The Arbroath Thread

1 minute ago, Lichtie78 said:

We don’t have some sort of god given right to have the best part time player in every position because we’ve had a good few seasons. Plenty reasons why part time players wouldn’t want to sign for us, whether it be financial or related to their personal circumstances.

Okay, fair enough.  

What about my first question?  Is there currently a part time player in the Scottish league who would get us more goals?

1 minute ago, ExiledLichtie said:

Okay, fair enough.  

What about my first question?  Is there currently a part time player in the Scottish league who would get us more goals?

Between the two of them I’d rather have Mitchell Megginson.

I agree that McAllister wouldn’t be a long-term solution but to suggest he’s too old and then compare him to Prunty and Doolan is daft imo. I reckon he’s probably got a decent season or two left in him.

We currently have a player playing out of his skin for us who is older than McAllister and who I guarantee, every single part-time team in Scotland, and some full-time ones, would give their left nut for.

Prunty and Doolan were both done by the time they came to us whereas McAllister has consistently banged them in at every team he’s played for, including Cove in League 1 last season.

The experience he could pass on to a young striker like Shanks would also be invaluable.

I think he would be well worth a punt for a season but, as I’ve said already, I don’t think he’ll be coming to us.

I also agree that Megginson would be a better option but he ain’t going anywhere and probably has aspirations of going full-time.

Edited by Tattie36

7 minutes ago, Tattie36 said:

I agree that McAllister wouldn’t be a long-term solution but to suggest he’s too old and then compare him to Prunty and Doolan is daft imo. I reckon he’s probably got a decent season or two left in him.

We currently have a player playing out of his skin for us who is older than McAllister and who I guarantee, every single part-time team in Scotland, and some full-time ones, would give their left nut for.

Prunty and Doolan were both done by the time they came to us whereas McAllister has consistently banged them in at every team he’s played for, including Cove in League 1 last season.

The experience he could pass on to a young striker like Shanks would also be invaluable.

I think he would be well worth a punt for a season but, as I’ve said already, I don’t think he’ll be coming to us.

I also agree that Megginson would be a better option but he ain’t going anywhere and probably has aspirations of going full-time.

I’m not overly sure. Megginson away to be 30 years old this week. Also guys at ourselves and Cove will be getting FT level wages anyway, he definitely will be. Why would he want to give up his other job to play football when he’s coming into his 30s. Same goes for some other Cove players. It’ll be interesting to see what happens with it and maybe next year we will be able to pick up one or two of them. 

Edited by 1320Lichtie

3 minutes ago, 1320Lichtie said:

I’m not overly sure. Megginson away to be 30 years old this week. Also guys at ourselves and Cove will be getting FT level wages anyway, he definitely will be. Why would he want to give up his other job to play football when he’s coming into his 30s. Same goes for some other Cove players. It’ll be interesting to see what happens with it and maybe next year we will be able to pick up one or two of them. 

Yeah, good point. For some reason I had it in my head that he was still mid 20s. I wonder if he’s totally happy as there seems to be a bit of unrest at Cove.

1 minute ago, Tattie36 said:

Yeah, good point. For some reason I had it in my head that he was still mid 20s. I wonder if he’s totally happy as there seems to be a bit of unrest at Cove.

I dunno what the plan is but they seem determined to move to FT, a lot of their current players seem to be Aberdeen based and are late 20s early 30s I dunno if they’re thinking that when these guys are gone their best option is to be FT to be able attract a different pool of players to replace them 

9 minutes ago, 1320Lichtie said:

I dunno what the plan is but they seem determined to move to FT, a lot of their current players seem to be Aberdeen based and are late 20s early 30s I dunno if they’re thinking that when these guys are gone their best option is to be FT to be able attract a different pool of players to replace them 

I think moving full-time is mental for them in the near future. I live in Aberdeen and the simple fact is that  it’s very much a one team city. The only folk I know that go to Cove games are Dons fans who go along for the novelty of seeing another Aberdeen based team in the league. I would be surprised if cove have more than 200-300 actual fans at the moment. Yes they will still get the interested Dons fans going but if push comes to shove, there’s only one team going to win peoples support.

Obviously if they build on their success in the next couple of decades then they can become a genuine attraction for fitba fans in the city but that’s long term and certainly not a given.

The other issue they have is the “Rangers”, blue kit, lion badge thing … it’s all a bit too “staunch” for a huge amount of Aberdonians.

When they got into the league they should have changed their name to simply “Cove” or something and their colours and branding to something less emotive. Too late now though.

25 minutes ago, Tattie36 said:

He would do a great job, for at least a season, with Arbroath alongside a player like Shanks; like he did with Mitch for the last 2 seasons. He can hold it up and give him supply and he'll bang them in but he isn't going to high press or have bursting runs clearly.

Can Arbroath get a loan that could do a similar role or get a similar amount of goals? I think you could and suspect that's the route you'll go down. 

I'd be shocked if Rory was willing to travel to Perth twice a week to train. Since going PT he's stayed close to home, Brechin (pre-kids), Peterhead twice and Cove.  I know everyone thinks he chases the money but I strongly think he wants guaranteed games and will forego a high offer for that and locality. Rumour is, and I don't know the truth in it, he's on £800 a week with us. Doubt he'll get that anywhere else, just wants to play and hence leaving us.

11 minutes ago, Tattie36 said:

I think moving full-time is mental for them in the near future. I live in Aberdeen and the simple fact is that  it’s very much a one team city. The only folk I know that go to Cove games are Dons fans who go along for the novelty of seeing another Aberdeen based team in the league. I would be surprised if cove have more than 200-300 actual fans at the moment. Yes they will still get the interested Dons fans going but if push comes to shove, there’s only one team going to win peoples support.

