All things Dundee FC

18 minutes ago, DeeTillEhDeh said:

It's his fourth assault charge - that's the real issue - he just can't seem to go out without getting into bother

If I did it in my job I'd be sacked/suspended and reported to the GTCS.

I'm not saying it's fair but Paul McGowan isn't employed to educate children in an academic environment. He's got economic worth as a footballer and will do until his ability drops or the club are otherwise impacted (such as when movements are often made against clubs that attempt to employ sex offenders who are generally associated with having particularly high levels of victim impact and also carries that additional emotive human instinct).

If you're working in a specialised area and your skills are in demand, you will always be given that bit more. I can think of in the financial sector in particular where it seems quite common for people to be jailed or convicted of serious crimes but keep their jobs. If they've got a contact book, that alone could be enough to keep them on board.

He's a thick wee p***k who maybe has an undiagnosed condition or two but there is a reason he's not went to jail (the victim impact has never been considered high beyond having to pay a few hundred pounds in compensation). Compared to the debate about the moral argument of the likes of Declan Gallagher to play football (who had a huge impact in inflicting life-altering injuries to his victim), it's a different universe entirely.

I personally do think there is a line where this sort of stuff is untenable to continue with but I think McGowan falls far short of this tbh. 

For ical (iphones) use https://t.co/yo4F5L30EH.
For Android go to Google Calendar, look for the Dundee FC calendar and add it to your own calendar. It's just league games. The URL is https://calendar.google.com/calendar/embed?src=p9h0uteab4u9p6s9vd6e68e9hg%40group.calendar.google.com&ctz=Europe%2FLondon
Edit: The link an-dee referred to is the one I provided for ical.

Thanks Rumps. Bloody handy!

1 hour ago, G_Man1985 said:

Last few seasons we have been in top league, last few seasons they have been in league below and still get more fans.
With all the shit going on across the road they still have more fans than us buying season tickets.

So if we do a Kilmarnock will we get more fans back? Is that what it takes? Is it the price that is to expensive ?

Going off on a slight tangent, but I'd rather take our chances with the way Neil McCann's got the team playing than try to emulate Kilmarnock. Steve Clark has done a very good job with them, but I'd hate to watch that style of football on a long term basis. They're very well organised, hard working and physical, but that's pretty much it. They booted us off the park in a way you rarely see nowadays in their win at Rugby Park in February. It's hardly worth it to try and gain a couple of places in the Premiership, but that's just a personal prejudice.

33 minutes ago, dd23 said:

Outrageous comment. I and all my golfing mates are working class skivers.

But the middle classes have built whole professions around skiving on the golf course.

Edited by rambling syd rumpo

1 minute ago, G_Man1985 said:
12 minutes ago, rambling syd rumpo said:
But the middle classes have built whole professions around skiving on the golf course.

Kilmarnock was more of an example of how high they became in the league and the surge of season tickets that have been bought.

Yes, that was why I said I was going off on a slight tangent.

17 minutes ago, rambling syd rumpo said:

They're very well organised, hard working and physical, but that's pretty much it. They booted us off the park in a way you rarely see nowadays in their win at Rugby Park in February.

hahahahahahaha, no bother.

2 hours ago, G_Man1985 said:

Is their an app that we have I can have for my calendar on my phone regarding the football fixtures ?

Google calendar has an option to search public calendars in the settings. All SPL fixtures are there.

I set mine up a good few years ago and can't remember exactly how I did it, but it's there

Just now, Garageflower said:

Google calendar has an option to search public calendars in the settings. All SPL fixtures are there.

I set mine up a good few years ago and can't remember exactly how I did it, but it's there

I don't know if it's still the case but one of the most obvious calendars on Google for the Premiership had the bonkers, infuriating American habit of putting the away team first, ie our first game at St Mirren would be listed as;

Dundee at St Mirren.

4 minutes ago, Squirrelhumper said:

hahahahahahaha, no bother.

In fairness it was a crowd pleasing act, though I have my doubts about its long term effectiveness and its attractions. Rugby Park has been a bit of morgue in recent seasons with the home support heard only when they start moaning (as they've had plenty of reason to do). Steve Clarke has got Killie playing in a way that has fired the Killie support with old style Ayshire bloodlust. It's like they're playing Ayr every week. Yes, ok, I'm a dilettante.

