clydebank

hague

But that's just it: once you started climbing the Junior leagues & getting great runs in the Junior Cup, the word to the media quite clearly was those aims were shelved and you were happy to become one of the biggest Junior sides as before again - all talk of returning to the Seniors was shelved. FFS, in the half time interviews on BBC Alba when you reached the Junior Cup final, those interviewed for Clydebank made it clear the club's ambitions lay solely in the Juniors. It's pretty hard to get past the change of tune being something to do with a descending note down Holm Park way...

Like you say, had Clydebank a ground in place, different story: but the current talk about joining the LL is being done for all the wrong reasons; and if any of the blindly optimistic are thinking (as I suspect) that the WDC will magic the Bankies up a ground if they join the LL on the prospect of profitting if they rejoin the Scottish League, they're going to be sore disappointed.

The folk who are vocal about applying to join the LL have always been behind the idea of going senior again if and when it became possible. Despite how it looks, the fact we are having a horrendous season so far is coincidental.

Whether or not it is a vocal minority who are speaking up is another matter, but the fact that there is an opportunity to apply has led to people asking the question of the board and the fact that this may be the last opportunity they have to apply is why it has become a bit louder. Even if we had won every game this season so far, the same conversation would be happening.

• Replies 85

So Waffle would rather have Girvan in the LL who are watched by 2 men and a dog than a club with at least 250 regulars and probably about 5 teenies.

I didnt know that there was a clause in applying whereby any club had to pass the Waffle code of ethics and eligibilty criteria either.

Since you - in atypical Bankies fan fashion - choose to resort to childish insults of the sort RRG suffers over on the Juniors section, I may as well answer this & your unsolicited PM in one go - to wit:

I don't know what your problem is with Clydebank?

You know NOTHING about whats been going on the background with regards to us finding a place to play over the last 12 years.

Its grossly insulting to suggest that the people that have been involved have done nothing to try and secure a stadium in the town.

As for lashing out large sums of money to reach the top of Junior football,nothing could be further from the truth.

We currently have the lowest budget of any club in our division,its only through good management and the appeal of playing for the club that has got us this far.

Most of the fans who set the club up at the beginning wanted a return to Senior football asap.

Whilst I don't agree with the hasty way the LL was thrown together it is here now and affords a chance of promotion to the SPFL for non-league clubs who aspire to play there.

Most Junior clubs will not want to leave the SJFA and that's fine but any club with any ambition at all should be looking to play at the highest level possible.

1. Girvan may have fewer fans, but they have a ground and a set up with potential, and are in a catchment area comparable with Annan without the problems of competition from QoS & Gretna a stone's throw away.

Anyone could run up a paper club with the best players their money can buy & paying rental on someone else's facilities. Clydebank may look impressive at first glance, but the truth is until they have some tangible infrastructure in place they are little better off than those disastrous end days in the SFL, merely one bad season away from it all being a house of cards. The Broomhill business has been bad enough (for all their "bright start" I have serious doubts of their long term sustainability once the novelty wears off), adding Clydebank to the mix seems to have little attraction than turning the LL into a sea of names of ex-SFL sides for its own sake.

2. You may have "the lowest budget of any club in our division" (emphasis mine) but it was certainly not the lowest budget that took you to the dizzy heights of the Western Superleague in the first place. Too much too soon, & now there's the risk of being left with nothing to show for it, you want to jump ship to the Lowland League at the point you are on the wane as a remedy.

As for "not knowing" what you've done to try & find a proper home, as said before I can tell you in two words - the second being "all". Reading between the lines over the years, you lot expect WDC to provide one, which in an era where most councils are offloading their Leisure Services side to "arms length" providers is about as likely as Kate Middleton doing striptease for this year's Children In Need telethon.

The truth is Clydebank are a house of cards waiting to fall, & the LL should not be touching them with a bargepole until they get themselves sorted out off the pitch first. If they let them in, why not Third Lanark, who at least have a realising prospect of having a ground of their own by the start of 15/16! Why not Royal Albert, who at least have a secure ground now. Heck, why not Drumchapel Amateurs?!

