The Famous Aberdeen - Season 2022/23

Looking at the starting eleven today, McCrorie is the only Scot (I know Kennedy was born here but his footballing nationality is Northern Irish and that's what counts).  

I'm not making any huge point with this observation - just thought it was interesting.  

I was also impressed with Ryan Duncan.

I only watched the last 30 minutes but I would say there's still question marks over the central defence.

Early days, and they still need to build a partnership, but Liam Scales didn't look particularly comfortable and Anthony Stewart looked slightly cumbersome and his distribution into midfield was slack at times and would've been punished at Celtic Park on the first day of the league season.

Which is another point, that he'll need to play Bates with Stewart in preparation for that match.

Jury still out on Polvara for me too.

Edited by Bogbrush1903

2 minutes ago, Bogbrush1903 said:

I only watched the last 30 minutes but I would say there's still question marks over the central defence.

Early days, and they still need to build a partnership, but Liam Scales didn't look particularly comfortable and Anthony Stewart looked slightly cumbersome and his distribution into midfield was slack at times and would've been punished at Celtic Park on the first day of the league season.

Which is another point, that he'll need to play Bates with Stewart in preparation for that match.

Bates at Parkhead…. shivers.

I’m sure Bates will get 90 minutes in the Raith game the week before.

I think we should look to get a left back based on what I saw today. 

It should’ve been more comfortable but for a good goalie & some inept refereeing (surely not again this season?!) 

3 minutes ago, Bogbrush1903 said:

Mmm, apart fae a wee bit slackness in first 10 mins or so fae Stewart, I thought baith centre backs were solid and distribution was varied and mair than decent. I’ll name colours noo, Stewart is gan tae be a colossus for us and Scales will show up tae be a classy centre back.

Bates at Parkhead…. shivers.
I’m sure Bates will get 90 minutes in the Raith game the week before.
I think we should look to get a left back based on what I saw today. 
It should’ve been more comfortable but for a good goalie & some inept refereeing (surely not again this season?!) 

I don’t think we have a stand out candidate for left back but we do have a good few players who are capable of playing there (Mackenzie, Hayes, Ngwenya, Scales, Hancock). I wonder if that means we’ll prioritise other positions.

Based on today, I’m not entirely convinced on Richardson at right back. Strong and fast as f*ck but he appears to have some glaring weaknesses which make me a bit concerned if he’s going to be a starter every week. Probably a bit harsh to make any big conclusions this early on mind.

1 hour ago, 72redz said:

Mmm, apart fae a wee bit slackness in first 10 mins or so fae Stewart, I thought baith centre backs were solid and distribution was varied and mair than decent. I’ll name colours noo, Stewart is gan tae be a colossus for us and Scales will show up tae be a classy centre back.

Bearing in mind that I've only watched 30 minutes of Anthony Stewart so this opinion is worthless but my early impressions were that we won't get bossed about from the big physical strikers that some of the smaller clubs in our league play like Van Veen or whatever he's called at Motherwell.

However, against the gruesome twosome in Glasgow with trickier players then he might have his work cut out.

He or Scales wasn't tested too much today but we'll get a better idea what we've got when we see him at Celtic Park.

I just get flashbacks of the colossus Jerel Ifil playing in the Dean Windass testimonial.

I'm not saying Stewart will be anything like Ifil but I'm slightly apprehensive about signing a centre-half that has spent most of his career in the English lower leagues where the expectations can be quite two-dimensional as in head it and lump it. These orders can become quite confused when you've got nippy and skilled strikers buzzing about you putting pressure on especially if you need a bit of time to complete the lumping part.

Jerel Ifil was, in my opinion, the worst footballer I can recall playing for Aberdeen over an extended period of time.

Ash Taylor wasn't too bad I suppose.

Edited by Bogbrush1903

57 minutes ago, lubo_blaha said:

I don’t think we have a stand out candidate for left back but we do have a good few players who are capable of playing there (Mackenzie, Hayes, Ngwenya, Scales, Hancock). I wonder if that means we’ll prioritise other positions.

Based on today, I’m not entirely convinced on Richardson at right back. Strong and fast as f*ck but he appears to have some glaring weaknesses which make me a bit concerned if he’s going to be a starter every week. Probably a bit harsh to make any big conclusions this early on mind.

I think MacKenzie could be great to balance Richardson on the other wing tbh. Tuck in to make it a three when he's pushing on. Don't think Jonny has that side to him.

Bearing in mind that I've only watched 30 minutes of Anthony Stewart so this opinion is worthless but my early impressions were that we won't get bossed about from the big physical strikers that some of the smaller clubs in our league play like Van Veen or whatever he's called at Motherwell.
However, against the gruesome twosome in Glasgow with trickier players then he might have his work cut out.
He or Scales wasn't tested too much today but we'll get a better idea what we've got when we see him at Celtic Park.
I just get flashbacks of the colossus Jerel Ifil playing in the Dean Windass testimonial.
I'm not saying Stewart will be anything like Ifil but I'm slightly apprehensive about signing a centre-half that has spent most of his career in the English lower leagues where the expectations can be quite two-dimensional as in head it and lump it. These orders can become quite confused when you've got nippy and skilled strikers buzzing about you putting pressure on especially if you need a bit of time to complete the lumping part.
Jerel Ifil was, in my opinion, the worst footballer I can recall playing for Aberdeen over an extended period of time.
Ash Taylor wasn't too bad I suppose.

Too young to have seen Garry Hackett?

8 hours ago, lubo_blaha said:

Goodwin had the opportunity yesterday to put Bates on and move Scales to LB when Hancock got injured but he chose to move Hayes back and put Watkins on. That says a lot for me. With MacKenzie and Hancock now injured i wouldn't be surprised to see us loan a LB until Jan. Suspect Ngwenya will get loaned out again. Needs to be playing regularly so a move to a championship team could be lined up for him.