The Greenock Morton Thread - It's Better Than Yours

17 hours ago, AsimButtHitsASix said:

Pl: 22 W: 3 D 10 L: 9 GF: 17 GA: 26 Pts: 19

Well the good news is, as Dunfermline have shown, the rest of the bottom half of division is so shite even if we wait another few weeks before sending Gus to the gulag we still wont be completely cut adrift at the bottom.

I’ve been saying that for weeks. Two goals off bottom, one point off sixth. Any of those teams could end up bottom though Dunfermline might pull away a bit for a while.

Glad someone else has woken up and smelt the crappy.

On 11/11/2021 at 18:16, The Ghost of B A R P said:

Because there's a point at which it just becomes destructive noise... and because nothing can now be done about it that wouldn't make the situation worse.

Everybody's entitled to their opinion, as you say, but continuing to shout your opinion about spilt milk after a certain point is all about the person doing the shouting, as opposed to the issue... which is done, in the specific case of Lithgow. He's a Morton player, under contract until May 2023.

Your analogy with the likes of Blues and Muirhead is false, btw: they drew criticism because of their (lack of) ability, so every time they step onto the pitch the rights and wrongs of whether they should have been re-signed are highlighted over and over again. The Lithgow issue has nothing to do with performance on the pitch. By all means say he's been underwhelming, but do that without regard to the circumstances in which he was signed. Two separate issues: one ongoing; the other, as said, done.

So to be clear: I didn't think (past tense) we should have signed him; and I think (present tense) he's been disappointing on the pitch. Only one of these two issues can or should be the subject of meaningful ongoing discussion.

Beyond that, as @Dunning1874 and others have said, the issue of how the club has handled it can and should be the subject of discussion, because that may have a bearing on how the club (and maybe even the individuals directly involved) will handle any similar situations in future.

Well played :)

Hi Ton fans,

Sports writer for Football Scotland (www.footballscotland.co.uk) Calum Woodger here with a story about Peter Weatherson that may interest you.

Inside Glasgow Wellington FC as Morton legend Peter Weatherson's arrival proves amateurs are not just social media soccer stars

Check out the full look behind the scenes at Weatherson's involvement at Wellington via the link below

READ HERE

Thank you,

Calum

15 hours ago, Calum Woodger said:

Hi Ton fans,

Sports writer for Football Scotland (www.footballscotland.co.uk) Calum Woodger here with a story about Peter Weatherson that may interest you.

Inside Glasgow Wellington FC as Morton legend Peter Weatherson's arrival proves amateurs are not just social media soccer stars

Check out the full look behind the scenes at Weatherson's involvement at Wellington via the link below

READ HERE

Thank you,

Calum

Good to see Spoonsy is still kicking a ball. And anything he can do to keep that team off the Pertick Thistle media luvvie darlings route can only be a good thing.

On 20/11/2021 at 16:59, AsimButtHitsASix said:

Pl: 22 W: 3 D 10 L: 9 GF: 17 GA: 26 Pts: 19

Well the good news is, as Dunfermline have shown, the rest of the bottom half of division is so shite even if we wait another few weeks before sending Gus to the gulag we still wont be completely cut adrift at the bottom.

Looks like you've missed the 3-2 defeat v Queen of the South here going by the for and against; he's on played 23, lost 10.

Saturday took him back to having a worse record than Kenny Shiels.

3 hours ago, Dunning1874 said:

Looks like you've missed the 3-2 defeat v Queen of the South here going by the for and against; he's on played 23, lost 10.

Saturday took him back to having a worse record than Kenny Shiels.

