When will indyref2 happen?

Colkitto

Indyref2  

816 members have voted

47 minutes ago, Antlion said:

The BritNats currently appear to be banking on the idea that either the polls are rigged and/or screaming the same things about currency - only louder - will turn things around if their nightmare scenario of Scots voting for and getting a referendum eventuates, and a real national (or regional, as they’d have it) debate starts up.

The “they’re just polls; if, God forbid, that wee Nippy Krankie ned gets a referendum, CURRENCY WILL CHANGE EVERYTHING IN BLIGHTY’S FAVOUR!” attitude is strong.

On the subject of vote rigging/electoon fraud you may recall Blurt Davidson announcing the result of the 2014 Independence referendum postal vote in favour of No well before it was officially announced.

the Scottish Independence act of 2013 clearly states that anyone trying to find out the outcome of a postal ballot or 'communicate and information with respect thereto' would face a fine of £5000 or a year in prison.

Ruth Davidson was then questioned by the police but insisted only as a witness and after a year long investigation all was closed.

As for currency, on gaining Independence Scotland will apply for EU membership, a country applying for membership cannot be using the currency of a non EU country as per EU rules, so it is clear that the english pound would never be an option and Scotland would introduce an interim currency.

5 hours ago, strichener said:

You're dancing on the head of a pin.

He's really not. It makes an enormous difference to the intent of the quote whether the person was saying these choices should be once in a generation or commentating that that they are once in a generation opportunities.

They have tended to come around once every 20 or so years (79, 97, 14).

For example, someone could call a flood or storm a "once in a generation" event. It's generally taken by sensible people to mean that these things tend to happen with a frequency of once every 20-25 years. Not that the commentator is suggesting that we have a rule in place preventing another flood for at least 20 years.

It's moronic to genuinely think that the SNP thought there should be some kind of cap on when another independence referendum could take place, given that their position has always been that they want a referendum and that should be determined by whenever people in Scotland votes for a party offering one.

Edited by Gordon EF

I refuse to believe anybody genuinely thinks Salmond was doing anything other than underlining the importance of getting off your arse and going out to vote on something that most of us never thought we'd live to be given the opportunity to decide upon.

This "you said once in a generation" stuff is utter desperation from folk who are terrified of democracy once it looks like they might not end up on the winning side.

2 minutes ago, BFTD said:

I refuse to believe anybody genuinely thinks Salmond was doing anything other than underlining the importance of getting off your arse and going out to vote on something that most of us never thought we'd live to be given the opportunity to decide upon.

This "you said once in a generation" stuff is utter desperation from folk who are terrified of democracy once it looks like they might not end up on the winning side.

This....they use a play on words to deny democracy.

It ain't gonnae stand.

8 hours ago, The_Kincardine said:

We had democracy in 2014.  I know you know this.

Scotland will never know true Democracy as long as we are tied to an undemocratic unelected House of Lords and a morally corrupt tory government. 

And that is the absolute truth of the matter.

Edited by SandyCromarty

9 hours ago, The_Kincardine said:

If we have a future referendum, it will only be because a democratically elected Scottish parliament support it. You know you're making a stupid argument that has no traction whatsoever outside of 'union jack twitter' types.

Yet to hear from the Unionists whereabouts in law or legislation that Scotland CAN’T have another independence referendum. The “once in a generation” shout was a throw-away idiom to hype the magnitude of how important the vote was.

Roll on the ScotParliament vote to give indyref2 some proper traction. SNP are going to absolutely romp it.

33 minutes ago, DAFC. said:

Yet to hear from the Unionists whereabouts in law or legislation that Scotland CAN’T have another independence referendum. The “once in a generation” shout was a throw-away idiom to hype the magnitude of how important the vote was.

Roll on the ScotParliament vote to give indyref2 some proper traction. SNP are going to absolutely romp it.

You hear it from Unionist all the time unless you have your head firmly stuck in the sand.  The Scottish Parliament is not legally competent to hold a constitutional referendum which is why the Edinburgh Agreement exists.  It also wasn't a throw-away comment, it was a position adopted by the SNP to, as you say, get across to people the importance and rarity of the opportunity.  What we can't do now is throw our hands up in the air and say it doesn't matter.  It clearly does as this together with "now is not the time" is the battlecry from Unionists and whilst others on here may be in favour of proceeding without an Agreement with Westminster there is no way that this would be accepted by the International Community.