Part of the problem, of course, is that Clydebank and their fans have a ludicrous sense of "entitlement" that because they were swindled out of a Scottish League place they only gained from an attempt to swindle East Stirlingshire out of theirs in the first place, they can do whatever they want without censure. One moment "We'll stay in the Juniors because we can become a big club there", the next "we'll join the LL because the wheels are coming off the wagon & we can get lots of grant money and stuffs". Do you think it hasn't crossed a lot of minds that what's there to stop Clydebank joining the LL, getting all the grant money available "to help achieve licencing" they can eat, before buggering off back to the Juniors again without so much as a "so long, suckers!"?

No - if clubs want to join the LL now, they must really want to join & demonstrate a willingness from the fruits of their own labours first instead of this thinly veiled "do you know who we are?" non-league divaism.

How will relegation work at the end of this season.

Bottom of LL down <> winner of EOS v SOS champions play-off up, seemingly.

Would the relegated team not feel a bit aggrieved, not only at being relegated but also seeing two other new teams join the league.

Tbh, anyone finishing bottom of a division - outwith the bottom levels of a system - shouldn't feel aggrieved at relegation, IMO.

In practice it's pretty unlikely this season, anyway. (At least the Preston manager consoles himself with this in the local paper :lol:!!):

http://www.eastlothiancourier.com/sport/football/articles/2014/10/09/512146-new-boss-willie-kirk-hopes-to-keep-preston-athletic-in-lowland-league/

Possibly neither EOS nor SOS champion would be in a position to get licensed*? Possibly someone already in LL wouldn't get licensed?

Possibly there wouldn't be enough other applicants to make 16? And, on that note, maybe the relegated club could apply in that process?

*EDIT: e.g. EOS league currently led by Leith Athletic, and SOS league currently led by Lochar Thistle.

Don't recall seeing either linked with licensing, and their grounds are fairly basic.

Leith's ground - http://nonleaguescotland.org.uk/leith.htm

Lochar's ground - http://nonleaguescotland.org.uk/lochar.htm

You don't have a clue what's happening at bsc Glasgow

Of course he doesn't but he`ll give you a 200 word essay on whats going on at your club nevertheless.

Waffle just talks pish about things he knows nothing about,its what he does.

The mere fact that he feels the need to come on here and slag people off who run clubs without telling anyone which club he helps to run (if any that is) tells you everything you need to know about him.

Edit- We`re such a house of cards that the SFA just made us a Quality Mark club.

Of course he doesn't but he`ll give you a 200 word essay on whats going on at your club nevertheless.

Waffle just talks pish about things he knows nothing about,its what he does.

The mere fact that he feels the need to come on here and slag people off who run clubs without telling anyone which club he helps to run (if any that is) tells you everything you need to know about him.

Edit- We`re such a house of cards that the SFA just made us a Quality Mark club.

You do realise that the Standard Quality mark you have has been achieved by more jumpers for goalposts amateur sides, boys clubs, etc. long before you lot decided it would be a gold star in your jotters.

http://www.scottishfa.co.uk/scottish_football.cfm?page=3445

Standard Mark is hardly anything to brag about. That you evidently think it does says it all how ramshackle is Clydebank's true state of affairs.

If we wait long enough, they will be saying he's on verge of tears & he'll be accusing them of a swing & a miss. :P

Incidentally, I noticed that the Shanner sock puppet account of JimBaxters has suddenly become active over there again merely to red dot RRG. Time the mods (well, Jamie, since TheOldNortherner is a lost cause) started getting a grip on obvious "dotting accounts" by banning accounts lying dormant for months at a time & mysteriously only becoming active when one of P&Gs resident shitgibbons is taking it all too seriously.

Without wanting to derail THIS thread too much, I only have the ability to close/merge threads and delete posts.

