Heart of Midlothian 2014-

33 minutes ago, tamthebam said:

No. Broadwood- Cumbernauld Colts and Clyde is just one example of this.

Is that not a ground share though?  What st Mirren done was a world first in letting Celtic put their badge above the club shop.  Don't spoil this...

2 hours ago, RandomGuy. said:

Yes, but they cant hand out more until they decide how to end the season and what position teams are in. 

2 hours ago, Pet Jeden said:

Why?

Why is a good question.

Is it necessary to pay clubs prize money now? 

Yes the money must be paid out ASAP to save clubs from folding. It's for the sustainability of the game as a whole. 

Is there a fair way of distributing the cash? 

No, however sporting integrity aside awarding clubs prize money based on current league position or average points total are the fairest means. 

On that basis, do league standings need to be called now? 

Under normal circumstances prize money and final standings are inextricably linked. Current circumstances are not normal. If you accept the need to potentially deviate from one rule at the expense of member clubs then why not another in order to mitigate the unfairness of the first decision?  

Should league positions be called now anyway? 

Not while there is the slim possibility of ending the season behind closed doors as UEFA have advised.  German clubs are back partially training, albeit the situation in Germany is markedly different to that in Scotland just now. If it is the case that postponing the end of the season would take it beyond August and jeopardise the Sky Sports deal then there should be transparency about the discussions between the league and Sky. It is possible that another pragmatic decision may have to be made at the expense of sporting integrity but those facts should be clear before making the decision. If UEFA can see that the tail is forcing the dog to wag then that would assist in defending any decision and possible penalties regarding disqualification from European competition. It can be argued that sides may lose players out of contract in June which would affect their ability to compete in rearranged fixtures after that date. This is a good point worth taking into account however the financial uncertainties within the game may just as likely influence a players decision to renew for a few months. 

Should Stranraer, Partick Thistle and Hearts be relegated? 

Not unless other member clubs are prepared to justify why this is necessary. A decision upon league expansion should be made in tandem with any proposals to call final standings early. Should clubs feel that expansion is not warranted for a season under these exceptional circumstances then their reasons for not agreeing should be outlined. Presumably Sky Sports would not object provided they still get 4 OF games a season. Teams who generally finish in the lower half and who depend more on home OF ticket revenue may be unlikely to support but its worth waiting for them to state this plainly as a decision in their interest at the expense sporting integrity. Teams in the playoffs will lose out and this is unavoidable unfortunately.  Options for compensating these teams should be explored for the following season to partially mitigate these sides missing out. 

Should Celtic be confirmed champions? 

While no real football fan cares, their current lead is double figures so it would be a fairer proposal to declare them champions if the league cannot be finished. Worth waiting to see how other leagues deal with this issue before making a decision. 

21 minutes ago, Falcor Roar said:

Why is a good question.

Is it necessary to pay clubs prize money now? 

Yes the money must be paid out ASAP to save clubs from folding. It's for the sustainability of the game as a whole. 

Is there a fair way of distributing the cash? 

No, however sporting integrity aside awarding clubs prize money based on current league position or average points total are the fairest means. 

On that basis, do league standings need to be called now? 

Under normal circumstances prize money and final standings are inextricably linked. Current circumstances are not normal. If you accept the need to potentially deviate from one rule at the expense of member clubs then why not another in order to mitigate the unfairness of the first decision?  

Should league positions be called now anyway? 

Not while there is the slim possibility of ending the season behind closed doors as UEFA have advised.  German clubs are back partially training, albeit the situation in Germany is markedly different to that in Scotland just now. If it is the case that postponing the end of the season would take it beyond August and jeopardise the Sky Sports deal then there should be transparency about the discussions between the league and Sky. It is possible that another pragmatic decision may have to be made at the expense of sporting integrity but those facts should be clear before making the decision. If UEFA can see that the tail is forcing the dog to wag then that would assist in defending any decision and possible penalties regarding disqualification from European competition. It can be argued that sides may lose players out of contract in June which would affect their ability to compete in rearranged fixtures after that date. This is a good point worth taking into account however the financial uncertainties within the game may just as likely influence a players decision to renew for a few months. 

Should Stranraer, Partick Thistle and Hearts be relegated? 