So, to confirm,

Pl23 W3 D10 L10 F17 A29 GD-12 Pts19 PPG0.8

This would lead to 30 points over a season which going by the last decade of full seasons at this level gives us 40% of finishing bottom and a 90% chance of finishing in the bottom two. 

image.png.5eb824438f4997c1d9e06ee8f6cca013.png

1 hour ago, AsimButtHitsASix said:

So, to confirm,

Pl23 W3 D10 L10 F17 A29 GD-12 Pts19 PPG0.8

This would lead to 30 points over a season which going by the last decade of full seasons at this level gives us 40% of finishing bottom and a 90% chance of finishing in the bottom two. 

image.png.5eb824438f4997c1d9e06ee8f6cca013.png

For the benefit of anyone still thinking that calls for the manager's head are 'personal' or narrowly focused on the outcome of individual games, there, in all its glory, is what any manager stands or falls on... their actual record (before and after getting to assemble a squad of players of his own choosing).

From that starting point, if he can't get us to within spitting distance of a point a game over the course of the next month, he should be replaced before the January window.

4 hours ago, AsimButtHitsASix said:

MCT now fast approaching Falkirk and Dunfermline board levels of cringe with their statements. 

If they don't want their players to be called beasts they shouldn't sign sex offenders.

Don’t talk nonsense; they’re speaking out in support of their player.

And don’t start off with this guff again - the guy is here for the duration of his contract. Nobody has to like what he did, but nor do we need you going on and on about it.  Move on, ffs. More important issues than this to deal with at Cappielow.

Awww... did the man say nasty things that made the sex offender sad?

See the source image

We've now had two statements from the club regarding chants about Lithgow. One telling us the fans can't chant in support of his sex crimes and another one telling us no-one is allowed to remind him of his sex crimes. Neither of these statements have actually mentioned Lithgow or his sex crimes, obviously, because that would be addressing the issue and they are terrified of doing so. 

If anything the club's refusal to acknowledge the fans/members concerns about how this has been handled has made it far worse. They could draw a line under it. They've had multiple chances to do so but are putting their heads in the sand. 

Loving the braying, horseshit argument that 'well he's here for the duration of his contract so move on!', whether applied to useless players or indeed the incumbent, useless manager. I'll be very surprised if either of the two club employees currently on the receiving end of 'personal abuse while doing their job!!!!111!!!' are still at the club in April next year when their current deals expire, because that's how professional football actually works. 

At this rate, the situation will be untenable for one or both contracted parties long before their deals are up. The club throwing a can of petrol on the fire with that nonsense statement yesterday only makes that more likely. 

14 hours ago, AsimButtHitsASix said:

We've now had two statements from the club regarding chants about Lithgow. One telling us the fans can't chant in support of his sex crimes and another one telling us no-one is allowed to remind him of his sex crimes. Neither of these statements have actually mentioned Lithgow or his sex crimes, obviously, because that would be addressing the issue and they are terrified of doing so. 

If anything the club's refusal to acknowledge the fans/members concerns about how this has been handled has made it far worse. They could draw a line under it. They've had multiple chances to do so but are putting their heads in the sand. 

😳 Wow, where do we start with this??  You admit that the club have issued two statements, yet then you immediately  claim they haven’t addressed the issue……..      Jesus wept……..

A statement condemning fans’ behaviour was the right thing to do, and they’ve now done it - twice - but try thinking sensibly about it for once instead of emotionally. Do  you really think Lithgow would want or welcome the club going into personal detail about him and his past offence? Of course not.

Then the bit in bold - “They could draw a line under it.”  They did. They signed the player and it was a done deal from then. No further comment needed.  It’s only the abuse that he got for being stupidly sent off that has seen them, rightly, make a further statement.

Look back at the pages on here relating to his signing. There was a small amount of debate and controversy about it which quickly died away. You are one of the few who continue to bore the tits off the rest of us by bringing it up on a regular basis. You are one of a few on here who attach far more importance to P&B and that moribund Morton forum than is justified. The reality is that only a small percentage of the support read this stuff, and even fewer post. Most fans don’t know or care that these sites exist. Many of them won’t know of Lithgow’s conviction or just don’t care; the only time he will get a thought from the casual supporter will be when a) he’s named in the team,  b) when the game’s being played and c) when, like on Saturday, he does something that draws the attention. They only care about what he does on the park; the rest of the time they don’t give a toss, if you’ll pardon the expression, about Lithgow.

