Eric Joyce

GordieBoy80

3 minutes ago, Henderson to deliver ..... said:

C'mon auld yin, at least tag me in if you're going to chat shit about my wife.

I will protect her at all costs.

tenor-1.gif.0c858d3730b020b7583e08cdd3e84f5e.gif

It was not I who slandered her.

#solidaritywithmrshendersontodeliver

6 minutes ago, ICTChris said:

He has plead guilty. Video features very young children, one of approximately 12 months. Joyce will be sentenced next month, hopefully a long one.

:o

It's a strange one. 

One 51 second video with multiple children that he filmed himself but he hasn't been charged with sexual abuse so it's presumably something that would have been legal if he didn't film it. 

The judge said he stored the file as an email attachment so he obviously kept it hidden for gratification. 

It's a strange one. 
One 51 second video with multiple children that he filmed himself but he hasn't been charged with sexual abuse so it's presumably something that would have been legal if he didn't film it. 
The judge said he stored the file as an email attachment so he obviously kept it hidden for gratification. 

I might be wrong but in this context downloading the images is described in law as “making” images, because you are creating them on your computer. So it isn’t alleged that he filmed the clip, just that he downloaded it.

I could be wrong though.

1 hour ago, ICTChris said:

I might be wrong but in this context downloading the images is described in law as “making” images, because you are creating them on your computer. So it isn’t alleged that he filmed the clip, just that he downloaded it.

I could be wrong though.

That makes it simpler. It's still odd that he would have one single bit of child porn stashed away though. 

Yeah, what terrible luck, the first piece of child porn he has and he gets nicked for it. How desperately unfortunate for poor Eric.

Everyone who gets caught for these things makes some sort of excuse - a former colleague of mine had a partner who was convicted for downloading images and he said that he had found them accidentally and was collecting them so he could send them to the police. Aye right.

Joyce is apparently claiming that he received a spam email containing category A child abuse is video. The definition of that is in a previous post on this thread. I would cast massive doubts that there spammers sending the most depraved images and videos you can imagine to random email accounts. Spammers spam to generate clicks and this doesn’t seem a great way to do that. So I’m calling bullshit on his excuse.

3 hours ago, ICTChris said:

I could be wrong though.

No, you’re dead on. ‘Making’ really means ‘fabricating’, ie you’ve made another copy. 

I was meaning more that his devices and accounts would surely be examined for more illegal images and videos. 

Yeah, I’m sure in these cases cops take all your devices and forensically examine them. Could be that he had other devices wiped or encrypted but had forgotten about the video he was charged with.

In court it was mentioned that he had an alcohol problem and had been to counselling with a group who provide training and treatment to stop people committing sex offences. He’ll be hoping that spares him a jail term but I don’t think you can see any other outcome for him.

5 hours ago, ICTChris said:

Everyone who gets caught for these things makes some sort of excuse - a former colleague of mine had a partner who was convicted for downloading images and he said that he had found them accidentally and was collecting them so he could send them to the police. Aye right.

An old PE teacher at my secondary school left fairly abruptly; it turned out he had multiple indecent images of minors on his home computer and had been raided by the police. The rumour mill later was that he got out of any serious convictions (did end up on the register and I would hazard a guess that any Disclosure checks mean he's not going to work in a school setting again anytime soon/ever) by concocting a defence that they were only there to study the physiology in connection to his job or some shit like that.

Edited by Thistle_do_nicely

20 hours ago, ICTChris said:

Yeah, what terrible luck, the first piece of child porn he has and he gets nicked for it. How desperately unfortunate for poor Eric.

Joyce is apparently claiming that he received a spam email containing category A child abuse is video. The definition of that is in a previous post on this thread. I would cast massive doubts that there spammers sending the most depraved images and videos you can imagine to random email accounts. Spammers spam to generate clicks and this doesn’t seem a great way to do that. So I’m calling bullshit on his excuse.

I've been scouring porn sites since the birth of the internet and I've never encountered child porn, maybe because I wasn't looking for it. I don't believe it's possible to accidentally click on the wrong link and download shite like that.

9 minutes ago, welshbairn said:

I've been scouring porn sites since the birth of the internet and I've never encountered child porn, maybe because I wasn't looking for it. I don't believe it's possible to accidentally click on the wrong link and download shite like that.

Reports in the papers today have more details about what happened.  He has admitted to searching online for child abuse images, says that he did it while having problems with alcohol and has had since had psychotherapy. 

Esther Rantzen, strangely, has been quoted about this saying that far more men look at these images than we would care to imagine.  It's a scary thought but one that seems to be true.  For that reason I hope they give him a long sentence, this is something that could genuinely act as a deterrent.  He'll probably get a year though.

11 minutes ago, ICTJohnboy said:

Could be a long year for him if that's what he gets.

Fellow inmates might be keen to demonstrate their own versions of justice if given half a chance.

he will probably be in a prison where everyone has done the same, and probably much worse.

• 5 weeks later...