Fauldhouse United - Premier Passion

Kinky Afro

With the Wiff of Something Summer in the air last Week it Was no Wonder as temperatures rose that spirits were also as high as a Buckie Boys kitchen on a Friday night. The Fawhoo Facebook Fans group (Hoose Hoose red and white army) was in melt down (Like a few other things!) and anticeptic anticipation calmed the open sores carried over from last Weeks Woeful Wounding at the Swan Munchers. Dirty Boness were coming to town and we were up for it, Sugar, Shite or just Aw right throw your dice, spin your wheel, pick a card The Hoose are a lottery and you pays yer money and you takes your chance. We as always, had everything on red. On grand national day, we wanted honest triers, do the right things and stay the course, let your ability be what it is and if luck shines and you hit the elbow in with a chance, then get yer heed doon and battle for the line. Your's will the prize at the end, whatever that is. You get out what you put in. We wanted lady luck and her pals the Buckie Boys know how to show you a good time girls..

Welcome back tae fauldhoose weather greeted us and coats were taken back out of the cupboards, gloves retrieved and we set off. Park View, Basking in glorious grey and battered by hailstones that smashed my face as I headed through a decent crowd to a well populated Coo Shed, Blue and white were no strangers. We pitched the flag and settled in. A new central midfield set up from Davie raised some eyes but by half time, a lacklustre Boness had done nothing to alarm us and indeed bar woeful finishing from Ross and Andy, we could have gone in ahead. A Half Time Raffle Fiver Found its way into the pockets of Buckie Scooter to rapturous and raucous applause. Despite it being a decent first 45, this was the biggest cheer so far. Boness, like the weather, huffed and puffed in the second half, but were like Kelty to my eyes, smoke and mirrors. Surely these sides must have been better somewhere along the line? At this level you will always have chances and both teams did, Andy Murphy showing the better form of the two keepers and a nil nil draw was about right. It has probably killed off the BUs chances of the title and quite rightly so. A decent side but nothing great. We also did ourselves proud and I think this game could be another milestone for us. Credit to the Boness fans who cheered their team and stood with the Coo Shed Faithful and who I hope left with good memories of us, the banter shared, if only one point. Indeed a chant of yer gonnae win Fk all with 2 minutes to go was quickly changed to Were gonnae wait 2 minutes, were gonna wait 2 minutes but as we sang We can see you sneaking out to head for the pensioners bus back to the land of the midnight furness, we exchanged a wave. Haste ye back, any decent fans are always welcome.

After getting Neutered by Nitten at home and chucking away a 2 goal lead at home to Bonnyrigg, things were not easy for the Hoose. Our attacking free roaming play of the previous few seasons was getting picked off and we didnt look like we could cope. We then played a high flying and free scoring Kelty at home and sat in, hardly attacked and were working hard, scrapping and got a hard earned Never oot oor ain half 0-0. If you understand the game and what is happening, you could see then that there was a sea change. We werent just slinging bets about on anything but were studying the form a little and placing a strategic bet to try to get a return. We did that yesterday and credit to DC who crowded the midfield and a lone striker in the hard working Andy McQ did his bit. We were better than we were against Kelty and I think the handicapper has raised our mark somewhat. We did have chances and played well at times and I love the effervescence of young Brian and the pace of young Jamie. Sammy, Gary f and Ross did well in the centre and the back four played well with Kevin Ross commanding and outstanding. Big Murph shut a few folk up too with an excellent and confident display. We seemed more assured and I think it is time to grow up now. Despite not being in this league for a year yet we ain't inexperienced 2 year old maidens. No more excuses, no more stupid bets.

Good to see the Lester Piggot of Fauldhoose celebrate in his Jaykit at the final whistle. He has been No too well big man recently but it is amazing what a wee 1 point lift fae the bookies does for spirits. Talking of spirits, and not Mr Empty who confounds all known physics by demonstrating the inverted rule that the more your drink, the emptier you become?? I mean in Lammies after the game, as the muse came upon me, my ears p***ked to the famous oft heard cry of the carried away Ahm diss aapoyntit thit we didnae git aww free. When you get a wee return fae the bookies, keep it. When you get a wee result at the casino, keep it. Be thankful because there are days when you will walk out of there with your troosers roon yer ankles and lucky still to have the shirt on your back. We have. Just hand them your slip, cash in your chips or eat yer fish supper cos theres yer dinner! Weighed in, weighed in. I think they can up our handicap mark just a little. Everything, all in, as always, on red.. that aint a silly bet. Not now we have come of age.

