Line of Duty.

John Lambies Doos

I thought it was a low-key start, especially compared to most seasons that start with armed police or armed gunmen. Just trusting that this is a build up, as the end of series 5 was low-key as well, and this feels like a more direct sequel to that.

20 minutes ago, scottsdad said:

I thought it was a low-key start, especially compared to most seasons that start with armed police or armed gunmen. Just trusting that this is a build up, as the end of series 5 was low-key as well, and this feels like a more direct sequel to that.

Funnily enough because it is.... 

This series did start with armed police though.

13 hours ago, smpar said:

Aye I was just about to say exactly this.

They’ve made her suspiciousness very obvious from the first 5 minutes of the series, surely it’s going to be more than 5 episodes of just proving her guilt, knowing why she did it and finding out who else is involved.

Yeah, got to imagine it wont be her, if it is then mercurio clearly couldnt be arsed with this season lol

Also, her boss stopped them first time round, right at the start of the episode as well, 

2 hours ago, 54_and_counting said:

Yeah, got to imagine it wont be her, if it is then mercurio clearly couldnt be arsed with this season lol

Also, her boss stopped them first time round, right at the start of the episode as well, 

Aye Buckells is dodgy af. I've thought that since season 1.

It definitely felt like they were in on something together in that episode. I actually think they're going to play an integral part in catching our mystery cop, rather than being part of it, and they're willing to go to any lengths to do it.

1 hour ago, Mark Connolly said:

Why can't it be both?

I suppose it could be, I just think he's daft and/or doesn't give a f**k though

54 minutes ago, Andre Drazen said:

It definitely felt like they were in on something together in that episode. I actually think they're going to play an integral part in catching our mystery cop, rather than being part of it, and they're willing to go to any lengths to do it.

They did seem to focus on them having that big loud argument in the briefing room and it was clear everyone else could hear, could be trying to throw people off the scent.

39 minutes ago, underdogunderdog underdog said:

We've yet to see the young kid from series 1 who ended up becoming a student police officer in series 5. He's surely going to have a part to play in this series.

I'm sure he was the one doing the surviellance on the house during the raid? Thought that was obvious but people on Twitter are all saying he's not popped up yet.

5 hours ago, The Golden God said:

I suppose it could be, I just think he's daft and/or doesn't give a f**k though

They did seem to focus on them having that big loud argument in the briefing room and it was clear everyone else could hear, could be trying to throw people off the scent.

I'm sure he was the one doing the surviellance on the house during the raid? Thought that was obvious but people on Twitter are all saying he's not popped up yet.

Don't think that was Ryan doing the surveillance, it was a different actor for a start. They had used the same actor in S5 as S1, so I doubt he'd have been binned for the new series when it was clear they were setting the character up as being more important than just the wee ned who delivered phones.

Going back to Buckells, I remembered he was put in to replace Tony Gates, but had forgotten he also replaced Roz Huntley, both at the behest of ACC Hilton. Hilton obviously saw him either as a useful idiot or a useful ally. I'm still leaning towards his incompetence being an act.

The one character I'm still waiting to hear more from is the Chief Inspector from counter terrorism in S1, who was the catalyst for Steve moving to AC12 in the first place. According to the letter you see when you scan the QR code on that magazine cover, Philip Osborne is now the Chief Constable...

Don't think that was Ryan doing the surveillance, it was a different actor for a start. They had used the same actor in S5 as S1, so I doubt he'd have been binned for the new series when it was clear they were setting the character up as being more important than just the wee ned who delivered phones.
Going back to Buckells, I remembered he was put in to replace Tony Gates, but had forgotten he also replaced Roz Huntley, both at the behest of ACC Hilton. Hilton obviously saw him either as a useful idiot or a useful ally. I'm still leaning towards his incompetence being an act.
The one character I'm still waiting to hear more from is the Chief Inspector from counter terrorism in S1, who was the catalyst for Steve moving to AC12 in the first place. According to the letter you see when you scan the QR code on that magazine cover, Philip Osborne is now the Chief Constable...

I thought they looked very similar but fair enough. As long as he gets beaten to death at some point I’m fine.

Was chatting about this recently and wonder whether it was all plotted this intricately from the beginning, with fall backs in case they were cancelled early; or whether it was written fairly on the hoof to start with and the wider story added when it became a hit?

Fwiw I think it's maybe McDonald's a previous victim of the gang (maw killed judging by the photo?) and is out for revenge

15 hours ago, Mark Connolly said:

That's a terrific spot, watched some of the first series recently and thought it was strange he never turned up again. Could be an interesting development