Do we believe the figures being released by Yenited? Personally I take anything they release through the press with a pinch of salt, in short they’re spoofing c***s. Anyone who saw them on Alba or pictures/videos on twitter etc can see they were quite clearly fabricating attendances. 

Edited by Yenitit

1 hour ago, DEEJANGO said:

Paul McGowan can spit on,punch, kick whoever the f**k he likes end of story.

Thank you

Only between the hours of 7am - 7pm tho. Cannae be gobbin in the hoose, no even oor wee glorty west coaster gets away with that!

Edited by Yenitit

6 minutes ago, rambling syd rumpo said:

In fairness it was a crowd pleasing act, though I have my doubts about its long term effectiveness and its attractions. Rugby Park has been a bit of morgue in recent seasons with the home support heard only when they start moaning (as they've had plenty of reason to do). Steve Clarke has got Killie playing in a way that has fired the Killie support with old style Ayshire bloodlust. It's like they're playing Ayr every week. Yes, ok, I'm a dilettante.

I was referring more to the style of the play- we played some great stuff under Clarke last season. Especially against the bigger sides.

Our equaliser against you at RP being a class example. You'd struggle to see a better team goal all season.

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/video/football/kilmarnock-3-dundee-2-caulkers-debut-goal-not-enough-as-10-man-killie-pull-off-stunning-comeback/

1 hour ago, G_Man1985 said:

Last few seasons we have been in top league, last few seasons they have been in league below and still get more fans.
With all the shit going on across the road they still have more fans than us buying season tickets.

So if we do a Kilmarnock will we get more fans back? Is that what it takes? Is it the price that is to expensive ?

For the best part of 30 years they have had a larger support. You can't expect that to change considerably over the course of a few seasons.

Where would all the extra fans come from? Arabs becoming Dees?

I think you are correct with the Killie effect though. If we start winning more games and get some good cup runs, then the dormant Dundee fans will start coming to games again.

17 minutes ago, DEEJANGO said:

Paul McGowan can spit on,punch, kick whoever the f**k he likes end of story.

Thank you

He has a pretty poor goalscoring record and we can do with some goals from midfield.

Therefore, we should write a bonus into his contract: For every goal he scores he gets a free punch/gob/kosh

12 minutes ago, G_Man1985 said:

I never said I expected it to change .
You think 3100 season tickets is a good number of season tickets or you think we should have more?
People have already said they havnt renewed season tickets. I know a few guys at work havnt and that's down to cost. I know a few others who have more family commitments.
I havnt looked but how have our season tickets been for say last 10 years.

I'm not overly bothered as i have a season ticket I just feel the number seems low.

I never said the amount sold was good or bad. It is of course poor. Performance and price (although comparible to most in the league) are a factor. 

But the reason UTD have sold more than us is because they still have a (slightly) larger support.

I'm confident that will change in time though :)

1 hour ago, Garageflower said:

I never said the amount sold was good or bad. It is of course poor. Performance and price (although comparible to most in the league) are a factor. 

But the reason UTD have sold more than us is because they still have a (slightly) larger support.

I'm confident that will change in time though :)

I have to agree with you there.  Our situation in the ‘70’s and 80’s, coupled with United’s success around that time, saw a lot of my school mates at the time  choose Tannadice as their Saturday afternoon destination.   Despite the fact their dads and granddads had supported Dundee.  

Better off without that sort of supporter in my opinion.  They’ll only turn on the club and chairman and as soon as things go a bit wrong.  

Dundee fans have repeatedly shown what’s required when the club needs them.

The supporters of a certain much larger club showed that the size of your support means little when times get tough.  It’s the quality that counts.

One club.  One Name.  125 years and counting!

10 minutes ago, rambling syd rumpo said:

Well, if the Arabs want to look on the bright side the chances of them getting pumped out of a cup by us this season are receding.

They're OOT, 7 points won’t be enough to get them through in a 2nd place spot. 

Another lost revenue stream, fuckin YAAASSSSSS. :thumsup2