Sportsound Watch

Happened to get into the motor which was already tuned to Radio Scotland.

It was a tedious chat about the Rangers penalty decision midweek.

Chic Young suggested that Rangers have had numerous penalties awarded in their favour over the years.

Obviously with the BBC recently re-issuing a grovelling apology to The Rangers, he was shut down immediately and the conversation swiftly moved on.

Immediately switched it to Radio Clyde.

It’s a bad day when Gordon Dalziel is the preferred option.

1 hour ago, Lofarl said:

Tom English asking a stupid question about Boyle.  Do you think that the 3 million they got for Boyle has bankrolled the current squad?

No Tom.  Because Hibs could refuse to sign him and then they still owe us money.  Also if we needed that cash we would’ve said so.

Hilarious that Alan Preston had to correct him and say it was a good deal for Hibs.

English is utterly shocking, no homework at all.

Perhaps the best signing outside of Rangers and Celtic this summer, and he continues his hatred of Hibs........fanny.

2 hours ago, Merkland Red said:

Tom English thinks club chairmen should 'get over' Malky McKay's backstory.

This is simply dumb as he should well know it isn’t really about the chairmens personal feelings towards him. 

Im sure many of them could ‘get over’ it in a personal capacity but employing a manager who is instantly toxic with the fan base is just a bad decision and ultimately destined to fail. 

2 hours ago, Merkland Red said:

Tom English thinks club chairmen should 'get over' Malky McKay's backstory.

He also thinks the Boyle deal is poor for us in case we spent the whole £3m on our squad instead of the £1.5m already gotten and any of the payments we have for selling Doig for £3m plus :lol:

We have effectively just loaned the player out for £1.5m plus, made him cash and got him back wages covered for the next 4 years using the money received already for him.  

5 minutes ago, DA Baracus said:

I suppose the club chairmen could 'get over' what Mackay did, but you'd hope that they'd then have the balls to tell any fan who isn't a straight, white male to f**k off.

Everyone deserves a second chance and forgiveness tbh.  Apart from ma ex. 

30 minutes ago, Hoose Rice said:

Everyone deserves a second chance and forgiveness tbh.  Apart from ma ex. 

Mackay should be allowed a second chance, if he ever genuinely apologised for it all and acknowledged he was wrong and why and showed genuine remorse. He never did.

Also aye, sounds like your ex can bolt too!

Edited by DA Baracus

33 minutes ago, Hoose Rice said:

He also thinks the Boyle deal is poor for us in case we spent the whole £3m on our squad instead of the £1.5m already gotten and any of the payments we have for selling Doig for £3m plus :lol:

We have effectively just loaned the player out for £1.5m plus, made him cash and got him back wages covered for the next 4 years using the money received already for him.  

It's probably not as simple as that but I fail to see any negatives in Martin Boyle wearing a Hibs strip.

Could genuinely put an extra 1k on the attendance.

13 minutes ago, DA Baracus said:

Mackay should be allowed a second chance, if he ever genuinely apologised for it all and acknowledged he was wrong and why and showed genuine remorse. He never did.

Also aye, sounds like your ex can bolt too!

4 minutes ago, Leith Green said:

English is a useless tit who doesnt do research before spouting his pish.

Its genuinely embarassing that this spangle is the head sports reporter or whatever, and a left breast like Alan Preston has to correct him and tell him that "eh, naw Tom actually its a brilliant deal for Hibs".

He should stick to Rugby or whatever else he is "expert" in as football (outside "the old firm") isnt it.

Aye - hopefully reporting from Ireland somewhere.  Boys no a clue. 

11 minutes ago, Merkland Red said:

It's probably not as simple as that but I fail to see any negatives in Martin Boyle wearing a Hibs strip.

Could genuinely put an extra 1k on the attendance.

When youre a bitter old Budge rimmer you try hard to find one even if its making up stories tbh. 

Been listening to Sportsound for more years than I care to remember but had to switch it off yesterday. Little information on what was happening in matches and too much discussion on the OF. McIntyre is ruining it along with the muppets they call pundits.

12 hours ago, Leith Green said:

English is a useless tit who doesnt do research before spouting his pish.

Its genuinely embarassing that this spangle is the head sports reporter or whatever, and a left breast like Alan Preston has to correct him and tell him that "eh, naw Tom actually its a brilliant deal for Hibs".

He should stick to Rugby or whatever else he is "expert" in as football (outside "the old firm") isnt it.

He's not an expert in rugby either.

He just loves writing and speaking negatively about the Scottish teams. It's tremendous reading and listening when Glasgow or Edinburgh beat one of his beloved Irish provinces.