Mon the Hoose! [/quote

Kinky unbelievable. ...you have said all that and haven't mentioned the main event of the day! Yesterday the jaykit was 68 years on this planet! And I can assure you (I shared a taxi home with him) the boys made his day yesterday!

• Replies 1.1k

I did mention him and spoke to him and gave him a hug after the game. Although I doubt he will thank me for calling him Lester Piggot! You know I love to keep a theme going....

Quick trivia question:- who was the last man over 14 stone to ride a Derby winner?? Answer is Lester Piggot's cell mate!

I am expecting a whip off Frankie next week!

Mon the Jaykit!

Sent from my iPhone using Pie & Bovril

I did mention him and spoke to him and gave him a hug after the game. Although I doubt he will thank me for calling him Lester Piggot! You know I love to keep a theme going....

Quick trivia question:- who was the last man over 14 stone to ride a Derby winner?? Answer is Lester Piggot's cell mate!

I am expecting a whip off Frankie next week!

Mon the Jaykit!

Sent from my iPhone using Pie & Bovril

He won't mind that. ...gin and lemonade had taken over by then!

Guest brycey

stood nxt tae jaykit second hauf at nitten crackin banter exchanged handshakes oan seturday efter the game the auld yin is a gem o a guy diffrent class

Guest brycey

ad jist like tae say a massive weel dun tae jason deans 150 games for the hoose top drawer brither eer a credit tae the club m8 n awe the best the morn v the cookie at parkview anither important game fir the lads bekons grate tae c the match beein sponsired by the hendrys oan the day n yet again lets get rite ahent the lads fae the stert n get the coo shed rokin bring it oan n mon the hoose

When I come to write my memoires, (“The Secret Diary of Kinky Afro, aged 46 and ¾”, Buckie Books, £14.99 from all good bookshops, some bad ones and Amazon) these Sun kissed Superleague Salad days Shall be at the forefront as Smiles abound. I love my football and all it brings. Over the last few months I have revisited places in my mind and in person, football has always been a part, and it has laid out the richly woven and often turbulent tapestry of my life. Each milestone and singular event fresh in my mind, like the day it happened, the story there to re run and the feelings retuned to enjoy, smile at or review with sadness and sometimes regret. Football can make your life.

I enjoy watching people make the stories they will tell forever, about the day the Sun Shone at Park View and the Coo Shed Summer trip took us over to the Far Side…. about a day a young kid ran clean through and rounded a superleague keeper and tapped in, cool as you like……. about a day a young lad ran 60 yards from wide right, cut in and smashed one in the tap coarnir from 25 yards with his wrong foot……. about a sitter so bad that "Brian Van Vossen" could tell that story and still get a laugh 25 years from now.. Just like I do… often. What we do and what we see make us who we are and shape who we will become… these days are our memory days…I don't think it will just be match mascot Cameron Hendry and his family who will remember this game…… It was a great result but wasn’t a great game… it doesn’t need to be. Cos if things go anything like my life, the longer ago it was, the better it was. This story can only get better with age…… Baby D, Let Me Be Your Fantasy….. Just spread your wings, and fly away.

I saw some old pictures today and even though I looked young, in my head I wasn't. I could barely remember looking like that but I feel the same now as I did then. Alas, I am not. I am harder and harsher and weathered by life and my mind. A face like a well worn leather chair, the sun didn't help yesterday as I retreated and Saught Shaded Sanctuary under the trees....... I don't Sit back though.... my mind is still absorbant….

Summer Sunshine Sunchyme illuminated Spring in the Hoose and with a Spring in the Step, all roads lead to Park View, Pristinely Pitched in Picturesque environs… and so Spring becomes Summer…. Enjoy it while it lasts. Make hay whilst the Sun Shines and we set about business with another strong looking midfield partnership trio, who even to the most ardent Hoose fan, are not 3 of the most skilful or creative types, but they did well yesterday and played up to their ability and Shone. 3 hard working and strong players, who are at their best when doing simple things and getting in about it. They were and they did. Well played lads. The Indefatigable Industry of Brian Ross is what will carry him through his career as he buzzes about and adds that rarest of traits (Sadly) that a lot of good players don’t have, “Hard Work”, to his not insignificant skills. His goal was well taken and well deserved as he chased a pass back and after a Cookie slip, he ran 35 yards, rounded the keeper and tapped in a la James McFaddyen. The lad has only just came up to this level but has shown he can do it. I hope he keeps on listening to the management and working hard. It really was a Stroll in the Sun as the Cookie flattered to deceive. How the Hell are this shower 4th in the league? The Hoose took points from Kelty, Nitten, Bo’ness and now Cookie… and have lost to Carnoustie….. go figure? We are not though, the team of early season, and as I said last week, I think we are growing up.

