same feelings... International Travel from "Hoose Travel" of Fauldhouse. Pay yer money and book yer tickets.. This trip goes on for 10 months.. The lads arrived....

A healthy Hoose support and injected some much needed income into the Hilly Club Economy and then set off for the 30 second March to the ground.. A pristine bowling green pitch awaited and with goals galore tucked under our pre season belts and silky football pinging around my memories, it was all laid out for us, waiting, just to be taken... A few injuries meant a starting line up that none of us predicted. I have sponsored the manager this year and as unofficial fan / public interface, I feel it is important that he knows we all back him 100%. A windy match in which the Hoose dominated the opening wind backed exchanges and went one up when Nick Nick Faldo, aka "The terminator" [ref: Wan Tooth Wull. 2015], headed home to justify his starting slot and cement his solid per season form through into League action. We then collapsed... They came into it and showed why they are a decent enough side. A well worked goal for them for them back in it although we could have defended better. That said, we had a solid back 4 with Jason and Alan super strong and the Sammy Shammy Sammy Show Senter half duo solid and strong. And when you back these 4 up with a Magnificent Murph and stick the Bruise Brothers (Broony, Faldo and Clark) then the core defence is strong. Mack and Mark up front battled well in the first half and had a few wee chances but struggled to cope with the wind. They were replaced with 20 to go in a brave move by Davie, and Jamie Rob and Brian came on.. To great effect. Ross Donnelly stepped up in the second half and things were beginning to happen. We took (I think) a deserved lead when a Jason Deans 20 yard volley took a few deflections and fell to Sam Scott who swivelled and shot home.. Running to the Hoose Flag as players and fans went wild. We hung on.. Make no mistake. We were the better team and can play better but this could have been a draw or a defeat.. I suspect most games will be like this...

The final whistle was greeted with joy and the lads headed back to add further coffers to HOB club.. A few games of pool and the Afro limped away.. Stubble longer,, nerves shredded.. Hope raised and still shaking.. After the football drought and the Lang summer break I feel I need a holiday... Being a Hoose fan ain't easy as I have said so many times before. Who's got the "Hoose Travel" telephone number? A wee break.. By the sunny Fife Coast, Burntisland Shows and a fish supper... That'll dae me Neebur.. Although.. Broxburn at Park View on Wednesday.. The holiday will have to wait... You are either in or out, in or out.. And I'm in!

Mon the Hoose!

Make it Snow !

as the Buckie Boys cry,

Mon the Hoose!

Class post Bard Kinky......top quality for the start of the new season....keep the posts coming!!

Go the hoose!!

Good result on Saturday , could have gone any way but we deserved the 3 points as we played football throughout and they were just route 1 the whole game . You need luck in this game and we had a bit of that on Saturday but hey we deserved it as last season more than not the luck did not go with us. Our team is capable of playing better but this time lads you got stuck in and fought for the win , well done. Must mention Jasons play on Saturday as i thought he stood out not taking anything away from the other players. Broxburn on Wednesday and it would be great to get the 3 points against them as we owe them one. Good luck to all on the night.

Get busy living, or get busy dying….. Hope can kill a man.

We are seeking Redemption at Sauchie on Saturday after an in parts bore draw last night at a midge infected Park View. 2 played, 4 points. Could and perhaps should have been 6, could have been 0. An identical to last season 4 point start from the opening 2 games, our third draw with Broxburn out of 3 and despite the plethora of chances and amazement that the game ended goal-less, this had an inevitability about it, shared hope, shared suffering and shared points…… When you are locked up with the lads for so long, you become institutionalised and indoctrinated and start to think the same…. When you are involved in a game like this, or are sentenced to it, fans, players and management alike… you kind of know what is coming and despite the hope that things will change… and that a goal will come… and things will get better…the finishing is woeful, the ref is a Shaw-Shanker, it doesn’t, you don’t and you kind of accept it and head off back to your cell. Hope can kill a game……

We were the better team I thought for large patches but some looked out of sorts and out of confidence. Our finishing was boy’ish and lacked conviction and power mostly, although Big Shrek [Ref: Wan Tooth Wull, Coo Shed, 2015] made a number of key saves. We could have won this 5-0 or 5-3.. we could have lost this 3-0… as I said on Saturday, I fear most games will be like this. The old adage that you are only as good as your strikers is true and Andy Mc forged a lone furrow upfront until Mark came on and missed 2 glorious chances late on, one admittedly, a great save.