Obviously if they build on their success in the next couple of decades then they can become a genuine attraction for fitba fans in the city but that’s long term and certainly not a given.

The other issue they have is the “Rangers”, blue kit, lion badge thing … it’s all a bit too “staunch” for a huge amount of Aberdonians.

When they got into the league they should have changed their name to simply “Cove” or something and their colours and branding to something less emotive. Too late now though.

Don’t know enough about all of that but they’ve been extremely successful with the model they have had so far. Would like them to do well cause @CoveRangers1922is a good lad, as long as it is not at our expense

30 minutes ago, Tattie36 said:

The fan base is growing, albeit slowly, but April 2019 we were playing highland league against Forres and Clach. A shrewd managerial appointment like Barry Robson, ex-Don and interim manager, would have helped to draw in a few others especially if he took a few Dons in on loan.

No team in the HL have a big fan base. Takes time and success to build that. Saying that we had the highest average attendances in L2 and 3rd in L1 last season so hardly woeful. I think after rapid success we'll try to put more onus of growing the fan base. Improving the ground will help but clearly can't do everything on and off the park at the same time. It was always going to be a long term plan. 

Look at Caley, 28 years after joining the leagues and there average attendance is 1500? Guessing there. County don't get much more than 2,000 (again not entirely sure of that figure)  

I agree with the name change. 

Edit - Caley 28 years not 18!

Edited by CoveRangers1922

12 minutes ago, CoveRangers1922 said:

The fan base is growing, albeit slowly, but April 2019 we were playing highland league against Forres and Clach. A shrewd managerial appointment like Barry Robson, ex-Don and interim manager, would have helped to draw in a few others especially if he took a few Dons in on loan.

No team in the HL have a big fan base. Takes time and success to build that. Saying that we had the highest average attendances in L2 and 3rd in L1 last season so hardly woeful. I think after rapid success we'll try to put more onus of growing the fan base. Improving the ground will help but clearly can't do everything on and off the park at the same time. It was always going to be a long term plan. 

Look at Caley, 18 years after joining the leagues and there average attendance is 1500? Guessing there. County don't get much more than 2,000 (again not entirely sure of that figure)  

I agree with the name change. 

I just think the full-time thing is too soon.

Your crowds are pretty good and will keep growing if you keep up the success. The problem I see in the short term is converting many of these fans are interested Dons fans with a soft spot for Cove to actual Cove fans first and foremost.

The big test would be if you were to reach the Premiership in the next few years. Would many scunnered Dons fans jump ship? Personally I don’t think so, so it’s the long game you need to play - target young fans from the immediate vicinity - Cove, Torry, Kincorth, Garthdee, Portlethen etc and become THE team for the south of the city.

Maybe changing the name to something non-Cove related might be an even better idea. We know how tribal people are and you might get Kincorthers refusing to support Cove w@nkers… never mind the Rangers thing.

Maybe Something generically Aberdeen related would be better - Leopards FC, Doric United, Rowie FC.

Anyway enough of this Cove pish 😆😉

Edited by Tattie36

2 minutes ago, 1320Lichtie said:

Don’t know enough about all of that but they’ve been extremely successful with the model they have had so far. Would like them to do well cause @CoveRangers1922is a good lad, as long as it is not at our expense

Cheers, definitely won't be at your expense. You guys are building well, especially since coming up to the Championship. Solid foundations to build on and I expect another strong season for Arbroath after an impressive LC campaign.

Like has been said on here many of your starting XI are of the highest calibre PT players going. Good loans especially up top and you'll be more than safe

1 minute ago, CoveRangers1922 said:

Cheers, definitely won't be at your expense. You guys are building well, especially since coming up to the Championship. Solid foundations to build on and I expect another strong season for Arbroath after an impressive LC campaign.

Like has been said on here many of your starting XI are of the highest calibre PT players going. Good loans especially up top and you'll be more than safe

We will see.... I’m never confident, be a tough league this year as it always is. 

6 minutes ago, Tattie36 said:

I just think the full-time thing is too soon.

Your crowds are pretty good and will keep growing if you keep up the success. The problem I see in the short term is converting many of these fans are interested Dons fans with a soft spot for Cove to actual Cove fans first and foremost.

The big test would be if you were to reach the Premiership in the next few years. Would many scunnered Dons fans jump ship? Personally I don’t think so, so it’s the long game you need to play - target young fans from the immediate vicinity - Cove, Torry, Kincorth, Garthdee, Portlethen etc and become THE team for the south of the city.

Maybe changing the name to something non-Cove related might be an even better idea. We know how tribal people are and you might get Kincorthers refusing to support Cove w@nkers… never mind the Rangers thing.

Maybe Something generically Aberdeen related would be better - Leopards FC, Doric United, Rowie FC.

Anyway enough of this Cove pish 😆😉

Yip, more or on us when we meet later on in the year!

Just seen on twitter that Thistle supporters are being charged £24 (Adult) for the league game at Dens! I’d imagine it will be the same for us. £24 to watch a game in the 2nd tier is absolutely scandalous  

22 minutes ago, lichtie23 said:

Just seen on twitter that Thistle supporters are being charged £24 (Adult) for the league game at Dens! I’d imagine it will be the same for us. £24 to watch a game in the 2nd tier is absolutely scandalous  

Seems to be only Dundee charging that price so far.