The Second half proved easier than the first as Cookie reverted back to their long ball hoof up the park and strong arm tactics…The “Team in the Park”, the Cookie Monsters, Your fans.. where were you yesterday? A Rag Tag Shower of Sun Shine Shite….. a red card somewhere was inevitable and so it came to pass. Off he went and 2 up we went when the hard working Ross Donnelly took a ball from our right back and ran and ran and ran and ran… 50 yards… then hit one from 25 yards with his wrong foot into the top corner…. Goal of the season, game over. All that was left was the passing into folk-lore of the afore mentioned Brian Ross, who not only missed the open goal tap in from 6 yards but almost missed the 30 foot net behind the goal… it would have been a good souvenir for the mascot son of Buckie Boy stalwart Mr Empty, as it was heading for Cameron’s garden on the other side of Fauldhouse. Tell that story with pride wee man….. Not many people can do what you do. I did it once….against Enschede in Holland, when I played up front.. let me tell you about it… at length ……

The fans player of the year slips were distributed and one Seldom Sober Buckie Boy almost voted for Bairdy who left 2 seasons ago!!! Another diminutive Blue Nose with a Buckie Red Nose was informed on leaving the Howff after half time that “McCoist has left Rangers”… he seemed shocked…..Class. The banter was great and these are the days you remember….the bald linesman, wilting and with scalp glowing like a red nose got it….”Hoi sunstroke”, the wee skinny midfielder and Bradford magician got it..”Hoi Dynamo”, the big hammer throwing clogger of a centre half got it…”Hoi Shuggy Stomper Studs.... Shuggy Shins….. Shitty Shuggy Slasher”….

ADVERT: “Buckie Lawyers 4U.. Have you ever fell over a leaf walking home from Park View steaming drunk on the Buckie? Have you been clogged by some Neanderthal centre half who has a touch like an elephant with a sore toe and then wipes you out like Sillit bang?? Then call Buckie Lawyers 4U .... don’t go home with a bad taste in your mouth…we know it wasn't your fault.. nae win nae fee”

So we won it easily, but it's only easy if you win the right to boss a game and we did that, not a great game, but the stories are what you make them and I had a ball. ..... so like Icarus, the Cocky Cookie came to us and too close to the Sun and these pretentious highfliers had their wings melted in Spectacular Park View Sunshine. Although under a shady tree, I basked in it…. and will remember… because at the end of it all, when you look back, what was it all about? I'll tell you....To Share good times and Stories and add a memory to the back catalogue of nonsense and life of a fan gives you the Tales of Tomorrow… we all have them..... they mean Something.. to me anyway…. and to do it in the Sun is Something Special.

Mon the Memories!

Superb post Kinky yet again!

Ross's goal yesterday was as good as any I've seen at Park View over too many a year now.

Great result yesterday against an average looking Penicuik BUT we both needed & deserved it.

Bring on the cup finalists next Sat...Go the Hoose!!

Guest brycey

aye yet anither crackin poast fae the big man guys even tho hee baskt in the shade yesterday lol reely njoyed the game yesterday n a crackin result fir the hoose wee brians cool feenish put us yin up n rosses goal wis oot the top drawer but overall a great team effort oan the day secured us the win we deserved the backin fae the bucky lads again yesterday wis quality as it aways is a hunner per scent ahent the teem great tae b part o it al tell ee so its the burra nxt seturday n a big weel dun oan them doin the lithgae n reechin the junior cup final al b takin in there eos cup tie ut nitten wed nite jist fir a shuftie afore ther visit tae the view oan seturday mon the hoose

That was a massive 3 points for the Hoose on Saturday , you have been a good addition to the Superleague this season .

It looks like the Hoose have achieved the first goal in making sure that they stay in the league after just being promoted .

Good luck for the rest of the season and i will look forward to my visit to Park View naxt season .

Enjoyed my afternoon with the lads in The Cowshed. Superb backing for the team & no shortage of good natured humour dished out to the opposition, which the all took in very good spirit.

1st 40 mins the visitors looked the business, took the lead & pretty much had a firm grip on the game.

They were undone 5mns before half time when a good bit of skill by the home side, saw a inviting cross fly over the visitors defence & was very coolly slid into the net by The Hoose no11.

He only went & put his side in front with an even cooler finish not long after half time.

The Hoose no 6 blasted home a well deserved 3rd goal for he shot home from 18yds.

Mussy went close on a couple of occasions in the 2nd half, but they were well beaten on the day.