When will indyref2 happen?

Colkitto

Indyref2  

819 members have voted

24 minutes ago, Inanimate Carbon Rod said:

Dont be ridiculous, if she isnt calling it there’s a reason for it.

Ridiculous aye?

If she spent more time focusing on the day job instead of Tweeting all manner of pish and then undermining the British Government at every opportunity regarding Brexit then we might just get our independence sooner rather than later, the latter goes for the whole of the SNP as it goes

They voted for Brexit, let them have their xenophobic land of milk and honey they think they are going to have, meanwhile if they really do want to what is right for the people of Scotland then give us our birthright and call Indyref2

Personally I don’t think she’s fit for office, I expect a torrent of abuse for the fact I have an opinion that I don’t think she is the right person for the job

Ridiculous aye?
If she spent more time focusing on the day job instead of Tweeting all manner of pish and then undermining the British Government at every opportunity regarding Brexit then we might just get our independence sooner rather than later, the latter goes for the whole of the SNP as it goes
They voted for Brexit, let them have their xenophobic land of milk and honey they think they are going to have, meanwhile if they really do want to what is right for the people of Scotland then give us our birthright and call Indyref2
Personally I don’t think she’s fit for office, I expect a torrent of abuse for the fact I have an opinion that I don’t think she is the right person for the job

Im not going to abuse you but i absolutely disagree that she is unfit for office, shes a very well respected international stateswoman (despite what the yoons say). Shes brought the SNP to its greatest electoral successes and has operated through the brexit chaos to the extent she is seen as one of the most astute political leaders. We have a Scottish Nationalist Party leader with such respect that English voters ask her to stand candidates in their constituencies on a very regular basis.
If you think she spends all her day tweeting I think you may be misguided.

7 hours ago, sjc said:

Finances will determine which ports/airports are used. Why are ours so uncompetitive, especially when you factor in additional fuel costs in transporting the goods down to England?

This suggests it's far more an issue of capacity.

It's not that simple. Goods get sold on to other companies who specialize mainly in exports. If companies south of the border are making better offers for the goods, then the goods get sent there before being exported outwards. If a company in Scotland can make more money selling their goods to an export company in England rather than exporting the goods out themselves, then that's what they'll do.

2 hours ago, Inanimate Carbon Rod said:

If you think she spends all her day tweeting I think you may be misguided.

If RP thinks that Sturgeon does anything other than approve the content for the majority of her tweets, misguided is being generous.

If people are happy to have our elected FM who has a mandate for a referendum to sit and tweet book reviews and pose for selfies and countless other propagandist pish while this Tory government drags us deeper and deeper into the mire with each passing day then we deserve everything we get!

Perhaps the fact more people on the Scottish electorate voted for Brexit than voted for her party in the last general election is playing on her mind. In 2017 the SNP lost a good number of seats, so that doesn’t bode well either

Perhaps it’s time to hand the keys to Bute House over to someone who has belief in not only an independent Scotland but also belief in their own abilities 

Edited by RubixPubes

How many votes do businesses have? The demographics that supported Yes are obvious and if Yes is to reach 50%+1 (and then overcome the backlash for a People's Vote) it's not going to be the business community that makes the difference.
The idea that hard Brexit is going to wreck the UK economy is bullshit. The BoE gamed the figures and could only come up with 8% less growth over 5 years which is pretty much what happened to most of their previous growth predictions anyway. The Corbyn point is irrelevant as there is zero chance of the SNP calling a referendum with a UK Labour government.
When was the last time she campaigned for independence? The fact that independence supporters have convinced themselves that it's entirely natural for the leader of their movement to do nothing to build the Yes movement is bizarre.
Letters from businesses threatening employees with redundancy if a yes vote is returned may have swung a few votes

1 hour ago, RubixPubes said:

If people are happy to have our elected FM who has a mandate for a referendum to sit and tweet book reviews and pose for selfies and countless other propagandist pish while this Tory government drags us deeper and deeper into the mire with each passing day then we deserve everything we get!

Perhaps the fact more people on the Scottish electorate voted for Brexit than voted for her party in the last general election is playing on her mind. In 2017 the SNP lost a good number of seats, so that doesn’t bode well either

Perhaps it’s time to hand the keys to Bute House over to someone who has belief in not only an independent Scotland but also belief in their own abilities 

The mandate states "being dragged out of the European Union against our will". We haven't left the EU yet. So cool yer jets big man.

9 hours ago, Detournement said:

The Corbyn point is irrelevant as there is zero chance of the SNP calling a referendum with a UK Labour government.

Considering Labour are less popular than the Conservatives in Scotland, why would the SNP not call for an independence referendum in the event of a Labour Government?

9 hours ago, Detournement said:

When was the last time she campaigned for independence? The fact that independence supporters have convinced themselves that it's entirely natural for the leader of their movement to do nothing to build the Yes movement is bizarre.

The SNP have already done all they can themselves. Fortunately, there's a UK Government doing everything they can to see an independent Scotland.

7 hours ago, RubixPubes said:

Ridiculous aye?

If she spent more time focusing on the day job instead of Tweeting all manner of pish and then undermining the British Government at every opportunity regarding Brexit then we might just get our independence sooner rather than later

Tweeting pish like this, eh? Pretty focused on the day job, I'd say -

"Tonight, 12 of the 27 EU member states that will decide the UK’s future have populations smaller than or similar in size to Scotland’s. If we become independent we get to sit at that table - enjoying the same solidarity shown to Ireland - instead of being sidelined by Westminster"

2 hours ago, jakedee said:
12 hours ago, Detournement said:
How many votes do businesses have? The demographics that supported Yes are obvious and if Yes is to reach 50%+1 (and then overcome the backlash for a People's Vote) it's not going to be the business community that makes the difference.
The idea that hard Brexit is going to wreck the UK economy is bullshit. The BoE gamed the figures and could only come up with 8% less growth over 5 years which is pretty much what happened to most of their previous growth predictions anyway. The Corbyn point is irrelevant as there is zero chance of the SNP calling a referendum with a UK Labour government.

Letters from businesses threatening employees with redundancy if a yes vote is returned may have swung a few votes

Not even that. If the idea of Scottish independence is normalised to the hegemonic forces in British society, then they won't necessarily oppose it the way they did last time.

6 hours ago, BawWatchin said:

It's not that simple. Goods get sold on to other companies who specialize mainly in exports. If companies south of the border are making better offers for the goods, then the goods get sent there before being exported outwards. If a company in Scotland can make more money selling their goods to an export company in England rather than exporting the goods out themselves, then that's what they'll do.

If English companies are buying our goods and selling them on outwith the UK for a profit then we're not getting true market value for these goods.