Their keeper was Huge and superb, the wee numbers 10 and 12 for BrocksBurnt were decent and lively but overall this is a game where I am struggling to raise a positive. We did create chances... That was me trying. Even my fellow un-Athletic supporting inmates last night were lacklustre and resigned…..

I was tired after work and this never helped…. But we were undefeated after 2 games last season then slumped… we need to keep the spirits and the tempo up……We can’t go stir crazy….. get those injuries cleared up.. get the squad back…. Exercise in the yard…. Drop the rubble down your trousers…. Keep digging through the poster… there is a better time ahead, through the crap and out the other side……. I shall DuFrain from moaning further….. I am heading for the sunny times and the freedom beach of the SuperLeague….. Cross the border at Fort Hancock … or that Fkn Bridge Tae Fife…..…..I only hope that it is Blue, or as Red, as it is in my dreams……. Afro was here…….

Mon the Hoose

Kinky,

I get your frustration, it is though all about opinions and I for one thought there were quite a few positives.

A clean sheet is always a positive.

A great performance from Mikey Brown, to me that's a positive.

Another good display from new signing Sammy Watson, that's positive.

Created plenty chances, that's positive.

Didn't crumble right at the death, that's positive.

Finishing was poor and another inspired performance from Broxburns best player on the night (keeper) cost all three points, but there was plenty to be positive about, onwards to Sauchie and away from those fookin midges!

Point taken, just like last night. I just felt a bit underwhelmed by it all as if there was an inevitability and acceptance about it. We had all been there together before. Some good keeper Saves from Murphy and Shrek and as a defender, I thought the back 4 were Solid again for most parts. The Bruise Brothers are both playing as well as they have for us in centre midfield so that is indeed a positive. A decent crowd were Strangely quiet... It was like watching the Same film over and over again... It doesn't matter how much you love it, or how good it makes you feel normally.. Sometimes you know what is coming and you can't be enthused... I knew we would hug at the boat.... It was a S,S,S,S,Stuttering and Stumbling cert.... I'll Still watch it though, cos Sometimes it is brilliant and Stirs the Soul... Satisfaction and Safety in the Sameness of it all can become Staleness and Sapping when you are in that State of mind and overloaded... A freshen up for Sauchie on Saturday.. Don't pick the Soap up in the Shower.....!

See you there.

Mon the HooSe!

Ditching the Afro mobile for the Hoose Brake today and it made me think of an old article I saw years ago. Ignore the teams, ignore the sentiment and the obvious bias.. But...just check out the words from the 1920's... Do you know anyone "in the scarecrow stage of venomous trampdom"?

I wish I could paint half a picture that this guy does. Changed the team for the Hoose and Sauchie.. Don't take offence, Enjoy... Hoose Brake in Tour.. Peer another bridge ....

" On the terracing of the Alloa end on Saturday there congregated a gang., thousands strong, including the dregs and scourings of filthy slumdom, unwashed yahoos, jailbirds, nighthawks, won't works, "buroo barnacles", and pavement pirates, all, or nearly all, in the scarecrow stage of verminous trampdom. This ragged army of insanitary pests was lavishly provided with Sauchie remnants, and these were flaunted in the challenge of the football tide this way and that.. Practically without cessation for 90 minutes or more the vagabond scum kept up a strident howl of "get it up he Fadhoose". Nothing so designedly provoking, so maliciously insulting, or so bestially ignorant has been witnessed in the wildest exhibitions of SuperLeague rivalry.....Blatantly filthy language of the lowest criminal type assailed the shocked ears of decent onlookers, no getting away from it, chanted as it was from thousands of voices in bedlamite yells. ..Thousands of foulmouthed blasphemous Sauchie ruffians free to run amok through the East SuperLeague...

Much is made about behaviour, this cannot apply to the Hoose, whose members, reasonable sentient beings are models of decorum and possess official testimonials to their blamless behaviour. On Saturday the boys sang till their hearts content. They gave us many rousing choruses- "There's a moose loose about this Hoose","God Save The Hoose", and "yer maws a mattress "..... When The Hoose scored the second and the outcome was sure it was fine to hear thousands chanting thunderously "wan Tommy Brannan"... The greatest scene was the homeward procession of the scores of beflagged brakes loaded with enthusiasts delirious with the heady vintage of victory.

And it was Rendered thus...

Sauchie 0 The Hoose 2 that will do me!

Mon the Scarecrows!