Sportsound Watch

27 minutes ago, craigkillie said:

Fair play if he was popular with the Hearts fans, I thought he was a bit of an oddball a bit like our current guy. I was at a game several years back where he announced with great gusto that some team you were battling for Europe/top six with had lost, and then followed that up with "and even better" when announcing a heavy St Mirren defeat. It was one of the first things that made me aware of who the guy was and I've taken a keen interest in his nonsense ever since.

Stadium announcer playing to his audience shocker.

It used to bug me when he would come out with edinburghs big team pish on derby days but you quickly learn it’s all scripted for effect. 

21 minutes ago, Frank Grimes said:

Jane “paragraphs” Lewis making the podcast unlistenable again last night 

She’s dreadful 

Turned off as soon as hearing her.  She really pushes my dislike buttons. 

I was struck on Wednesday night by just how dreadful Rob McLean's commentary is. Knowing that he started out as a presenter then also did TV commentary before just sort of getting shunted into radio commentary when he returned to the BBC after Setanta collapsed because there was no presenting job to give him with Richard Gordon about, surely he'd have been a better choice than McIntyre to be the host?

He actually does know how to present and control the flow of conversation the way McIntyre is completely incapable of, and he does raise some pertinent questions that could lead to interesting discussions, obviously heavily dependent on whoever he's on with. That would work as the host of Open All Mics to fill gaps where nothing is happening in any of the featured games, and for the midweek shows with no games on.

The problem is that he just does this when he's commentating anyway, and it's like he's just leading a studio discussion with the coverage of the game he's supposed to be commentating on being an afterthought. There were several times on Wednesday where he said eg corner to Hibs, freekick to Morton, then he'd make a point about tactics, a player's performance or a manager's position to Duffy and Easton as a cue for them to offer more analysis. You could then have a minute of discussion of that point, with some of this being genuinely worthwhile analysis, but in the time that was going on he'd just completely neglect to mention what was actually happening in the game with that corner, freekick or whatever, meaning the listener did not have a clue what was actually happening. He is incapable of providing passable radio commentary and they've got him doing commentary, while they've got a guy incapable of presenting competently as their presenter.

13 minutes ago, Dunning1874 said:

I was struck on Wednesday night by just how dreadful Rob McLean's commentary is. Knowing that he started out as a presenter then also did TV commentary before just sort of getting shunted into radio commentary when he returned to the BBC after Setanta collapsed because there was no presenting job to give him with Richard Gordon about, surely he'd have been a better choice than McIntyre to be the host?

He actually does know how to present and control the flow of conversation the way McIntyre is completely incapable of, and he does raise some pertinent questions that could lead to interesting discussions, obviously heavily dependent on whoever he's on with. That would work as the host of Open All Mics to fill gaps where nothing is happening in any of the featured games, and for the midweek shows with no games on.

The problem is that he just does this when he's commentating anyway, and it's like he's just leading a studio discussion with the coverage of the game he's supposed to be commentating on being an afterthought. There were several times on Wednesday where he said eg corner to Hibs, freekick to Morton, then he'd make a point about tactics, a player's performance or a manager's position to Duffy and Easton as a cue for them to offer more analysis. You could then have a minute of discussion of that point, with some of this being genuinely worthwhile analysis, but in the time that was going on he'd just completely neglect to mention what was actually happening in the game with that corner, freekick or whatever, meaning the listener did not have a clue what was actually happening. He is incapable of providing passable radio commentary and they've got him doing commentary, while they've got a guy incapable of presenting competently as their presenter.

He’s been doing that for red tv. 

Great presenter, not a commentator. 

13 minutes ago, Dunning1874 said:

I was struck on Wednesday night by just how dreadful Rob McLean's commentary is. 

McLean is the true keeper of the flame for the Archie McPherson "talk louder when something significant happens, without giving any information about what is happening" commentary method.

If only P&B had existed in 1986 then Hearts would easily have won that seasons Banter award. 

Hearts fans of that era will always blame St Mirren for them losing the league when the fault lay clearly at their own door with awful results against Clydebank, Dundee and of course a 6-2 pumping by St Mirren at the start of the season.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/1985–86_Heart_of_Midlothian_F.C._season

The only people to blame for losing the league on the last day are Hearts players as they should have won the league before then. 

They are KIDDing themselves on with any conspiracy theories. 

1 minute ago, SuperSaints1877 said:

If only P&B had existed in 1986 then Hearts would easily have won that seasons Banter award. 

Hearts fans of that era will always blame St Mirren for them losing the league when the fault lay clearly at their own door with awful results against Clydebank, Dundee and of course a 6-2 pumping by St Mirren at the start of the season.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/1985–86_Heart_of_Midlothian_F.C._season

The only people to blame for losing the league on the last day are Hearts players as they should have won the league before then. 

They are KIDDing themselves on with any conspiracy theories. 

As much as I love your post and agree with the sentiment it probably belongs on:

"Biggest bunch of greetin faced b*****ds, blame everyone and everything else, especially recent relegation Watch" 

Not Sportsound. 

Decent rant none the less completely out of nowhere :lol: 

12 minutes ago, Hoose Rice said:

As much as I love your post and agree with the sentiment it probably belongs on:

"Biggest bunch of greetin faced b*****ds, blame everyone and everything else, especially recent relegation Watch" 

Not Sportsound. 

Decent rant none the less completely out of nowhere :lol: 

Aye good point but there was a poster going on very recently in this thread about that Hearts announcer who still blames 1986 on St Mirren. 

Living rent free in his head forever. 

Probably one of the funniest things ever in Scottish fitba. P&B would have melted had we had access back then. 

Imagine blaming St Mirren when they lost and drew with relegated Clydebank? 

Second last game of the season they could only beat Clydebank 1-0 at Tynecastle.

Bottle totally crashed at Dens Park.

2 minutes ago, SuperSaints1877 said:

Aye good point but there was a poster going on very recently in this thread about that Hearts announcer who still blames 1986 on St Mirren. 

Probably one of the funniest things ever in Scottish fitba. P&B would have melted had we had access back then. 

Second last game of the season they could only beat Clydebank 1-0 at Tynecastle.

Mate, if you are ever in the market for a new best friend you know where I am :lol: 

BBC Commentary to make more on topic

53 minutes ago, SuperSaints1877 said:

Who the f**k's this? 😀

1 hour ago, resk said:

McLean is the true keeper of the flame for the Archie McPherson "talk louder when something significant happens, without giving any information about what is happening" commentary method.

McPherson is almost the byword for "good presenter, shite commentator"

Edited by kennie makevin
Typo

Just now, bennett said:

Sure that isn't Bobby Ball?

There is certainly a likeness but Albert Kidd’s antics that day was way funnier than anything that eejit did in his career. 

Who else could reduce grown men on all sides of that stadium crying?

Hearts fans greeting. Dundee fans crying with laughter.