Sportsound Watch

Sportsound and BBC Scotland in general trying their hardest to rewrite history by talking about Sevco's 'return' to the top flight and how they were previously 'demoted' and not unfairly admitted as a new club to the lower tier despite many more deserving clubs being in the queue before them.

Not sure who they think they're fooling.

The first half of your post, fair enough, but I don't understand why so many folk come up with the latter part.

The entry into the SFL wasn't based on a queueing system.  When Annan got admitted they didn't say "Sorry lads, you might have the better infrastructure, but Cove Rangers were founded first so you won't get in".

Rangers would have quite easily won an election for a vacant spot had one been held.  It wouldn't even have been close.  29 of the 30 SFL members voted them in as it was.

If there'd been an open application process Rangers would've clearly won comfortably... 2 dozen votes / more, to a handful / less.

Of course that doesn't make not having such a process the right thing to have done, tbf, but that's the reality.

However, the "demotion" thing is and will always remain incorrect.

They were not demoted.

Indeed, they are a new club with the deeds, titles, stadium, strips, some players, transferred over.  Rightly or wrongly. And they were voted into the league.

They've never been relegated and probably never will.

The first half of your post, fair enough, but I don't understand why so many folk come up with the latter part.

The entry into the SFL wasn't based on a queueing system.  When Annan got admitted they didn't say "Sorry lads, you might have the better infrastructure, but Cove Rangers were founded first so you won't get in".

Rangers would have quite easily won an election for a vacant spot had one been held.  It wouldn't even have been close.  29 of the 30 SFL members voted them in as it was.

Aye, just like Airdrieonians would have been after they got liquidated. Only they didn't have two years audited accounts, therefore were ineligible for application.

They wouldn't have been part of any election, so wouldn't have won it.

If there'd been an open application process Rangers would've clearly won comfortably... 2 dozen votes / more, to a handful / less.

Of course that doesn't make not having such a process the right thing to have done, tbf, but that's the reality.

However, the "demotion" thing is and will always remain incorrect.

They were not demoted.

I seem to remember a rather amusing quote from David Longmuir along the lines of "We believe their ground meets the criteria" when this matter was put to him.

Aye, just like Airdrieonians would have been after they got liquidated. Only they didn't have two years audited accounts, therefore were ineligible for application.

Airdrieonians were liquidated and therefore no longer existed.

Airdrie Utd lost out to Gretna to avoid "settling a precedent of clubs shedding their debt and coming back." said the SFL secretary.

Ye cannae beat double standards and still The Rangers claim 'everybody tried their hardest tae kill us'

Of course Airdrie Utd then bought Clydebank, renamed and relocated them... SFL used to diligently record them with Clydebank's foundation date and honours, etc., like Meadowbank/Livingston.

However - since the Rangers saga Airdrie Utd have laid claim and became Airdrieonians... Which presumably means they've got both set of honours? I'm lost on that one, tbh.

Airdrieonians were obviously ineligible for application - they were in the process of liquidation and basically didn't exist any more.  A bit like old Rangers.

Airdrie United were a new club formed from the ashes of Airdrieonians, much in the same way as new Rangers.   They were eligible for application to the SFL, but didn't get voted in because Gretna were preferred ahead of them.  The same thing would not have happened with Rangers; the SFL clubs were never going to refuse that financial boost.  That's why 29 of the 30 clubs voted as they did.