The few posters who made an issue of this signing, and the even smaller number who think that getting some reaction on here is significant, are deluding themselves. Douglas Rae listened to a few of you re signing Lithgow a few years back, but you can’t run a football club that way and the new regime quite rightly made their decision and have stuck by it. No further comment needed from them……. Or from you. Let it go, you and vt can trumpet away on here but the truth is that nobody cares outwith these pages.

12 hours ago, virginton said:

Loving the braying, horseshit argument that 'well he's here for the duration of his contract so move on!', whether applied to useless players or indeed the incumbent, useless manager. I'll be very surprised if either of the two club employees currently on the receiving end of 'personal abuse while doing their job!!!!111!!!' are still at the club in April next year when their current deals expire, because that's how professional football actually works. 

At this rate, the situation will be untenable for one or both contracted parties long before their deals are up. The club throwing a can of petrol on the fire with that nonsense statement yesterday only makes that more likely. 

😂

The only braying, horseshit nonsense is coming from you and that other idiot. As I said above, away from these pages nobody cares about Lithgow except with regard to what he does on the park. If that continues to be as poor as it has been up till now then he’ll be away at the end of his deal. Gus may very well be away before then, but that will be dependant on not just results but whether we are still in the pack or are isolated at the bottom. The only thing certain is that it won’t be because of anything said on a football forum. 

23 minutes ago, Rudolph Hucker said:

😂

The only braying, horseshit nonsense is coming from you and that other idiot. As I said above, away from these pages nobody cares about Lithgow except with regard to what he does on the park.

That'll be why the club have already issued two official statements about Lithgow this season, both of which were completely irrelevant to his performances on the park. 

It's almost as if both a segment of the fanbase and the club itself do in fact care about this issue. A clash that is only going to get worse after the club's latest, tone-deaf rap lecture. I for one did not care either way to begin with - it is only the club's totally shambolic mishandling of the situation that has engaged me in the affair. 

If that continues to be as poor as it has been up till now then he’ll be away at the end of his deal. Gus may very well be away before then, but that will be dependant on not just results but whether we are still in the pack or are isolated at the bottom. The only thing certain is that it won’t be because of anything said on a football forum.

This word salad is all based on the premise that views on a football forum are entirely separate to the sentiment of the fanbase at a match. In reality, forums are a microcosm of the fanbase - one tilted to the extreme end of opinions - but a sure bellwether of where the general trend is headed nevertheless.

And given that the club has just got its knickers in such an enormous twist about one single fan at the last away match, the views expressed on here are just as likely to trigger a response when they are expressed at a match as well. Like the square go that the assistant manager was offering at the Queen of the South match not too long ago. 

That you don't like this fact and would rather GMFC sailed serenely above the views of the scum fanbase as it tried to do during the height of the Rae era is really not my problem. 

Edited by vikingTON

11 hours ago, Rudolph Hucker said:

😳 Wow, where do we start with this??  You admit that the club have issued two statements, yet then you immediately  claim they haven’t addressed the issue……..      Jesus wept……..

A statement condemning fans’ behaviour was the right thing to do, and they’ve now done it - twice - but try thinking sensibly about it for once instead of emotionally. Do  you really think Lithgow would want or welcome the club going into personal detail about him and his past offence? Of course not.

Then the bit in bold - “They could draw a line under it.”  They did. They signed the player and it was a done deal from then. No further comment needed.  It’s only the abuse that he got for being stupidly sent off that has seen them, rightly, make a further statement.

