When will indyref2 happen?

Colkitto

Indyref2  

819 members have voted

More magic number by the nats

Would that majority you speak of be the 1,270,502 who voted for parties backing Indy or the, in your words the minority of 1,488,559 who voted for parties against a second referendum?

It doesn’t take a mathematician to to work out the flaw in the nationalists claims.

Polls mean Jack shit as can be seen from many eloctoral votes which have taken place over the last 5 years such as Trump, Brexit and the GE’s. The only poll that matters was the official one where the electorate visited the polling station. Even the hardy souls in Blackford’s constituency who had to vote in December. Kudos to them [emoji1303]

The nats are living in cloud cuckoo land thinking there’s any appetite for a referendum never mind full blown independence. Any Indy ref wouldn’t be party specific. It would again be a simple aye or naw.

Keep believing that Indy will take place next year just as you have been getting spoon fed shite from Sturgeon for the last 5 years whenever it’s party conference time.

What I’ve written you and the the rest of your rent a mob cult won’t like it but deep down when you turn the light of at night and roll over with a tear in your eye you know that what I’ve written is cold hard facts.

Peace and love to you, brother.

Simplistic crap, you’ve assumed everyone who voted Tory, Lab, LD is a No voter and everyone who voted SNP and Green is a Yes voter which will be completely false as people will vote in General Executions on other issues than Independence. You’ve also not accounted for the turn out which will be higher in a referendum so you’ve absolutely no idea how they’ll all vote. You might as well look at the EU election result where Brexit Party was huge and then assume the Brexit Party will then win a General Election. A straight forward referendum Yes / No cannot be compared to how people voted in a General Election with multiple parties campaigning on multiple issues that have varying degrees of importance to each voter.

29 minutes ago, Gordon EF said:

If unionists are so confident they'd win a referendum, why are they so scared of having one?

Cause we already voted for it in 2014 and it clearly stated "once in a generation" on the ballot paper in large bold impact font. Democracy ended that day, making all future votes null and void. (Well except the Brexit referendum)

Edited by ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Cause we already voted for it in 2014 and it clearly stated "once in a generation" on the ballot paper in large bold impact font. Democracy ended that day, making all future votes null and void. (Well except the Brexit referendum)

Yes but then all you rascist fannies voted for brexit “to save oor borders” which took scotland out of the EU against our will

Would that majority you speak of be the 1,270,502 who voted for parties backing Indy or the, in your words the minority of 1,488,559 who voted for parties against a second referendum?

It doesn’t take a mathematician to to work out the flaw in the nationalists claims.

Polls mean Jack shit as can be seen from many eloctoral votes which have taken place over the last 5 years such as Trump, Brexit and the GE’s. The only poll that matters was the official one where the electorate visited the polling station. Even the hardy souls in Blackford’s constituency who had to vote in December. Kudos to them [emoji1303]

The nats are living in cloud cuckoo land thinking there’s any appetite for a referendum never mind full blown independence. Any Indy ref wouldn’t be party specific. It would again be a simple aye or naw.

Keep believing that Indy will take place next year just as you have been getting spoon fed shite from Sturgeon for the last 5 years whenever it’s party conference time.

What I’ve written you and the the rest of your rent a mob cult won’t like it but deep down when you turn the light of at night and roll over with a tear in your eye you know that what I’ve written is cold hard facts.

Wow, your spelling is shite.

6 hours ago, Durex Play said:

Polls mean Jack shit as can be seen from many eloctoral votes which have taken place over the last 5 years such as Trump, Brexit and the GE’s. The only poll that matters was the official one where the electorate visited the polling station. Even the hardy souls in Blackford’s constituency who had to vote in December. Kudos to them emoji1303.png

The aroma of shite and fear in text format. 

It's not that we don't like what you're saying, it's more that beyond ripping the pish out of you for being repeatedly banned wee creep, no one really gives a shite about you. Hope that helps.

An advisory referendum yes, but we need a section 30 order from Westminster for a real one, don't we?
Wasn't the BBC'S Laura Kuenssberg correct?

Since parliament is sovereign, all referendums are advisory. Parliament would have to promise to abide by the result for a referendum to have any real power.

A 2019 poll showed that there is a majority who think there should be another referendum within the next 10 years (>50%) when removing the don't knows. 

If you include those who think there should be one, but not within 10 years the figure increases even further to ~around 80% (if you remove don't knows.)

Obviously this was before covid, but I don't think it's a massive stretch given Sturgeon's popularity has increased and Johnson's has plummeted, not to mention the in plain sight corruption re lucrative covid contracts, and the drop in support for brexit and the UK govts handling of it, that support for holding one may be even higher now. (note: support for holding one obvs isn't the same as will vote yes) 

I know that doesn't play into the "The nats are living in cloud cuckoo land thinking there’s any appetite for a referendum " chat mentioned earlier by @Durex Play, but I suspect this is slightly more grounded in reality than his bitter gut feelings and /or snap poll of his 3 rabid Union Jack jammies wearing" mates"

Poll results here and quite easy to footer about with. 

https://whatscotlandthinks.org/questions/which-of-the-following-best-summarises-your-view-on-the-timing-of-another-refer/

Screenshot_20201201-065926_Chrome.jpg

Edited by madwullie

19 hours ago, Snafu said:

But with the pandemic and BREXIT being the priorities just now in Westminster it it shouldn't come as a shock that this current drive for a referendum is regarded there as an unwanted distraction from what they believe is more relevant to them and now.

But realistically, the pandemic and Brexit has nothing to do with why unionists don't want a referendum. They'll never want one. There will always be a reason why "now is not the time". Is anyone thinking we're just going to wait for that time in politics where nothing else is happening?

It's time when we (Scottish electorate) say it is.

Since parliament is sovereign, all referendums are advisory. Parliament would have to promise to abide by the result for a referendum to have any real power.
The concept of Sovereignty is different in Scotland compared to England.

In Scotland it lies with the people whereas in England it lies with Parliament.

The concept of Sovereignty is different in Scotland compared to England.

In Scotland it lies with the people whereas in England it lies with Parliament.

How does this work in practice? If we can get a large enough AUOB march can we just do UDI?