All things Dundee FC

I'd say he's out of our league but we will need a replacement for one of Stewart/Hemmings in the summer and if we could get say Mallan in for a little bit less than what we move Stewart on for, it'd be a terrific bit of business as there's then further resale value.

You can have Irvine back. Looks totally disinterested.

Imagine, if you will, spending 5 or 6 seasons at Barcelona, being club captain at various points.

imagine then being released and signed by some no mark Spanish 2nd tier outfit.

That is how Gary Irvine feels. Can you blame him? Must be a huge shock leaving behind the cosmopolitan city of Dundee, along with top flight football in a proper ground for the horrors of Paisley and a soulless Lego ground.

McGinn was out of contract but we let him go to Hibs for a reduced development fee of £130,000 plus 30% sell-on fee. Mallan has another two years on his contract and his development fee alone if he was out of contract would be well in excess of 100k. And although playing in a poorer League that has to be offset by playing in a shit team. His scoring record from midfield is far better than McLean's or McGinn's and he is younger than the pair of them when they were sold. Hopefully this time we will play hard ball and get a decent fee for a player instead of giving them away.

In excess of a 100k?? Don't talk pish man. You'd be lucky to get '2 bob off the ragman' ffs.

Plus Rae and Farrell are Derried oot o' their nuts - Farrell will probably drop him off in his taxi for free.

Imagine, if you will, spending 5 or 6 seasons at Barcelona, being club captain at various points.

imagine then being released and signed by some no mark Spanish 2nd tier outfit.

That is how Gary Irvine feels. Can you blame him? Must be a huge shock leaving behind the cosmopolitan city of Dundee, along with top flight football in a proper ground for the horrors of Paisley and a soulless Lego ground.

Our stadium is not stopping Wee Stevie turning in good performances. Unfortunately I think we gave Irvine 18 months or I would punt him.

Kenny McLean had six months left on his contract; John McGinn was a free agent. Those who know think Mallan could be better than both of those, and he has two years to run. A ten-goal midfielder (albeit in a shit league) and free-kick specialist who has only just turned 20: I'd like to think he'd cost any buyer a bit more than we managed to sell those two future internationals for.

You're right, though: we do have a history of apparently bartering our players' values down somewhat.

McLean had 18 months left on his contract and you accepted less than you would've got at tribunal for John McGinn, both at a time when you were either a top flight club or benefiting from the parachute payment.

Fair play to your board if they turn down decent offers for your players. I think they'll accept very low 6 figure amounts and, tbh, that wont put off Dundee. It might not even put us off either, although you'd have to imagine he'll end up with the Dees if it comes down to a straight fight.

Mclean only had six months left on his contract. He had been a free agent that summer but no-one was willing to bid as he had recently been injured. He signed a one year deal with a clause that he would go for any offer over £300,000 which Aberdeen paid in the January. With McGinn we also get 30% of any transfer fee from Hibs and we had a wee problem there as he was taking the Club to Court over Spearsgate. Letting him go for a paltry £130,000 was to move things on. Also to help him as he was being frozen out of football as we were entitled to a large development fee as he had been with us since he was about 5 years old.

Edited by NorthBank

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/st-mirren-midfielder-kenny-mclean-3799901

He signed a 2 year deal in the summer of 2014 and was sold in the January 2015 window. He had 18 months left. The St Mirren fans collectively creamed their pants about it at the time.

I remember reading about the clause in his contract at the time the deal went through, but I'm sure the Aberdeen accounts reported the fee as being something like £175k.

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/st-mirren-midfielder-kenny-mclean-3799901

He signed a 2 year deal in the summer of 2014 and was sold in the January 2015 window. He had 18 months left. The St Mirren fans collectively creamed their pants about it at the time.

I remember reading about the clause in his contract at the time the deal went through, but I'm sure the Aberdeen accounts reported the fee as being something like £175k.

How did Ellis Plummer work out?

We've made absolutely no approach to St Mirren.

Yup. Its all come about because Hartley watched a St Mirren game and we've been linked with Mallan. 2+2 type behaviour from the press.

We got it last year when our manager went to watch QOS, where our keeper was on loan. Apparently that meant we were signing Carmichael and Reilly