Look back at the pages on here relating to his signing. There was a small amount of debate and controversy about it which quickly died away. You are one of the few who continue to bore the tits off the rest of us by bringing it up on a regular basis. You are one of a few on here who attach far more importance to P&B and that moribund Morton forum than is justified. The reality is that only a small percentage of the support read this stuff, and even fewer post. Most fans don’t know or care that these sites exist. Many of them won’t know of Lithgow’s conviction or just don’t care; the only time he will get a thought from the casual supporter will be when a) he’s named in the team,  b) when the game’s being played and c) when, like on Saturday, he does something that draws the attention. They only care about what he does on the park; the rest of the time they don’t give a toss, if you’ll pardon the expression, about Lithgow.

The few posters who made an issue of this signing, and the even smaller number who think that getting some reaction on here is significant, are deluding themselves. Douglas Rae listened to a few of you re signing Lithgow a few years back, but you can’t run a football club that way and the new regime quite rightly made their decision and have stuck by it. No further comment needed from them……. Or from you. Let it go, you and vt can trumpet away on here but the truth is that nobody cares outwith these pages.

Yes the club have made two statements: neither of which address the issue. I don't see what's hard to grasp about that. But you are, unequivocally, a floundering mess so I understand your difficulty in understanding something so basic. You're inability to understand, for instance, the definition of sexual assault had you pathetically trying to insinuate something against me. Like the cowardly refusal of MCT to answer you also hid away rather than explaining what you meant by that previous, now deleted, post. 

You'd be surprised how little I care about sex offenders being reminded of their past crimes. If he doesn't want to be reminded of the time he drove around finding vulnerable women to sexually assault he probably shouldn't have drove around sexually assaulting women. 

And, well, they haven't drawn a line under it have they? They haven't mentioned it at all. Fans have, in reasonably large numbers, and I would say further comment is needed. Even from those who have no issue with the signing have said their refusal to acknowledge fans concerns is an issue. 

I don't attach any importance to P&B or the forum (certainly less than MCT do anyway). And, yes, there was debate and controversy about it and the club refused to acknowledge it then it died down. It's never brought up until the club manage to publicly skirt around it. I don't know if you know what a forum is for but when the club, for instance, publicly release statements condemning chanting about sexual assault, publicly release statements saying they wont be answering questions about the decision to sign a player with previous charges for sexual assault or publicly release statements condemning fans for reminding players about their previous sexual assault charges then I think that makes them worthy topics of discussion. It's the club that bring it up without, actually, bringing it up. It's an elephant in the room.

Also strange that you seem to be able to gauge the wider support of Morton fans despite, clearly, being a Wee Nigel. Who are you canvassing about this? The  majority of Morton fans I know do not frequent this board, only a couple as far as I know, and maybe double that use the Morton board. If anything the ones that use the message boards are more accepting of Lithgow's signing that those who don't. Of the, say, a dozen Morton fans I speak to regularly I know of three who haven't been to Cappielow since he signed. Our average crowd is down about 200 or so from pre-covid levels. There could be many reasons for this and maybe the folk I know who aren't going back while he's there are the only ones doing so. But no-one, not you, I, nor the club can dismiss the idea that crowds are lower than they could be because we signed a sex offender. 

This idea that it is only an issue for a tiny proportion of fans has no basis in reality. It may well be the case but there's no poll that you've conducted to evidence your claims. The Morton board had a wee vote when he signed and it was about 75/25 split not bothered/against the signing. Are we a big enough club to dismiss the worries of a quarter of our fans? Is any club big enough? Considering we are a fan owned club can you think of any other membership led organisation that would just outright dismiss the concerns of a quarter of their members without even acknowledging their concerns?

And the club can make whatever decision they want and we can all congratulate or condemn them for them decisions. If you find the topic so boring you could always ignore those that bring it up but, as usual, you can't help but get the last word in and refuse to let any argument lie which makes your faux-outrage about people still having concerns about the clubs attitude to this all the more hypocritical. 

