Brechin City 2015/16 Season

• Replies 785

Riorden?

Notice the chairman and Lee Bailey deep in conversation behind Macalls interview.

Considering comments re lack cutting edge who knows. We had a similar squad size last term but an extra coach.

Money is very tight so who would know

You think that's end of signings ? Would you take Riordon if head screwed on ?

Keep seeing that mentioned on here, pretty sure he done well with his spell at East Fife at the end of last season and Naysmith seemed to be impressed with his spell at that club and there didn't seem to be any problems with fitness, it's not as if he was a heavy built player and sure he looks after himself to keep his fitness levels up.

he was pish imo, was knackered by 30 minute mark and was playing at quarter pace for the rest of the game, shots always seemed to be straight at the keeper. Unfit, slow, unable to win much Arial battles and finishing seems to have vanished , can still hit a free kick tho. He was even played at left ,midfield cause he couldn't get a game ahead of Kevin smith and Nathan Austin

Austin must have been delighted with Riordan out on the left with all the deliveries he was getting put in to the box for him, 5 goals and the same in assists is hardly pish for 10-12 games, how many games did you see him play in.

Riordan couldn't get fit in his few months at Alloa in 2013/14 and doesn't seem to have made much progress in that regard since. Hard to see him ever sorting himself out now.

He picked up a injury that he struggled to recover from in his 2nd game at Alloa, think it was Morton, thought it was a knock and played in a reserve game on the Tuesday after that game and picked up a ankle injury. Found the quote below but i thought you would have known he was injured you being a Alloa supporter and all that.

"Alloa could be missing their recent signing, former Hibs, Celtic and Scotland striker Derek Riordan, who suffered an ankle injury in the challenge that saw Morton player Dougie Imrie dismissed at the weekend"

Have to agree think he's finished. If he wasn't he would have been signed up by a club by now he couldn't make it in league 2 (no ofence to east fife) he's not got much chance in a higher league

Gary Naysmith disagrees with your knowledge of how Riordan done at East Fife.

Naysmith said: “I wish all the players well in their future careers. Derek played a part in turning our season around and I am sure he enjoyed being involved on a playing basis again.”

Gary Naysmith disagrees with your knowledge of how Riordan done at East Fife.

Naysmith said: “I wish all the players well in their future careers. Derek played a part in turning our season around and I am sure he enjoyed being involved on a playing basis again.”

He picked up a injury that he struggled to recover from in his 2nd game at Alloa, think it was Morton, thought it was a knock and played in a reserve game on the Tuesday after that game and picked up a ankle injury. Found the quote below but i thought you would have known he was injured you being a Alloa supporter and all that.

"Alloa could be missing their recent signing, former Hibs, Celtic and Scotland striker Derek Riordan, who suffered an ankle injury in the challenge that saw Morton player Dougie Imrie dismissed at the weekend"

Austin must have been delighted with Riordan out on the left with all the deliveries he was getting put in to the box for him, 5 goals and the same in assists is hardly pish for 10-12 games, how many games did you see him play in.

Aye Deek , it must hurt like hell to hear some of the opinions , mainly based on hearsay and gossip.

Glad to see you firing it back to them though !!! ;)

He returned from that injury with plenty of the season left and sat on the bench on a number of occasions but wasn't used, this despite the fact that Alloa at the time were struggling badly for goals. Those who saw him play for the reserves said the touch was there but his fitness was grim and did not improve. He was saying at the start of that season (2013/14) that all he needed was a chance to get games and to return to match fitness. Two years on and he appears to be in the same situation.

I have nothing against the guy at all but history suggests he is very unlikely to now knuckle down, get fit and become a key player at Brechin, however many old quotes you copy and paste from the internet.

Game finished 3-2 to Falkirk, very enjoyable game to watch from two teams who played some good football, no hoofing, ball was for most of the game played on the ground withgood build ups for chances, only downside was the referee who was acting like a bairn, 8).

As for Riordan, played the 90 minutes and done well from the left side, was involved in most of Brechins attacks and nice touches and good range of passing as well, one shot broke a branch at the back of the goals though :lol: but he did make the goalie work a few times with one top save to deny DR a goal.

every game he played.