Question Time

Elixir

Dinny worry about oor Granny D.. Hes currently sipping the vino in Casa Danger, Lanzorote whilst planning his volcanic camel trip in the morn. He'll be ok.

Fair doos.

I'm sitting drinking OVD rum & diet coke.

It tastes so-so.

It used tae be rum & coke but I'm diabetic.

Nige won me over last night. I originally thought Farage was failed merchant of whimsical and vacuous political pish but last night he hinted at smoking indoors, which I like cos Strasbourg and The Guardian.

I agree wi' that.

I smoked for 60+ years and I stopped cauld turkey two and a half years ago.

When he said that I thought good oan ye.

I'll repeat whit I've said on several threads here that no matter whit ye think o' his politics ye cannae deny that he is a guid speaker and stands up for himself.

I agree wi' that.

I smoked for 60+ years and I stopped cauld turkey two and a half years ago.

When he said that I thought good oan ye.

I'll repeat whit I've said on several threads here that no matter whit ye think o' his politics ye cannae deny that he is a guid speaker and stands up for himself.

I've said it many times, Farage is good at what he does. No problem admitting that. Taking UKIP as far as a Euro election win (and the lifestyle that its afforded him over the years) is pretty good going for this kind of thing. Usually we see whatever the latest vehicle for right-wing populism is crashing and burning after a much shorter lifespan than UKIP managed.

Pretty much everything he says doesn't stand up to any level of intelligent scrutiny but there's a talent involved in saying exactly what a decent group of people want to hear. I honestly don't even think he believes any of it tbh - he's a talented marketing man.

I've said it many times, Farage is good at what he does. No problem admitting that. Taking UKIP as far as a Euro election win (and the lifestyle that its afforded him over the years) is pretty good going for this kind of thing. Usually we see whatever the latest vehicle for right-wing populism is crashing and burning after a much shorter lifespan than UKIP managed.

Pretty much everything he says doesn't stand up to any level of intelligent scrutiny but there's a talent involved in saying exactly what a decent group of people want to hear. I honestly don't even think he believes any of it tbh - he's a talented marketing man.

He is a talented marketing man.

But tae me he is essentially a guid speaker.

I'll tell ye another few guid speakers.

George Galloway back in the day wis a guid speaker.

Rev. Ian Paisley wis anither.

Professor William Barclay often appeared on the TV in the 60's and had a guid, deep Scots voice.

He was a theologian and I'm an atheist but I could listen tae his voice a' day.

Somebody else mentioned Hitler.

And I wid add El Duce.

I'm no talking about their politics or whatever but some people could be captivated by their speeches.

And were.

...and the ithers?

I liked Brian May, he comes across well and I thought Tristram Hunt actually sounded ok and even admitted Labour spent too much money I didn't watch it all as it got quite late so if any of them said something radical at the end I don't know about it!

Having this attitude become the norm amongst all social classes is a pretty neat trick from the rich and powerful* when you think about it. When the riff raff resent people with profile, power or money sticking up for them, it really is job done. Nae chance of anything changing when you guilt trip people out of even wanting it.

And when I say rich and powerful, I of course mean the actual rich - not people who think they're Bill Gates because they run a small business.

I'd maybe accept the "why don't you give away your money then!!" argument if any of the people typically the subject of these discussion had the ability to solve the problems they campaign for. If you take Russell Brand and affordable housing or Brian May and food poverty, their entire net worth would be like throwing a tea towel at a tsunami. It's such a redundant argument.

what makes brand hypocritical is that he's making his millions (and his publisher, which also owns that communist rag, the financial times) from peddling a book that gullible teenagers buy thinking brands one of them.

I liked Brian May, he comes across well and I thought Tristram Hunt actually sounded ok and even admitted Labour spent too much money I didn't watch it all as it got quite late so if any of them said something radical at the end I don't know about it!

Fair doos but I watched it on the iplayer.

I couldnae connect wi' any of them but I much prefer to see the likes of Nigel Farage, George Galloway and a few others (I cannae remember their names) that can upset the establishment.

They say it as they see it and no trot out the same pish as the two hunts did.

You've got tae agree it makes good TV when Nigel gets upset.

But I can sympathise wi' Nigel cos his complaint against the electoral system is exactly the same complaint the SNP had for a good many years.

Did ye see the guy in the audience who said that FPTP kept out the extremists like the BNP.

A lassie from the audience replied that if a party gets sufficient votes then they must be allowed intae parliament.

Remember at one time we were labelled an extremist party and we were kept out of Parliament for many years thanks tae this voting system.

Tristram the 'socialist' sounded like Boris Johnson. He entypithies why the Labour party is deid in Alba town.