Inver FC > Broxburn Athletic > Annan Athletic

AsimButtHitsASix

• Replies 81

End of the transfer window. Quite happy with my squad to start with and already got quite a full reserve team filled with talent so was happy with just a few signings then my scout kept pointing out how good the PieandBovril reserve side was...

post-35024-0-16972300-1437125536_thumb.p

post-35024-0-19830400-1437125519_thumb.p

And a damn good start to the season. Won every game and reached the 3rd round of the Lothian Cup (board expectations) against two teams from the same tier as me...

post-35024-0-61466100-1437125524_thumb.p

post-35024-0-28625000-1437125530_thumb.p

As always with me in this save for some reason inconsistency is the key here. I went one round better than expectations in the Lothian Cup (taking 1st division mid table Leith to extra time was better than I hoped a well), I'm in the play-offs, as expected and I've hit the 3rd round of the Scottish Cup where SPL Alloa will dump me out no doubt. The top two teams, Montrose and Oakley look a class apart so will be hoping to avoid them in the play-offs (presuming I made them)

I got interviewed for the Brora job but KB'd it and I'm odds on favourite for the Rob Roy job (a job I aint even applied for) but was laughed away from Stenhousemuir. So obviously one of the top "non-league" managers in the country but not yet ready to step up to the senior sides.

And the Premier League has an interesting look to it

post-35024-0-15121900-1437641457_thumb.p

post-35024-0-23003900-1437641463_thumb.p

post-35024-0-20803600-1437641469_thumb.p

The last five games started off well enough. Wasn't too fussed about the defeat with Montrose and, with ten minutes to go in that last game, I was sitting in the play off spots...

post-35024-0-96034300-1438685016_thumb.p

post-35024-0-41856900-1438684994_thumb.p

If either of the two sides above me win I'm fucked. Draws and defeats please

Here's the squad for the year ahead. A few too many centre backs but, after I snapped up a couple, two players came available who I had my eye on and were better than the ones I signed (no prizes in guessing which two) and pretty much pinning my hopes on Grant Dickie (who scored 6 in his first 6 games) leading the line.

post-35024-0-49245100-1438906289_thumb.p

Also a tweak in formation. Conceded too many goals last year so dropped the second striker for a defensive midfielder. Was playing my CMs as Ball Winning Midfielders mostly last year. Hopefully can have them going forward a bit more to make up for it.

post-35024-0-49431000-1438906375_thumb.p

Out both cups too early for my liking. Was 2-0 down at half time v Hibs before clawing back to 2-2 with ten minutes to go. Fitness and quality showed as Hibs scored two in two minutes right after that. Against Airdrie had more possesion and equal number of shots but a bit more quality upfront from them on the day. Still inconsistent as f**k in the league tho'. If DIckie scores: we win. If he doesn't: we don't

post-35024-0-25110200-1438906435_thumb.p

post-35024-0-02151500-1438906532_thumb.p

post-35024-0-95866100-1439230046_thumb.p

A cracking run after the defeat to Pumpherston. Last two games before the winter break I had an aggregate of 34 shots to 3 and managed to get one point out of it. That led to a few changes that shall be revealed in a moment.

post-35024-0-20817100-1439230117_thumb.p

Despite that great run it seems Montrose went on an equally good one so automatic promotion looks unlikely but hoping to go up via the play offs. Good news is thon Algerian boy Aisser Kouda, or whatever his name is, has buggered off to Oakley United leaving Montrose looking a bit toothless upfront. They sold three strikers in the transfer window without replacing any of them. I also took their left back off them.

I lost my 2nd choice keeper, Paterson, who was actually probably my best keeper but a bit erratic, to Peterhead for 20k after he refused to sign a new contract. This year as also the breakout year for 14 yr old Kevin Milne who chipped in with 7 goals from right wing and he buggered off for 60k to... someone from the 1st division. I needed to sell him in order to afford a new striker after those last two games where I drew a blank. I nipped in to get Aidan Ferris from Morton for 20k and, as back up, took a young striker from PnB who can also operate on the wings. Mackie got papped off on loan

post-35024-0-13386300-1439230444_thumb.p

• 4 weeks later...

I had no internet connection at home for a while there and I coulda kept saving screenshots and so forth but just ploughed through. Here's how the rest of that season went...

post-35024-0-87918000-1441143517_thumb.p

Unbeaten until the play offs were secured then squad players lost a coupla games while others were rested for the play offs

post-35024-0-25290700-1441143524_thumb.p

Play offs...

post-35024-0-29621100-1441143530_thumb.p

There is no doubt, whatsoever, that Selkirk were the worst team in the play offs. Seriously. They were in the weakest of the four leagues at this level and finish 30 points off top and 10 points from bottom. They actually made it to the play off final. I liked my Broxburn team. The young players were coming good, the teams coming down were weaker than the ones going up and I knew I could build on this side and win the league the next season. So I never applied for anything. Someone, however, came to me....

post-35024-0-62342100-1441143544_thumb.p

And they had a huge wage budget (15k p/w and only using 2k) and £1,000,000 transfer budget. Couldnae say naw

Here's the Best XI...

post-35024-0-13681200-1441143538_thumb.p