You do realise that the Standard Quality mark you have has been achieved by more jumpers for goalposts amateur sides, boys clubs, etc. long before you lot decided it would be a gold star in your jotters.

http://www.scottishfa.co.uk/scottish_football.cfm?page=3445

Standard Mark is hardly anything to brag about. That you evidently think it does says it all how ramshackle is Clydebank's true state of affairs.

But it does give access to the SFA and funding streams that were previously unavailable.

So we`re hardly sitting back doing f*** all as you suggested earlier.

Nice dodge on what club you belong to ( if any) btw.

Much easier to sit back and type a load of crap on an internet forum about clubs that you know nothing about eh?

I would be disappointed if Clydebank lacked the ambition to want to progress as far as they could up the league system.

They need a proper, local stadium to play in though before than can truly be considered a credible team worthy of advancing any further than the Lowland League (if they even got accepted to that).

They certainly have the fan base required, considering some of the League One and League Two teams already have poor attendances.

But it does give access to the SFA and funding streams that were previously unavailable.So we`re hardly sitting back doing f*** all as you suggested earlier. Nice dodge on what club you belong to ( if any) btw. Much easier to sit back and type a load of crap on an internet forum about clubs that you know nothing about eh?

I've said it elsewhere.

Far too many folk on here got so much to say being "other OR Scotland" fans ??

Nae bottle to show their colours.

Waffen himself im fairly sure had a quiet few months where he disappeared.

Maybe he just likes arguing and posting to himself and is lurker in disguise :D

I think he has a soft spot for Gretna ;)

Do you have a link or further info please?

sorry no link but we were told at last club trust meeting that this is our last season at holm park and new ground will be in hardgate and will be ready in about a year or so.

. Cant think where in hatdgate mate, so could u tell us where it will b

Without wanting to derail THIS thread too much, I only have the ability to close/merge threads and delete posts.

Without wanting to derail this thread too much either, it does seem strange that the mods on the Juniors section have far less powers than certain other mods, & then everyone wonders why they have the nonsense of certain posters running up multiple accounts to give themselves "backies" (eg. the Trudi Chase levels of alias from SonOfRambo) whilst elsewhere they've the ability to ban on sight (just a pity about the arbeitrary nature it is applied...).

But my guess is certain people meant to be running P&B prefer occasional bouts of bedlam in there to fit in with their "Junior thickos" stereotyping for their pet muppets, but never mind (the insulting "Discuss the latest junior fitba news and the latest 15 man brawl here" moniker above the Juniors section says it all - I can remember plenty of 50 men brawls at SPL/SFL matches, but never 15 at any Juniors outside of a certain two derbys...)

But it does give access to the SFA and funding streams that were previously unavailable.

So we`re hardly sitting back doing f*** all as you suggested earlier.

Nice dodge on what club you belong to ( if any) btw.

Much easier to sit back and type a load of crap on an internet forum about clubs that you know nothing about eh?

Actually it does, since the requirements are so pitiful at the Standard level virtually everyone qualifies so long as they put in the paperwork - which was part of the idea: giving certain clubs a toy for eating sludge in the hope they'll be incentivised to move onto solids. All part and parcel of the modern "nanny" approach to matters, of course, where companies are "Investors In People" & other such shitgibbonry where it's gold stars & "have a lollipop" for doing what they ought to have been doing in the first place in our brave new era of the Kidult.

Waffen himself im fairly sure had a quiet few months where he disappeared.

It's called work, dear - when new committments mean you are going home merely long enough to get fed, sleep & ready for the next day, the joys of the interwebs take a back seat. That & the Mumsnet business which left a very nasty taste in the mouth.

no it is not new ground will be in the hardgate area.

across the road from clydebank golf club.

This appears to be the site in question - it has two parks on it with the white building on the right as changing facilities.

https://www.google.com/maps/@55.9255546,-4.3892073,422m/data=!3m1!1e3

It will need a lot of work for it to meet the Junior requirements - let alone the LL. A wall around it for starters.