Unemployed

P45

• Replies 51

Aye, this.

Companies using my specialised role aren't recruiting and basic ones tell me I'm either over-qualified or concerned that I'll leave them as soon as the market picks up and I'm of use again. Recruiters have told me that their clients are getting annoyed with folk looking for admin / temping jobs to tide them over.

So when you finally get one, it's soul destroying to have it pulled away at the last minute. Had to be over a crap winter as well. At least the sun's out just now.

Like Lichtie, I've previously always had a job of some description even at high school so suddenly having the realisation that you're doing nothing and currently existing for the sake of existing is horrible. I even had to take the day off work to go to my own graduation, a role I'd been in for 8 years before I was royally f***ed over. Would have challenged had I known a massive downtown was a month away but there was everyone telling me "it's a buoyant market, take the redundancy pay and find somewhere better".

The worst bit is the loneliness. All of my friends are full-time 9-5 so most of every day is spent by myself, something I'm just not used to and certainly not getting used to. Took up geocaching as a free past-time to get myself out and about now the weather is improving. That said, I wish I'd taken it up much earlier, even in the pishy cold rather than stay in but guilt at not job hunting prevented much of that. Since discovered you really need to get out after I spent three days without leaving the house at one point which obviously isn't good.

tl;dr have to work

Would you all mind standing against that wall. That's the spirit! A straight line. Lovely.

FIRE!

Get back to work you.

Your taxes are paying for people's dole money.

In a Universal Credit guinea pig area like Inverness "watching Frasier" is code for "updating your CV", as you have to account for 35 hours of job seeking a week in your job diary. Random clicks on the Universal Jobmatch site helps too.

Whit? Last time I was on the dole I had to file in a wee booklet with three things I did in a fortnight! How much of the 35 hours is taken up accounting for the 35 hours of jobseeking?

i' was on the broo for a year until last week. just watch they don't check up on your job search i got sanctioned for not using their shitty job site.

I've actually been quite quite impressed with the things which have popped up on Universal Jobmatch tbf. I expected it all to be bar / retail staff type positions but there's some really niche technical stuff popping up and being recommended.

i' was on the broo for a year until last week. just watch they don't check up on your job search i got sanctioned for not using their shitty job site.

I'm 99% sure the majority of jobs on gov.uk website are fake or they already have someone lined up.

Indeed.co.uk and S1 jobs are the best.

I've started job hunting again because I finish up college soon, been struggling to even get a PT job to fit around it.

I lost about 4 stone taking my dog out for four hour walks everyday.

Put back on sat in a dead end job.

I also miss Pop Master.

On the bright side I can afford to eat, go to the football and have the odd night out.

I was 6 months unemployed when I was 25/26 and loved it. It helped that I got a decent payout from the job I left and had very few outgoings at the time, so had plenty funds to dick about going on holiday, football, pub etc, so was never sitting idle/bored.

Working for a living is shit in comparison.

Last time I was unemployed was from the Friday when the 2010 world cup started until a week and a day after it finished. If it had gone on much longer than that it would have been shite but it was actually quite enjoyable. Although I did put on about a stone and a half.

The highlight of my period of unemployment was being told by [uNNAMED GRADUATE EMPLOYER] that "your profile did not match the required behaviours of [our] program."

Narrowly edging out being told after taking Aldi's situational awareness quiz thing that I was wrong and can't apply to them again for a year.

Regarding the Job Centre and its features: Universal Jobmatch is unparalleled shite, made redundant by far superior services elsewhere on the internet. I think I've logged into it about four times since I created an account, and any time I've looked at it it's always been agency shite or stuff I've already seen elsewhere.

The highlight of my period of unemployment was being told by [uNNAMED GRADUATE EMPLOYER] that "your profile did not match the required behaviours of [our] program."

Narrowly edging out being told after taking Aldi's situational awareness quiz thing that I was wrong and can't apply to them again for a year.

Regarding the Job Centre and its features: Universal Jobmatch is unparalleled shite, made redundant by far superior services elsewhere on the internet. I think I've logged into it about four times since I created an account, and any time I've looked at it it's always been agency shite or stuff I've already seen elsewhere.

That's the one that is mandatory as well. Pile of shite.

I hate being unemployed. I like knowing I can pay my way and do the things I want. I also don't like bumming about the house when I know I could be making money.

I have a good set up right now. I work every weekend and go to uni during the week. Now that uni is pretty much finished I'll hopefully spend my time going fishing, eating out and getting pissed. That's basically what I've been doing since Tuesday. I'll probably pick up a couple extra shifts next week as well seeing as I've probably spent 400 quid in the last 4 days.

That's the one that is mandatory as well. Pile of shite.

Yeah, but I don't really use it and I've not had any problems when being at the job centre about it. I keep track of what I do and am capable of holding a conversation, so I go in, talk about what I did (plus I'm still volunteering at a place they got me into last October so I can add that in) and it's okay. Judging from what I read on the internet though I think the folk working at my job centre are generally much more understanding than the norm, but I couldn't judge others properly for that.

But aye, it's a bit shite being rejected by Tesco on a weekly basis.

Work as a teacher, which is kinda like being unemployed 3 months of the year. Currently sitting working my way through season 2 of Parks and Recreation. Being unemployed must be magic for catching up on tv shows.