Popular things you generally have no time for

• Replies 959

Celebrity culture. An easy buck for news outlets to make by spouting the most vacuous pish possible about people I couldn't care any less about and selling it to dull, stupid people whose lives must be so dreary that they need to imagine how these other 'famous' people live. This also includes the royal family - I for one do not give two shites about where any of these bampots visited and had people falling over themselves to fawn at them.

I have no time for a lot of stuff, but I'd be here all day listing them if I started.

Soap operas.

Any music since about 1993.

ITV.

Dogs.

Facebook.

Obviously, ludicrously popular and horrible football teams like Man U, Chavski, Real Madrid.

UKIP.

Top Gear.

Anyone on Top Gear.

Deal or Sodding No Deal.

Any Reality TV.

I raise you remakes of old films which were originally in English made because writers can't come up with a new idea for a new film and think that some tacky special effects will improve it. There have been tonnes of them over the past few years.

I'm waiting for another Jurassic Park.

Your wish is granted...

I love the build up to Christmas.

The nights out, the lack of productivity at work, people in good moods, early payday, the relentless boozing that goes on, lots of fitba.

The actual day itself has been so so the last few years for me but I imagine I'll enjoy it more the older my wee one gets.

Camping at music festivals. Don't see why you'd rather not sleep in an actual bed, have a warm shower, and shit in a flushing toilet.

That's why festivals are full of people who still live with their parents.

This may not make much sense to those of you not from Birmingham but... the German Christmas Market.

It's exactly the same as drinking in a pub except... you can't get a seat, the beer's double the price, there's no toilet anywhere near and the temperature is minus ten. I have no idea why the f**k people I know always want to go there every year. Oh and even trying to walk past the place is a pain in the arse due to the gawpers stopping every five seconds.

This may not make much sense to those of you not from Birmingham but... the German Christmas Market.

It's exactly the same as drinking in a pub except... you can't get a seat, the beer's double the price, there's no toilet anywhere near and the temperature is minus ten. I have no idea why the f**k people I know always want to go there every year. Oh and even trying to walk past the place is a pain in the arse due to the gawpers stopping every five seconds.

They have one in Glasgow in St Enoch Square.

The one that makes me laugh is folk paying £4.50 for 3/4 of a pint of White Lightning with a bit of cinnamon in it.

The hot dogs are fucking tremondous though.

I raise you remakes of old films which were originally in English made because writers can't come up with a new idea for a new film and think that some tacky special effects will improve it. There have been tonnes of them over the past few years.

I'm waiting for another Jurassic Park. Probably a prequel version (Triassic Park?)

Awwww FFS!!! I rest my case. :(

I genuinely never knew that was in the pipeline when I posted that though. Original eh?! :lol:

It is huge, though!

I don't get the hate for nightclubs. Yes they are shit and filled with idiots but they do the job of giving you somewhere to go when the pubs shut. I like pubs better than clubs but clubs definitely have a place.

It would be better for pubs just to open later or for there to be clubs with quiet rooms. I don't really gamble on anything except football, but I love casinos for the late shutting time, particularly ones with relatively nice bars. Found a casino in London, last time I was there, which not only showed the Aberdeen game, it also showed the Man United vs Hull City game (despite the fact it wasn't actually on UK tv, think they had an Italian sports channel), stayed open really late and had tvs in the tables and women walking around asking if you wanted a massage. If only the beer was cheaper (£4.90 a pint), I would have genuinely considered staying there after the game had finished.

One of the good things about Edinburgh is the late shutting of pubs, think it would be better if pubs could have club shutting times.