Not unless other member clubs are prepared to justify why this is necessary. A decision upon league expansion should be made in tandem with any proposals to call final standings early. Should clubs feel that expansion is not warranted for a season under these exceptional circumstances then their reasons for not agreeing should be outlined. Presumably Sky Sports would not object provided they still get 4 OF games a season. Teams who generally finish in the lower half and who depend more on home OF ticket revenue may be unlikely to support but its worth waiting for them to state this plainly as a decision in their interest at the expense sporting integrity. Teams in the playoffs will lose out and this is unavoidable unfortunately.  Options for compensating these teams should be explored for the following season to partially mitigate these sides missing out. 

Should Celtic be confirmed champions? 

While no real football fan cares, their current lead is double figures so it would be a fairer proposal to declare them champions if the league cannot be finished. Worth waiting to see how other leagues deal with this issue before making a decision. 

No way should decisions be based on the "Sky deal". Unless everybody is back training in 8 weeks (and restrictions on crowds lifted a couple of weeks after that) then next season is going to be interfered with anyway. Sky could then very well look to renegotiate the deal. They will be bleeding customers right now by the tens of thousands. People are skint. Their whole business model was based on football and there is no football to show for the foreseeable. They have Netflix and NowTV grabbing their customers. Do folks actually have confidence in their ability to pay up? Or are they just a bigger version of Setanta? Based on past performance, Doncaster will have negotiated  a crappy payments schedule that leaves the SPFL well and truly exposed.

2 hours ago, Billy Jean King said:

Saints statement out I will paraphrase "we will continue to f**k over and own the Jambos like we have for the last 35 years...get doon"

Lying down down to help Celtic win the league is owning us?  You have to including that as one semi final and one final defeat isn't exactly owning us.  Is it?  

All about Celtic for you eh?

I cannot wait til we are crowned champions.

Wait til you see the heads gone from the big **** and the wee ****.

That's what it's all about for your mob even if you won it on the last day by a stoppage time goal tbf. All about what the other cheek thinks.

Guess that's why the Subway Loyal has been a laughing stock for years and why your top tier was nothing but flegs while the **** were shambling about the seaside.

That's what it's all about for your mob even if you won it on the last day by a stoppage time goal tbf. All about what the other cheek thinks.

Guess that's why the Subway Loyal has been a laughing stock for years and why your top tier was nothing but flegs while the **** were shambling about the seaside.
Heads gone already.

Lovely.

7 minutes ago, Romeo said:

Heads gone already.

Lovely.

Lol. I used to get a good laugh out of how similar to Bennett you are. 

Bennett has laid off the brutal "fishing" patter and became normal since the football shut down.

You are now worse than bennett. 

5 hours ago, RandomGuy. said:

You cant say it's unfair to relegate Hearts after 30 games because they can still finish 8th, and not say it's unfair to give Hearts 12th placed prize money when they can still finish 8th.

Unless, of course, you dont actually care about what's "fair" and are just desperately working out a system that sees your club saved and would get the backing of cash starved clubs at the bottom of the pile (for example: Rangers "dont give Celtic the title and get your money now" sales pitch)

It wouldn't be a relegation. It would be an expulsion. 

17 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

Lol. I used to get a good laugh out of how similar to Bennett you are. 

Bennett has laid off the brutal "fishing" patter and became normal since the football shut down.

You are now worse than bennett. 

Me and Bairnardo,  forum buds - who'd have thought that ....

twins.jpg

33 minutes ago, Romeo said:

It seems it's all about you for you.  That post was about st Mirren for me.  I thought he must've been referring to 86 to lay any claim to owning us.  Unless you also think a semi and a final constitutes owning us?   I suppose today's vote does show that it is all about... 

34 minutes ago, sergie's no1 fan said:
39 minutes ago, HooseLee said:

Lying down to Dundee didn't help either to be fair.

We lost fair and square in that game.  Did you lose fairly lose at home to Celtic that day?  That's the bit that that many feel why you are justifiably known as st liedown.  I thought that's what was he was referring to.  Unless you honestly think a semi and a final win in  35 years is owning us?  You went straight to the dens result rather than say anything about that game.  Two games in 35 years and you own us?  

45 minutes ago, Romeo said:

Mini rangers, aye?  It's you who are the b*****d offspring of the cute wee cult team from leith.  Where did you get half if the players fir your first team?  And name another two clubs were losn players have gone in one direction or the other.  Name two other clubs who have been involved in loan deals than you two?