When will indyref2 happen?

Colkitto

Indyref2  

819 members have voted

Guest Bob Mahelp
8 hours ago, Ingo ohne Flamingo said:

I had no idea about AUOB and I only followed them this year as I was going to go to the big march in Glasgow couldn't find my snorkel and flippers that morning so patched it.

At first I was getting annoyed at the Anti Tory banners then the Anti Tory posts on facebook, don't get me wrong - f**k the tories, but we need to encourage people from all parties to get on board for independence. Unfortunately the far left element who seem to be involved at AUOB are treating this as an "us v them" situation, how the f**k are you meant to encourage people to join our cause with that attitude? They're like the Aberdeen fans in the Tartan Army questioning a Rangers fan why the f**k are they at a Scotland game... (true story by the way, happened to my auld man). 

The marches are always great to watch but what people want to see is examples of how Scotland can do things better on our own and right now people are seeing this hence why the polls are going up and up, and that's with no campaigning! 

Lastly, one thing I don't understand about the indy marchers. They pick up their phone, keys, wallet and then have the huge decision whether to take a Scotland flag, or a catalan flag, Palestinian flag or Ireland or whatever, why? I don't get it. 

I agree with pretty much all of this. I'm committed to independence but I'd never attend one of the AUOB marches.....confirmation bias amongst independence supporters does nothing to gain the support of swithering Unionists, and neither does extremism of any kind. 

I don't understand why the Yes campaign doesn't get this. Independence will NEVER be won by parading around the streets in kilts carrying saltires. It'll only be won by calm persuasion and by stressing facts. 

And anything the far left get involved in turns to poison...BLM, AUOB, whatever. As soon as they're there with their Socialist workers banners and their anti-capitalist rhetoric, normal people turn off and the 'cause'...whatever it is...is lost.

Independence will be won be becoming the mainstream option. Unionists are desperate to continually paint the Yes movement as fringe extremists, and  tbh the AUOB marches simply help this view. 

5 minutes ago, Bob Mahelp said:

I agree with pretty much all of this. I'm committed to independence but I'd never attend one of the AUOB marches.....confirmation bias amongst independence supporters does nothing to gain the support of swithering Unionists, and neither does extremism of any kind. 

I don't understand why the Yes campaign doesn't get this. Independence will NEVER be won by parading around the streets in kilts carrying saltires. It'll only be won by calm persuasion and by stressing facts. 

And anything the far left get involved in turns to poison...BLM, AUOB, whatever. As soon as they're there with their Socialist workers banners and their anti-capitalist rhetoric, normal people turn off and the 'cause'...whatever it is...is lost.

Independence will be won be becoming the mainstream option. Unionists are desperate to continually paint the Yes movement as fringe extremists, and  tbh the AUOB marches simply help this view. 

Couldn't have put it any better myself. You're 100% right. The marches look good on TV but you're right, calm persuasion is the right way forward and it's proving to be right based on the recent polling. 

I'm desperate for independence but we need to get it right this time. The far left obviously think we can keep re-running the poll until we get the answer we want. 

As for the BLM as well, yep the left wing fucked that one up as well.

AUOB need to realise that Yes is now the majority and we need to act like we are in the majority and get rid of that wee man attitude of being the loud voice in the corner. 

Anyone else getting pissed off at whoever runs All Under One Banner? Consistantly posting shite on Facebook and getting slated for it by their followers, then now organising demos and protests in the midst of a pandemic and again, their followers telling them not to. 
Their obsession with wanting a referendum right now at this present time is getting more ridiculous by the way. I genuinely feel now that the greatest risk to a Yes vote is our own kind... 
I stopped getting their feed because there were some individuals who were utter moon howlers.

10 minutes ago, DeeTillEhDeh said:
11 hours ago, Ingo ohne Flamingo said:
Anyone else getting pissed off at whoever runs All Under One Banner? Consistantly posting shite on Facebook and getting slated for it by their followers, then now organising demos and protests in the midst of a pandemic and again, their followers telling them not to. 
Their obsession with wanting a referendum right now at this present time is getting more ridiculous by the way. I genuinely feel now that the greatest risk to a Yes vote is our own kind... 

