Sportsound Watch

19 hours ago, kingjoey said:

Got back in the car at 5.05. From then until 5.28 they discussed the United game in Europe from Thursday and the Killie v Celtic match the following day. They then discussed the Rangers game with an interview from the Rangers manager, nothing from the St Johnstone perspective. Then a discussion on the Aberdeen v Motherwell match with an interview with the Motherwell manager. Nothing from the Aberdeen perspective. Then a short discussion on Livingston v Hibs and an interview with the Livi manager. Nothing from the Hibs perspective. Then 3 minutes on the St Mirren v Ross County match and a quick interview with the St Mirren manager. Nothing from the Ross County perspective. Show over. I had been listening for 5 minutes short of an hour and no scores from the Championship, League 1 or League 2. Utterly pathetic. 

As a fan of a diddy team who still remembers being in the Second & Third Division, Kenny McIntyre's total lack of interest of anything outside of the Old Firm is really making me appreciate Richard Gordon as a host

Not that I want to defend macintyre too much, but I’m guessing he doesn’t choose the topics of discussion. 

Surely there’s a production team that make these decisions prior to the show then macintyre is just there to keep it on track. 

19 hours ago, kingjoey said:

Got back in the car at 5.05. From then until 5.28 they discussed the United game in Europe from Thursday and the Killie v Celtic match the following day. They then discussed the Rangers game with an interview from the Rangers manager, nothing from the St Johnstone perspective. Then a discussion on the Aberdeen v Motherwell match with an interview with the Motherwell manager. Nothing from the Aberdeen perspective. Then a short discussion on Livingston v Hibs and an interview with the Livi manager. Nothing from the Hibs perspective. Then 3 minutes on the St Mirren v Ross County match and a quick interview with the St Mirren manager. Nothing from the Ross County perspective. Show over. I had been listening for 5 minutes short of an hour and no scores from the Championship, League 1 or League 2. Utterly pathetic. 

I dont listen much to the show these days - like you, sometimes on way home etc, and its been dreadful. Used to be I could get in the car, maybe having missed one set of interviews, but could hear all the other managers before I got home.

Its been noticeable that they have changed it to more of a "magazine" format now and the interviews seem really intermittent - which is a shame, we all like to hear our managers describe how it was the players fault that their tactics were shite..............

1 minute ago, Dons_1988 said:

Surely there’s a production team that make these decisions prior to the show then macintyre is just there to keep it on track. 

I think probably before the season unfolds, so we might be in for the long haul on this. Thing is, the new format seems such an unprofessional mess that you wonder if they were pissed when they did the production meeting.................you wonder if they canvas opinion from listeners tbqhwy.

5 minutes ago, Leith Green said:

I dont listen much to the show these days - like you, sometimes on way home etc, and its been dreadful. Used to be I could get in the car, maybe having missed one set of interviews, but could hear all the other managers before I got home.

Its been noticeable that they have changed it to more of a "magazine" format now and the interviews seem really intermittent - which is a shame, we all like to hear our managers describe how it was the players fault that their tactics were shite..............

I think probably before the season unfolds, so we might be in for the long haul on this. Thing is, the new format seems such an unprofessional mess that you wonder if they were pissed when they did the production meeting.................you wonder if they canvas opinion from listeners tbqhwy.

Yeah agreed. 

I often find myself wondering if it’s my ignorance, that there’s a load of data out there that shows this is what people want to listen to rather than talking about the games themselves. 

Obviously radio has leaned towards sound bites for social media and maybe that’s just the whole premise. Choose powder keg topics that generate a reaction online. The old firm are good for this as you just need to suggest their routine 4-0 win wasn’t wholly impressive and they sob uncontrollably. 

29 minutes ago, Dons_1988 said:

Not that I want to defend macintyre too much, but I’m guessing he doesn’t choose the topics of discussion. 

Mentioned before on here that I know someone who writes for the BBC.

His view, and he's only one guy, is that the whole problem with Sportsound is the producer.

Essentially clueless and sticks with the same favourites all the time. Said everyone had a chuckle at McIntyre's talk of being nervous about his 'interview' for the role, as there was zero possibility of him not getting it.

The producer sees absolutely no problems with the current show.

As I said, this is one guy. But one guy who works for the BBC in Scottish football and knows the people involved.

Edited by VincentGuerin

7 minutes ago, Dons_1988 said:

Obviously radio has leaned towards sound bites for social media and maybe that’s just the whole premise. Choose powder keg topics that generate a reaction online. The old firm are good for this as you just need to suggest their routine 4-0 win wasn’t wholly impressive and they sob uncontrollably. 

Aye, that makes a degree of sense for - maybe Clyde FM - but it seems bizarre that R Scotland would take this approach.

A non scientific poll of anyone I speak to in real life suggests that bemusement with their output isnt just a P&B trope and the general consensus is "its shite but no alternative".

And if fans of Hibs and Aberdeen think its not relevant to them, it must be absolutely awful for those supporting clubs in the Championship and below.

7 hours ago, Leith Green said:

..............you wonder if they canvas opinion from listeners tbqhwy.

If they don't that just adds to the incompetence behind the programme. (Or a total disregard for supporters views). I'd be very surprised if 'they' don't read through this thread - being on Scotland's premier all-club forum. (Or it's a total disregard for all clubs). Like @Leith Green I've long since abandoned this show. And as breadth of coverage contracts more of us will abandon ship, with a potential decline in interest in teams in the lower tiers and others outwith their favoured (2) clubs.

2 minutes ago, House Bartender said:

If they don't that just adds to the incompetence behind the programme. (Or a total disregard for supporters views). I'd be very surprised if 'they' don't read through this thread - being on Scotland's premier all-club forum. (Or it's a total disregard for all clubs). Like @Leith Green I've long since abandoned this show. And as breadth of coverage contracts more of us will abandon ship, with a potential decline in interest in teams in the lower tiers and others outwith their favoured (2) clubs.

I always listen after the matches in the car mainly to get all of the other Scottish results and to get an interview with our manager to get his take on what has happened at the match I've been at.

2 hours ago, kingjoey said:

What a boring b*****d Neil McCann is. You get the feeling that every time he's on the radio or TV, he thinks it's a job interview. 

Not everyone can be as Interesting as you are tbf.

On 15/08/2022 at 16:08, House Bartender said:

Ive always assumed, much like the OTB thread, that they'll not give a f**k what's written here. Football forums arent exactly viewed as the place for balance and reasoned opinions.

I'm guessing as long as the listening figures keep hitting the target they'll keep doing what they're doing. 

7 hours ago, CoF said:

Ive always assumed, much like the OTB thread, that they'll not give a f**k what's written here. Football forums arent exactly viewed as the place for balance and reasoned opinions.

I'm guessing as long as the listening figures keep hitting the target they'll keep doing what they're doing. 

It's the BBC, they're not even under real pressure to hit targets.

Is it just me or do they seem to be having technical issues more regularly this season? Barely five minutes seems to go by without Kenny Macintyre having to apologise for not being able to get someone on the line. You'd think after all these years they'd be able to get some reliable kit and/or people capable of using it.