Eurozone

H_B

• Replies 55

"The far more important question is why inflation is anywhere near 0% in the first place: in our view, the inconvenient truth for policymakers is that, in large part, that is a reflection of the failure of policy, both fiscal and monetary."

that's a long haiku

It was the first set of local elections after the regions had been scrapped. The Labour guy had stood unopposed in that ward previously and I just wanted to make sure he at least spent some money and time working for once.

I acted as an election agent for my best mate in Cumnock the last time elections to Strathclyde council. We got a police escort out after his "gracious" losers speech. <_<

I can remember the bits of dribble and spit coming out wee Tommy Farrells mouth as he raged away at us Toreeeesssss incoherently while we were practically on the floor laughing at him. But it did turn nasty.

My dad and uncle have both stood for elected positions(labour and lib dem), some of the stories they tell are pretty amusing.

Probably not a popular point of view but I actually believe that most people actually get involved in politics and stand for elections because they believe in something and/or think they can make a difference. I think yer standard trougher is more the exception rather than the rule.

Really!

In Lochside and Craigie. Anyone knowing Ayr will know that this is a really winnable seat for the tories.

I did manage to get more votes than my prospective constituents had teeth all the same.

"Why won't they vote for me?" *sob*

*grrrr* "I'd make them pay!"

Fair do's to Reynard for standing. I'b be interested to hear why he picked such an unwinnable seat. Was he told that's the area he was getting or did he volunteer?

At the last General Election the Tories put up some 19 year old from St Andrews Uni as their candidate for Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath. Seriously, in a FPTP election in a Labour safe seat, why bother? Everyone can see he's just there to fill a suit and even if he was a decent candidate, he's more chance of travelling to the moon.

Actually it was the Kirkcaldy seat at the 2011 Scottish Parliament I'm thinking about.

http://m.fifetoday.co.uk/news/local-headlines/new-ideas-a-new-vision-1-1564569

The woman who stood and failed in 2010 is now a councillor in Edinburgh.

Fair do's to Reynard for standing. I'b be interested to hear why he picked such an unwinnable seat. Was he told that's the area he was getting or did he volunteer?

At the last General Election the Tories put up some 19 year old from St Andrews Uni as their candidate for Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath. Seriously, in a FPTP election in a Labour safe seat, why bother? Everyone can see he's just there to fill a suit and even if he was a decent candidate, he's more chance of travelling to the moon.

Actually it was the Kirkcaldy seat at the 2011 Scottish Parliament I'm thinking about.

I was studying at the time and working full time and didn't have the spare time to actually do any council work. I went through the vetting process, did the rounds of interviews etc. Was offered a few marginals including the area I lived in at the time. But I didn't want to even have a sniff at a win. My mate had stood as a paper candidate back in the early 90s while he was studying for his PhD and he actually won unexpectedly much to his irritation. He did manage to soldier on but he was overcommitted. I saw his particular travails and decided to stand in the statistically second worse seat for the tories in the entire council A seat that they hadn't even bothered standing a candidate last time out. That worked best all round for everyone.

Back in the day this was a fairly routine way to cut your teeth. I ended up getting more and more scunnered with the tories and lost interest in standing for them. My mate currently works for John Scott and is also used by the likes of Davidson for speechwriting and pish like that. My mate who unexpectedly won the council seat never went for a round two and is lecturing in some shitty uni somewhere abroad. The guy I was agent for a few times, including standing for the last strathclyde region elections is the policy director of the SCC. It was quite a good experience. I actually enjoyed the selection process most of all and it was actually very rigorous indeed.

There s plenty of seats in that same position. If you stand for a parliamentary seat and make a go of it the party will notice this and maybe bung you into a marginal next time.

There are plenty of ways to move about politically if thats what you are wanting to do.

Another contemporary was the scandal hit Mark Menzies :lol: We used to absolutely rip the piss out him, but he stuck at it and is an MP now. Thats what he had always wanted to do and he went for it. Obviously the winnable seats for a Scots tory up here is negligable thatnks to the inbuilt Labour advantage as well as the gerrymandered seats so he ended up in Fylde. :P