I stopped getting their feed because there were some individuals who were utter moon howlers.

My cousin is one of them , I don't follow them but I see all the shite he posts it's like a fucking tartan army sing song.

I wish they would stop going on about Brexit and catalonya, Brexit is actualy the only reason we will get in the EU, given the voting structure of the EU where each member has a veto over certain issues the last thing they want is for a current territory to go from having one veto to 2 or more

The SNP are unable to think of any policies beyond nanny state stuff so it's either bring back OBAF or ask the Greens for one of their policies again. 

Scotland is a country of curtain twitching clipes as proven during lockdown. It's not a surprise the original discriminatory bill was popular. It's the sort of thing that would get laughed out of WM but the paternal Church mindset runs deep up here. 

Considering Westminster tried put the cherry on the "cattle" approach by forcing football fans to carry ID cards, and runs campaigns encouraging curtain-twitchers to clipe on benefits claimants/immigrants/the latest tabloid enemy, I don't think we'll be taking lectures on the inferiority of Scottish society, thanks.

My hot take is that independence supporters have a generally negative view of their compatriots and the discussion when Jim Murphy wanted to bring booze back to the fitba was illuminating of this.
Jim Murphy is a fucking knob. Had to say it. Fucking knob.

5 minutes ago, Stellaboz said:
53 minutes ago, NotThePars said:
My hot take is that independence supporters have a generally negative view of their compatriots and the discussion when Jim Murphy wanted to bring booze back to the fitba was illuminating of this.

Jim Murphy is a fucking knob. Had to say it. Fucking knob.

I doubt even members of his own family would disagree with you tbf

13 minutes ago, NotThePars said:

I doubt even members of his own family would disagree with you tbf

In his heart of hearts, I doubt even he'd disagree with the sentiment.

6 hours ago, Caledonian1 said:

Disliked by James Kelly and some Old Firm fans who saw their freedom to sing bigoted crap and stir up hatred threatened.

Kelly gets disproportionate access to the press to put forward his views.......see the BBC article by, surprise surprise, Sarah Smith as an example.

4 hours ago, MixuFruit said:

No, it had majority support in polling.

It got repealed because Labour was wanting it's Glasgow constituencies back and managed to persuade the greens it was a good idea.

Both the above may have an element of truth to them, but it really wasn’t helped by the fact is was an appallingly put together piece of legislation and really not fit for the job it was meant to do. This looks like it may have similar issues. When a judge in a court tells someone being charged that the legislation they are being charged under really wasn’t meant to be aimed at people like them, you know there’s an issue.

I had forgotten that Jim Murphy based an entire general election campaign around ending the alcohol ban in football grounds. Not difficult to see why he was rated so highly as a political operator by the Scottish commentariat. 

3 hours ago, Detournement said:

The SNP are unable to think of any policies beyond nanny state stuff so it's either bring back OBAF or ask the Greens for one of their policies again. 

Scotland is a country of curtain twitching clipes as proven during lockdown. It's not a surprise the original discriminatory bill was popular. It's the sort of thing that would get laughed out of WM but the paternal Church mindset runs deep up here. 

2 hours ago, BigFatTabbyDave said:

Considering Westminster tried put the cherry on the "cattle" approach by forcing football fans to carry ID cards, and runs campaigns encouraging curtain-twitchers to clipe on benefits claimants/immigrants/the latest tabloid enemy, I don't think we'll be taking lectures on the inferiority of Scottish society, thanks.

You'd think H_B would tire of being repeatedly rinsed on here, but no.

Tremendous stuff. 

This is one of the best threads on here. Generally dominated by good c***s that want an independent Scotland with the odd interlude of Kincy being off his nut (keep fighting the good fight brother) and H_B's latest sizzling hot take being slapped down.

Going to be some patter on here when we finally get independence. 

Edited by JMDP

This is one of the best threads on here. Generally dominated by good c***s that want an independent Scotland with the odd interlude of Kincy being off his nut (keep fighting the good fight brother) and H_B's latest sizzling hot take being slapped down.
Going to be some patter on here when we finally get independence. 
Some hilarious toy out of pram resignations me thinks....