The Arbroath Thread

57 minutes ago, Tattie36 said:

I know there are probably valid reasons for it but I for one am disappointed that it looks like home fans are being moved back to the harbour end. Much prefer the Pleasureland end and, as far as I’m concerned, it’s the traditional home end.

Also means we have the prevailing wind blowing in our faces and we’ll be squinting into the sun. Not a lot, if anything, the club has got wrong in the last few years but this is one imo.

Oh for the glorious days of switching ends at half time . I have seen a few painful defeats at Gayfield but will still travel in some optimism for hopefully a competitive match. Speaking of sun and wind will it be an Angus Riviera tomorrow? 

Edited by Chapelhall chap
Spelling

On 20/07/2022 at 21:33, Tattie36 said:

(as we all know) Hislon and Donnelly aren't the answer; their goals were far too easy - a free header and a simple passing move and cross.

Complain when they dont score, and when they do its because they were easy goals 🤣

Noones the answer up top, we dont play a game to suit most strikers, for a start there is zero support for any striker, and even if you do have someone like Nouble, he scores next to no goals as 1 striker against 4-5 bodies week in week out. 

But since you talk like your Lewandowski give DC a call and lets see your fat arse run about doing any better. Give ( us all ) a real laugh.

35 minutes ago, Chapelhall chap said:

Oh for the glorious days of switching ends at half time . I have seen a few painful defeats at Gayfield but will still travel in some optimism for hopefully a competitive match. Speaking of sun and wind will it be an Angus Riviera tomorrow? 

Forecast looks like rain second half but warm and no wind 

It will be a competitive match 100 percent but we are not used to losing at home. Twice in the last year so hopefully we can get a result. Crowds obviously lower for League Cup games but we weren’t far off 1000 for a Wednesday night home game to Cowdenbeath (who had about 4 fans) so hopefully over 1k and a half decent wee atmosphere seeing as there’s something riding on it 

Been 2 months since Inverness in the play offs and the feeling of a competitive meaningful game has been missed over the summer. Friendless and even the previous games just not been the same

2 minutes ago, Lichteeeeee said:

Complain when they dont score, and when they do its because they were easy goals 🤣

Noones the answer up top, we dont play a game to suit most strikers, for a start there is zero support for any striker, and even if you do have someone like Nouble, he scores next to no goals as 1 striker against 4-5 bodies week in week out. 

But since you talk like your Lewandowski give DC a call and lets see your fat arse run about doing any better. Give ( us all ) a real laugh.

What a lot of pish

9 minutes ago, Lichteeeeee said:

Whit? 

I think it’s pretty obvious that I was talking about Fylde’s goals - the first one was a free header, the second a simple passing move.

Edited by Tattie36

Pretty harsh. No league goals in the last 2 seasons for Donnelly. Saying he’s not the answer as a striker is hardly controversial.

2 minutes ago, stan3600 said:

Pretty harsh. No league goals in the last 2 seasons for Donnelly. Saying he’s not the answer as a striker is hardly controversial.

Not to mention the fact that I was talking about Fylde’s goals. 

McKenna finished top scorer in the league last season playing most of it as a second striker

McKenna / Nouble / Hamilton just last season

30 goals in 87 appearances

LD / Hilson 

19 goals in 170 appearances. LD goals exclusively against diddies in the League Cup near enough 

They both have their merits but to say the way we play doesn’t suit strikers is mental we were the top scorers in the league last year

Last year they had 6 goals between them in 65 games

ToB and Hammy got 9 between them 

23 minutes ago, 1320Lichtie said:

McKenna finished top scorer in the league last season playing most of it as a second striker

McKenna / Nouble / Hamilton just last season

30 goals in 87 appearances

LD / Hilson 

19 goals in 170 appearances. LD goals exclusively against diddies in the League Cup near enough 

They both have their merits but to say the way we play doesn’t suit strikers is mental we were the top scorers in the league last year

Last year they had 6 goals between them in 65 games

ToB and Hammy got 9 between them 

Shut it Lewandowski 😆

I agree, they have their strengths - but goal scoring definitely isn’t one. Nothing to do with how we play, they both constantly miss gilt edged chances or make the wrong decisions when in good positions. That simply isn’t going to change while they play at this level.

Still doesn’t alter the fact that I wasn’t even talking about their goals in my post 

Edited by Tattie36

2 hours ago, 1320Lichtie said:

Forecast looks like rain second half but warm and no wind 

It will be a competitive match 100 percent but we are not used to losing at home. Twice in the last year so hopefully we can get a result. Crowds obviously lower for League Cup games but we weren’t far off 1000 for a Wednesday night home game to Cowdenbeath (who had about 4 fans) so hopefully over 1k and a half decent wee atmosphere seeing as there’s something riding on it 

Been 2 months since Inverness in the play offs and the feeling of a competitive meaningful game has been missed over the summer. Friendless and even the previous games just not been the same

Thanks for weather update. Light rain jacket on my list now. I have felt this cup has been too early and being unable to use trialists has left us with a thin squad. Despite that we played well against St Mirren, but recently Arbroath at Gayfield has been a tough call. 

Edited by Chapelhall chap
Spelling

25 minutes ago, Chapelhall chap said:

Thanks for weather update. Light rain jacket on my list now. I have felt this cup has been too early and being unable to use trialists has left us with a thin squad. Despite that we played well against St Mirren, but recently Arbroath at Gayfield has been a tough call. 

In the League Cup, you haven't beaten us at Gayfield since 1988/89, I believe.

Of course, that was when you were nominally based in Clydebank

9 hours ago, Tattie36 said:

Shut it Lewandowski 😆

I agree, they have their strengths - but goal scoring definitely isn’t one. Nothing to do with how we play, they both constantly miss gilt edged chances or make the wrong decisions when in good positions. That simply isn’t going to change while they play at this level.

Still doesn’t alter the fact that I wasn’t even talking about their goals in my post 

Dowds even scored 5 goals in 18 appearances and I’m pretty sure he come on for literally a few minutes in a couple of they appearances. Wighton was a big let down, he just never got going. 

But McKenna / Nouble / Hamilton and Dowds all had good records playing as a striker for us last season

I would actually fancy Donnelly to score when he’s against a shite team. He looked like fkn Messi v Forfar but in the bigger games I wouldn’t 

I wouldn’t fancy Hilson to score against anyone no matter what the chance. Hilson is perfect for games like St Mirren away when he come on. He’s just a proper nuisance to defenders and had a few good games last season at just causing chaos playing off of Jack Hamilton. But you never know what you’re getting when the balls at his feet 

10 hours ago, lichtgilphead said:

In the League Cup, you haven't beaten us at Gayfield since 1988/89, I believe.

Of course, that was when you were nominally based in Clydebank

Fair enough information even if I have never  myself been based in Clydebank. Hope it's a good match.

15 hours ago, Tattie36 said:

I know there are probably valid reasons for it but I for one am disappointed that it looks like home fans are being moved back to the harbour end. Much prefer the Pleasureland end and, as far as I’m concerned, it’s the traditional home end.

Also means we have the prevailing wind blowing in our faces and we’ll be squinting into the sun. Not a lot, if anything, the club has got wrong in the last few years but this is one imo.

I agree, plesh end is the home end