The Greenock Morton Thread - It's Better Than Yours

He’s some boi. He’ll rarely lose the ball and will stop you playing hoofball by simply demanding it from the centre backs. Don’t expect him to cover masses of ground or break forward, but still a highly effective player sitting deep.

Zero goals and zero assists for him next year for sure.

5 minutes ago, Honest Saints Fan said:

He was rarely injured. Just fell out of favour with the manager. f**k knows why. He's easily one of the fittest guys going.

V. Jealous.

Yep, another example of Tri-TON talking complete and utter shite, it's not like him!

51 minutes ago, Widge said:

He’s some boi. He’ll rarely lose the ball and will stop you playing hoofball by simply demanding it from the centre backs. Don’t expect him to cover masses of ground or break forward, but still a highly effective player sitting deep.

Zero goals and zero assists for him next year for sure.

Always disappointed the "secondary assist" didn't become popular until now, would've been interesting to see how many goals came from attacks he started. 

Millar should be a hilariously large upgrade on Harkins and if we can play him up alongside Tidser and Murdoch then we'll have a very strong central midfield for this level next season. Not too enthused by some of the names floating around at the moment but that is an excellent start to our business. 

3 hours ago, Mr X said:

Poor mans Gary Harkins

It's not even close, tbh, if you're on about playing in a deeper role. 

To think that Queen of the South fans were delirious with glee and excitment when they 'swooped' for Harkins just a month ago;  only for The Famous to use the money spared to secure a genuine class act in the middle of the park instead. I haven't seen a set of transfers work out this badly for an opponent since Dunfermline swapped us Ross Forbes for Andy Barrowman. 

1502700805291.jpg.ca2c47f73934eab76d9551ce5f2995b5.jpg

34 minutes ago, cristo said:

I hope Perth will always be midge's spiritual home, but a great signing of one of your own.

Enjoy.

Did he / will he get a testimonial?

17 minutes ago, GiGi said:

Did he / will he get a testimonial?

He's got one this Summer against Aberdeen. 

Well no, while Millar has been a first choice for a team consistently in the upper echelons of the top league, Harkins has been playing for perennial losers like Partick and Dundee. Levels.

Millar was still in our strongest eleven for me, but he fell completely out of favour with Tommy Wright, convinced there was something going on behind closed doors with them, but nothing ever came out. 

Delighted he’s got a move to a club close to his heart, a class act on and off the pitch by all accounts. Hope to hear reports of him tearing apart whatever lower league dross Partick and Falkirk have plodding about in the middle of the park next season. 

Must remember to check in here over the coming months to read the rantings of the roaster losers. Mind that gap now chaps[emoji1]

25 minutes ago, jimmy boo said:

Must remember to check in here over the coming months to read the rantings of the roaster losers. Mind that gap now chapsemoji1.png

Err,  that’s a visiting St Johnstone fan you’ve quoted there James. 

“The Gap” with the wee saints is firmly in their favour.

Genuinely sad to see him go, like most Saints fans. An absolutely imperious midfielder when fit but probably dropping down a league with age/injuries makes sense.aye And he'll stroll the league.

I seem to remember a Morton thread years ago when he scored twice in one game, is this true??

Sent from my Bluboo Maya Max using Pie and Bovril mobile app

Between 2013 and 2015, Millar was one of the best midfielders in the country. An issue with the manager possibly did emerge after that but, even as a huge fan of the player, you can't look past the fact he was starting games then pulling up early with a recurring upper leg problem. He does seem to be over that now but not sure that Tommy Wright ever had the same trust in him again, rightly or wrongly.

He maybe isn't quite at the level he was a few years ago but, as others have said, when he's been in the team, he has still been a top performer; you very rarely come away saying he's had a poor game.

The only caveat is that Morton will need to play in a way that suits him; he's good defensively but his main strength now is getting on the ball and making the team play. His decision making can't be better highlighted than the fact he's swerved the Arabs.

Hi guys, some cryptic posts on here and a wee article in The Sun have suggested that Ross Forbes is on his way back to the Rock. Know that he spent most of the second half of last season injured and I just wondered what it was that kept him out?