Edited by AsimButtHitsASix

11 hours ago, AsimButtHitsASix said:

Yes the club have made two statements: neither of which address the issue. I don't see what's hard to grasp about that. But you are, unequivocally, a floundering mess so I understand your difficulty in understanding something so basic. You're inability to understand, for instance, the definition of sexual assault had you pathetically trying to insinuate something against me. Like the cowardly refusal of MCT to answer you also hid away rather than explaining what you meant by that previous, now deleted, post. 

You'd be surprised how little I care about sex offenders being reminded of their past crimes. If he doesn't want to be reminded of the time he drove around finding vulnerable women to sexually assault he probably shouldn't have drove around sexually assaulting women. 

And, well, they haven't drawn a line under it have they? They haven't mentioned it at all. Fans have, in reasonably large numbers, and I would say further comment is needed. Even from those who have no issue with the signing have said their refusal to acknowledge fans concerns is an issue. 

I don't attach any importance to P&B or the forum (certainly less than MCT do anyway). And, yes, there was debate and controversy about it and the club refused to acknowledge it then it died down. It's never brought up until the club manage to publicly skirt around it. I don't know if you know what a forum is for but when the club, for instance, publicly release statements condemning chanting about sexual assault, publicly release statements saying they wont be answering questions about the decision to sign a player with previous charges for sexual assault or publicly release statements condemning fans for reminding players about their previous sexual assault charges then I think that makes them worthy topics of discussion. It's the club that bring it up without, actually, bringing it up. It's an elephant in the room.

Also strange that you seem to be able to gauge the wider support of Morton fans despite, clearly, being a Wee Nigel. Who are you canvassing about this? The  majority of Morton fans I know do not frequent this board, only a couple as far as I know, and maybe double that use the Morton board. If anything the ones that use the message boards are more accepting of Lithgow's signing that those who don't. Of the, say, a dozen Morton fans I speak to regularly I know of three who haven't been to Cappielow since he signed. Our average crowd is down about 200 or so from pre-covid levels. There could be many reasons for this and maybe the folk I know who aren't going back while he's there are the only ones doing so. But no-one, not you, I, nor the club can dismiss the idea that crowds are lower than they could be because we signed a sex offender. 

This idea that it is only an issue for a tiny proportion of fans has no basis in reality. It may well be the case but there's no poll that you've conducted to evidence your claims. The Morton board had a wee vote when he signed and it was about 75/25 split not bothered/against the signing. Are we a big enough club to dismiss the worries of a quarter of our fans? Is any club big enough? Considering we are a fan owned club can you think of any other membership led organisation that would just outright dismiss the concerns of a quarter of their members without even acknowledging their concerns?

And the club can make whatever decision they want and we can all congratulate or condemn them for them decisions. If you find the topic so boring you could always ignore those that bring it up but, as usual, you can't help but get the last word in and refuse to let any argument lie which makes your faux-outrage about people still having concerns about the clubs attitude to this all the more hypocritical. 

If you don’t attach any importance to P&B forums why do you insist on posting so much self important pompous shit on it.?

Watching a View From The Terrace and your keeper, Flapjack, is getting a lot of praise, however Morton have just been described as "a really terrible football team." Just thought I'd share that in case any of you missed it. :)

Edited by AlbionSaint

3 hours ago, Branch Ton said:

If you don’t attach any importance to P&B forums why do you insist on posting so much self important pompous shit on it.?

Because I'm self important and pompous and, therefore, attach importance to my own posts.

Your slevvering ravings, however, are immediately forgotten about after I've finished laughing at them

18 hours ago, AsimButtHitsASix said:

Because I'm self important and pompous and, therefore, attach importance to my own posts.

Your slevvering ravings, however, are immediately forgotten about after I've finished laughing at them

Shame your sense of self importance didn't prompt you to attain a better command of syntax before your functioning neuron .deteriorated. The world would be a better place  if you kept your moralistic pish to yourself.

There is a certain irony in the fact that you are being white knighted by a twisted wee dick who earned his coin peddling junk food to kids on behalf of a globalised entity. Where does he feature on your opprobriumometer?